We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and dusty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
GreenLeadersBronze level
D
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty and dusty”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had ist one night in there on our way to crystal river. I knew from Tripadvisor that it should be renovated. Our room on the ground level was distgusting. You couldn´t walk on the carpet because it was so dusty and sticky. It was like no one had cleaned the room forever except in changing the linens. Breakfast was another mad point because the whole food came out of plastic bags and tasted all the same. By the way it is a hotel why do they always use plastic dishes and everything. Such a lot of garbage.
I would never return there.

Room Tip: Just don´t stop here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moritz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to critique our hotel and we value your opinion as a guest. It seems some of the comments you have made in regards to the cleanliness of our property are inaccurate and I believe you may be confused with another property as I noticed you wrote 5 other reviews for 5 different hotels all on the same day as ours. As noted from previous guests you are correct we are newly renovated which included a complete bathroom renovation update, shampooing of guest room/hallway carpet, new paint, landscaping, lighting, and updated fixtures throughout the property. The room you occupied during your stay with us was just completed only 3 weeks before your stay and carpet is in “Like New” condition. Our management team has a detailed preventive maintenance plan in place that includes a full deep cleaning of every guest room each month including removing furniture and shampooing carpet, touching up paint, servicing HVAC system, and full inspection of each guest room to assure that every guest room is in immaculate condition.
In regards to your comments about the complimentary hot breakfast buffet it seems you may have been mistaken. We offer a full hot breakfast cooked fresh daily which includes Eggs, Sausage, Biscuits, Gravy, Potatoes, Grits, Fresh Fruit, Waffles, Bagels, Toast, English Muffins, and Yogurt none of which come out of plastic bags. It would be my privilege to discuss further with you directly and if ever returning to the Tallahassee area I would love to personally show you around our facility and give you a complete tour of our breakfast area including detailed insight on how all items are packaged and prepared. From what I can see in previous history, you are used to ultra luxury hotels as you have written reviews at such hotels as Hyatt, Marriott Beach Resorts etc. We are a select service hotel and do not have full service restaurant, therefore disposal dishes and utensils are normal for our hotel type across the nation and around the world. If there is ever anything me or my staff can assist you with please do not hesitate to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    86
    55
    16
    17
See reviews for
82
75
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here on a recent buisness trip in Tallahassee staff and management were great and very assertive to my needs. The fill hot breakfast in the morning is exaxtly what I needed to start my day off. Will definitely stay again when I return in January. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hancockh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As a scheduling secretary it is challenging to find a hotel suitable to all employees. There are always discerning comments regarding their stay, except when they stay at Quality Inn & Suites on Apalachee Pkwy in Tallahassee. Scheduling at this hotel has always been a pleasure, no kinks, and the hotel has everything needed for a business trip. This last booking has been the best. The staff, particularly, Mr. Bhula, the Director of Operations, went above and beyond to assist us with all aspects of the reservation. Needless to say our CEO has named them our hotel of choice in Tallahassee.

Room Tip: Staff is friendly, professional and highly proficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Clean, economical, great location, outstanding free breakfast, friendly orgnanized and cooperative staff, I was the lead of a small group reserving 8 rooms, long story short we had to change the days of stay and number of rooms in our group multiple times which usually results in some sort of mixup, also required late check out, they were the picture of patience and courtesy and pulled it of without a hitch, next time in tallahassee will definitely stay ther again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your group and I am pleased to know we have met your expectations. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority here at Quality Inn & Suites and we strive to make sure each guest/group has an enjoyable stay. If ever returning to Tallahassee it would be my pleasure to accommodate you again and I will personally make reservations for your or your group. Thank you for choosing Quality Inn & Suites Capital District Hotel we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George Island, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a very interesting experience, but nice enough that we just stayed there again! Super clean rooms with all the expected amenities and a very good breakfast buffet included in the price. My husband gets to have his decadent sausage, eggs, biscuits, potatoes, gravy and I get my yogurt, fruit, and cereal...all with an eager to please attendant constantly cleaning and restocking! Yes, also available are waffles, muffins, juices, coffees, bagels, etc. The decorating is a little quirky with unusual color schemes, but fun and CLEAN! We live 2 hrs. away and often need a place to stay before/after flights, shopping, etc. and will definitely be back! It is quite obvious that these people take pride in their establishment and work hard for your business!

Room Tip: Ask for king room, non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceciliaharris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

By chance I chose this hotel for our first time stay in Tallahassee. We wanted to see the State Capitol and a bit of the city, on our way to the panhandle. Location was perfect for our needs. Several restaurants were within walking distance and we appreciated that after 6 hours in the car. Room was very comfortable;breakfast was generous for this price range. When we left in am we were 2 miles from downtown, easy to reach Capitol, Florida Museum, and several other attractions. Great location. Warm welcome from staff. Would stay again when we return to the area.

Room Tip: Third floor was very quiet, even facing road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

1st time staying here on an overnight trip and found the place to be very good. The beds were firm but comfortable. Slept like a baby. Stayed in Room 110 and found it to be excellent. Slept so good that we slept through the breakfast buffet. Will definitely stay again on my trip to Tallahassee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#24 of 58 in Tallahassee
185 reviews
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#19 of 58 in Tallahassee
660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tallahassee Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District

Property: Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
Address: 2020 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-4818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Tallahassee
#6 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Capital District hotel is conveniently located close to downtown and the state capital. This Tallahassee hotel is near attractions like Florida State University, Florida A & M University, Tallahassee Community College, Governor's Square Mall, Leon County Civic Center and the Koger Center. Guests of this Tallahassee hotel are invited to enjoy many amenities, including free full hot American breakfast buffet, free local calls, free weekday newspaper, free in-room coffee and free safe deposit boxes.The hotel also has an outdoor pool and access to the YMCA activities center across the street. Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, full-service business center with copy and fax services and meeting rooms. The Gallery meeting room accommodates up to 50 people and the Solarium accommodates up to 25 people. Audio/visual equipment and refreshments are available through the sales office.All spacious guest rooms include refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, Serta™ mattresses, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. Be sure to ask about the Spa Suites and Family Suites. Handicap accessible rooms can be requested and all guest rooms at this Tallahassee hotel are non-smoking.Whether traveling to Tallahassee for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Capital District hotel is the perfect place for any guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Tallahassee
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Tallahassee
Tallahassee Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing