We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An urban escape in a quaint town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“An urban escape in a quaint town”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Although Tallahassee is more known for the brick buildings and FSU than it is for the city life or fashion, The Hotel Duval offers a nice urban escape while still providing a comfortable atmosphere. Offering a nice change from the consistent brick you see around town, the valet area is decorated with a sleek modern stone look; and from that moment on, it is obvious that the designers of this hotel thought out every little detail. The doors that lead into the lobby from the valet area are not even your typical automatic doors.

Staying true to the property's uniqueness, the staff was amazingly professional while being exceptionally friendly at the same time (too many times in an upscale property, you find the staff to be "stuffy"). This wonderful service was portrayed in all levels of staff from the room service staff all the way up to the General Manager and his Director of Sales.

A couple of my favorites about the property:
- After checking in, I was offered a complimentary bottle of water
- Each floor of the hotel is a different theme and different "scent"
- The room service uniforms are adorable black dresses (for the females of course) from French Connection (adorable yet professional and trendy!)
- The staff!!!

There are so many wonderful and unique things about this property that this review could go on and on, so instead of just reading about it, I suggest you go experience it :)

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl32828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    155
    87
    51
    32
See reviews for
147
144
40
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were a bit unfortunate to be at the Duval at the same as as a group of shrieking females who ruined one of our nights running up and done the corridor outside our door making a dreadful noise, despite being told it was 2.00am and to keep the noise down.

Otherwise, not a bad experience, Shula's restaurant is very good and the staff in general were very pleasant and helpful. Did not quite get the hang og the basin in the bedroom, no plug , you see, still I,m sure there is a knack to keeping the water level up, other than stuffing a facecloth down the plug hole!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My wife and I drove up to Tallahassee for a weekend to visit friends. They suggested a new downtown hotel that had recently opened; they did not know anyone who had stayed there but they heard about through the local 'buzz'. We checked it out (on TripAdvisor, of course), liked what we saw, got a good price, so we went for it.
We loved it. The hotel is classy, well-run, with a throroughly helpful staff Tastefully modern without being splashy, nice little touches all around. The bed was great, the room was perfect. All in all, recommended without hesitation. The open air 8th floor bar and lounge was a great treat. And kudos to the Architect & Designer. A touch of class in Tallahassee.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I have been meaning to post this review. I stayed at Hotel Duval for the first time with a business colleague in May and I have to say from their front desk to housekeeping the attention and sevice we received was exceptional. We were so impressed by the friendliness we felt like royalty!! Hotel Duval is elegant and beautiful indeed, however "the wonderful people and friendly faces we met" is the true enhancement travelers look for and appreciate during their time away from home. Must stay if you are visiting Tallahasse!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pellitero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed at this hotel overnight. Friendly and professional front desk staff. Room and bathroom were average size, but adequate. Beds were very comfortable, pillows too firm for my taste. Room and hotel in general were extremely clean and nicely decorated. Bathroom has an opaque glass enclosure that has become fashionable in some hotels today. It looks trendy, but it doesn't provide much privacy. The property has a bar and terrace on the top floor that overlooks downtown Tallahassee and the hotel is centrally located. Nice breakfast served at the Starbucks in the hotel (not included in the hotel rate)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jad648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed at the hotel Duval not long after it reopened. The lobby and rooms are lovely. They did a very nice job with the decor. However, it is missing some of the basics. The rooms are very small and there is no room for luggage. It's very noisy. The beds are hard. There is no place to put your toiletries. It’s ok if you are a guy and your traveling alone, but if you have more than a toothbrush and a razor there is no room for it near the sink. Also the shower has a natural stone floor which is lovely to look at but is not so great to stand on. I actually cut my toe in the shower. It’s a look, but don’t touch and enjoy kind of place. Maybe it’s ok for the very young, but it was no place for me. I want luxury when I travel and the Hotel Duval is not even filling some of the basic needs of its travelers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themisskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I made reservations at this hotel a month ago and at that time I asked for 2 double beds. Last week I called back and asked to change to a King bed and advised it was our anniversary. Not only did the young lady say no problem but said she would put us on the 6th floor. I called back today to advise I was canceling one night and was told I did not have a King but 2 doubles. A male stating he was a manager said he could not explain it but he could not do anything. This hotels customer service is horrible and I canceled my reservation and made one at the Hotel Aloft which by the way looks much nicer and it is new and the rates are cheaper. They also received 4 stars out of 5 on their reviews.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audraspratley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noleone, General Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback both via telephone and on Trip Advisor. Comments such as yours go a long way towards refining our service levels.

As stated, Hotel Duval underwent a conversion to Marriott's exclusive Autograph Collection yesterday. We are extremely proud of our new affiliation. However, in the process of migrating reservations there were some small complications that have since been rectified.

I am sorry that this was cause for inconvenience and I am delighted that you have decided to stay with us for this very special occassion. Thank you for patience and understanding during this process. We look forward to welcoming you.

Regards,

Marc B. Bauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 58 in Tallahassee
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#29 of 58 in Tallahassee
172 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Address: 415 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duval, Tallahassee's first boutique hotel experience, is a diamond tucked into the charming heart of North Florida. We offer everything you need for a perfect stay: sensational accommodations, exquisite food and drinks, thrilling entertainment and gorgeous event spaces. Hotel Duval is a contemporary reminder of Tallahassee's rich history. Once the prominent place to meet and shape Florida's future, this renovated boutique hotel boasts upscale accommodations, a rooftop bar, and a Shula's 347 Grill. Hotel Duval is proud to be a member of the Marriott Autograph Collection, an exclusive portfolio of innovative and stylish boutique hotels. Marriott Rewards members can earn and redeem benefits at Hotel Duval. Come to the Hotel Duval for business or pleasure. Dine here. Drink here. Host a wedding or meeting. It's the hotel for all seasons, all guests, and all moods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing