We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“good time”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The beds were amazing probally best sleep I had in weeks. Room was very nice and unique. Also service couldn't of been any better from the bell boy and valet parking to the front desk and maids. Also the Roc was great breakfast spot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surf9012002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    155
    87
    49
    32
See reviews for
145
143
40
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

A great way to kickoff a FSU graduation weekend!!! On arrival we were greeted graciously by the car attendents and bellhops. The front desk allowed us to check in early, we called earlier to see if they could accomadate ua after a 6 hour ride to tallahasse. The Hotel Duval is a plesant surprise in the hotel industry, not to mention the best hotel in tallahasse. It is on the cutting edge of style and maintaining a class edge over the rest of the field. The entire satff was courteous, knowledgable and extremely helpful with all facets of the hotel industry. The rooms in the hotel are of a european style, sleek, efficient,clean, and with large flat screen tv's. The bathrooms are small with overhead showers, but very natilly attired.. With a roof top lounge overlooking tallahasse and a Shula's steakhouse, you will enjoy an upbeat but relaxing visit to Hotel Duval. At the end of the night you turn in to a pillow top mattress for a wonderful nights rest.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My gosh, by the sounds of some of the reviews, you would think this place is a dump. Quite the contrary. The location is excellent. Right downtown. The valet was nice and not overly expensive. The front desk was AMAZINGLY NICE. I experienced 4 different people from the front desk while I was there, and they were all super nice and helpful. The rooms were on the smaller side but not "NY small". Plus, I got one of their cheaper rooms. I thought the amenities were really nice: Nice tv, nice computer on the desk, very nice bathroom, robe. The bed was very very comfortable.
Dining: They have Shula's downstairs which is a reliable steakhouse. I always seem to have a good meal when eating at various Shula's. For breakfast, I had milk, eggs and ham and it came to $7.00. Usually, coffee and juice is $7.00 at most places. This was a BARGAIN.
Complaints: I only have two and one is very personal so generally speaking, one complaint. My personal complaint is the floor of the shower. I think it is a cool idea and certainly very attractive. I have a nerve issue on one of my feet and litterally could not stand on it. It was torture. The second complaint might resonate with more people. The intense aroma on each of the floors is too much. I would highly recommend taking down a notch.
All in all, this hotel is much better than some of the reviews would lead you to believe.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sea cliff, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Another possible title for this article would be "The Emperor's New Hotel".

I was traveling with my sister to Tallahassee to see her son graduate from FSU. I thought it would be nice to stay in really nice hotel for this trip, so I read many glowing reviews of Hotel Duval and it seemed like it would be the place. It was located near the campus and her son's apartment. It seemed like just the ticket to help with the festive occasion.

I should have paid closer attention to the video of the Grand Opening of the Hotel posted on the website however. The video is strange. Bikini clad dancers, musicians hanging from the ceiling - just strange. I just laughed it off, but it was an important clue to what was to come.

This is a really really strange place. If Universal Studios or Disney wanted to create a way to experience a David Lynch movie from the inside, Hotel Duval would be that ride. Imagine yourself in the Eraserhead Hotel and you would be in Hotel Duval. The decorations were an odd collection of stuff (from fake zebra skins on the floor to peculiar lighting fixtures, to plastic ceiling tiles made to look like wood) that was designed I guess to dare you to say you don't like it because if you do you won't be cool or in the know.

From the moment of our arrival our experience here was less than ideal, some of which I suppose had to do with things beyond Duval's control and some a direct result of the weirdness of the place.

My sister and I were going to share a room, so when I booked it through Expedia, I booked a single room with two double beds. When we arrived, however, we were given a room with a single queen sized bed. I returned immediately to the front desk to request a room consistent with what I had reserved through expedia. I learned, however, that you should never book a room through Expedia (at least as far as Hotel Duval is concerned) because the reservation of a room with double beds is considered a request that may or may not be granted at the time of check-in. In my case they claimed to have no more rooms with double beds. A review of the expedia reservation indeed revealed that the reservation of double beds was in fact simply a request that may or not may not be granted by the Hotel. Live and learn. Just another reason never to use Expedia.

But it did represent a test of how the hotel would respond. It seemed that the Hotel and Expedia do not get along. I overheard the conversation of the manager of the Hotel with the representative from Expedia. The manager asked Expedia to cover the cost of another single room at a two night premium rate even though the first night was not sold at that rate. The manager also offered Expedia the option of paying a $15 fee for a rollaway bed. I ultimately gave up waiting for Expedia to decide whether or not to pay for a separate room and finally agreed to have a rollaway bed sent to our room.

When we then went up to the room to have a closer look (we saw the single bed and turned right around) we then got the most amazing surprise. The hotel rooms in Hotel Duval do not have doors. Rooms in the Hotel Duval are essentially on an "open plan" in which the bathroom area opens into the room separated by a translucent (not opaque) glass screen that can be made to slide over the entrance (like a glass curtain). This isn't just the sink area with the toilet and shower off to the side. The toilet faces the bed directly.

Here is the Emperor's New Hotel Room in full force. You mean you have a problem using the bathroom separated only by what amounts to a translucent glass curtain? You are so old school. You are not trendy. What's wrong with you? The Emperor's New Clothes are spectacular. I wonder whether you can pay extra to have the translucent glass curtain removed altogether. Who needs privacy in the bathroom after all but people who aren't as fashionable and trendy as people who go to Hotel Duval? Given the configuration of the bathroom without a door, imagine a hotel room in which the toilet is simply a fixture in the room, like a writing desk.

We we returned to the Hotel that evening, there was no rollaway bed set up as promised. I called the front desk only to be told that the truck was delayed in delivering it. By about 10:30 PM or so, however, I got a call saying that it wasn't ever delivered for some reason. I suspect the reason is that it was never actually ordered. As a result, the Hotel offered me a free room across the hall for the night. This was excellent and something for which I was greatly appreciative, although I suspect that they had determined at that late hour, that the room was going to be unsold anyway. But still, I appreciated it and bravo to the staff for making the gesture.

The following night I was promised the rollaway bed. On arriving back to the hotel after graduation ceremonies, the rollaway bed was indeed there, but there were no sheets blankets or pillows. It had been promised to me that it would be fully set up and made upon my return. A quick call to the front desk for bed clothes resulted in someone appearing at the door relatively soon with the bedclothes. He handed them to me for me to make and set up the bed. How nice. The rollaway bed was wonderfully uncomfortable, but that isn't Hotel Duval's fault. Rollaway beds are not known for their comfort. A $150 Aero bed would have been more comfortable. Maybe Hotel Duval could invest in a couple as an alternative to fake Zebra skins on the floor of the lobby.

I gave the Hotel Duval good marks for cleanliness. It was clean. It is located nice and close to FSU, and the room is as good as any tobe asleep in (sleep quality).

I gave the room a one star rating because the bathroom situation is simply absurd. Similarly, the value is a one star rating because the hotel is very expensive for the location, and instead of getting some sort of luxury cool hotel you get a distorted shadow of what someone's idea of a trendy hotel should be. I have experience staying in hotels of nearly every variety, from the most modest to trendy big city hotels to luxury resort hotels.

Take a modest, clean inexpensive hotel, throw a couple of zebra skins on the floor and some peculiar "modern" artworks on the wall, and raise the prices to $299 a night and you have the Hotel Duval.

Hotel Duval also sports a popular trendy bar on the 8th Floor which, while we were there, put a bit of a strain on the two small elevators during the evening. A couple of drunken bar goers joined us in the elevator when we returned from graduation.

Hotel Duval is just very strange. It is clean. But for a lot less money you could get that same level of cleanliness AND a door on your bathroom. But if you like the idea of having the bathroom and your bedroom be one in the same, and don't mind paying for that privilege, then Hotel Duval might be just what you are looking for.

Good luck.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nykoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Beautifully decorated eclectic hotel in the heart of Tallahasee. One of the most fun hotels I have stayed in. Rooftop bar, wonderful steaks at Shula's Grill, cozy bistro with Starbucks, a great wine bar within walking distance. The hotel had a great clientele and friendly staff. Every request we had was handled immediately. I was very impressed with the in-room touch screen computer with access to all hotel information, as well as free internet. I had a really great time and look forward to staying there again next month!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euromommy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDuval, General Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to share your feedback regarding your experience! The associates of Hotel Duval take great pride in offering the most gracious, anticipatory and genuine service possible. Whether for business or pleasure, our goal is to make every visit the experience that all others are measured against. We genuinely look forward to your return.

Regards,

Marc B. Bauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This is where Florida State sends their football recruits to stay, so you know it's nice! We stayed here during the FSU Spring Game weekend. Peter Warrick, EG Green and many other past Florida State greats were staying there as well.

The rooms are amazing. The beds and pillows were so comfortable! Plasma television... Over the head shower with smooth stone floor. The only complaint I have is the lack of parking. There are only about 10 parking spots on the side of the downtown street so you pretty much are required to pay the $12 valet parking fee. The good news is you can come and go all day at the $12 rate.

I highly recommend this hotel and will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSUFanChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2010

From the moment we checked in, we encountered a very attentive staff. I've never had the General Manager greet me at the front desk and assure me that our stay would be more than we expected. What a treat! We can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirbybauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#14 of 58 in Tallahassee
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#29 of 58 in Tallahassee
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Address: 415 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duval, Tallahassee's first boutique hotel experience, is a diamond tucked into the charming heart of North Florida. We offer everything you need for a perfect stay: sensational accommodations, exquisite food and drinks, thrilling entertainment and gorgeous event spaces. Hotel Duval is a contemporary reminder of Tallahassee's rich history. Once the prominent place to meet and shape Florida's future, this renovated boutique hotel boasts upscale accommodations, a rooftop bar, and a Shula's 347 Grill. Hotel Duval is proud to be a member of the Marriott Autograph Collection, an exclusive portfolio of innovative and stylish boutique hotels. Marriott Rewards members can earn and redeem benefits at Hotel Duval. Come to the Hotel Duval for business or pleasure. Dine here. Drink here. Host a wedding or meeting. It's the hotel for all seasons, all guests, and all moods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing