We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! It is time for an upscale hotel in North Florida.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! It is time for an upscale hotel in North Florida.”
Reviewed April 10, 2010

From the moment we checked in, we encountered a very attentive staff. I've never had the General Manager greet me at the front desk and assure me that our stay would be more than we expected. What a treat! We can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirbybauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    152
    86
    47
    31
See reviews for
140
143
38
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I was excited to arrive after browsing their website. However, things went wrong from the beginning.

The room felt cheap and small/poorly laid out. The website shows pictures of chic, high quality rooms. The truth was a low quality room made to look chic on the surface. The bathroom was also very, very small. It had no counter space or shelves whatsoever. It was just the sink, the toilet, and the shower closely packed together.

When we were gathering our things to leave, we discovered a pair of mens boxer shorts and a sock under the bed that did not belong to us! I immediately called the front desk and the girl offered a short, half-hearted apology. A week later, I wrote to thte mananger about this and he never responded. Most of the employees acted snobbish in general.

In general, you don't get what you pay for and they try to nickel and dime you for anything and everything (ie overnight parking). And forget what they advertise; they have NO sense of customer service!

Save your money for a place that worth it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I didn't have high expectations considering the city, but the hotel and staff met and exceeded my expectations.
First, I was most impressed by the service. The staff is professional and ready to help with anything. We were running late, and would be arriving after room service closed (and good luck finding a good late night meal in town). We called ahead, they read us the menu over the phone, arranged for dinner to be waiting in our room, and were very nice in making the arrangements. I expected to just find a tray in the room. Instead, dinner was laid out, the ice bucket was filled with ice and tongs provided, the water was in the fridge, the bed turned down, etc. Very impressive. The food was also really good. I would return to the restaurant even if here on a day trip.
The room was also great. High quality fixtures and carpet. I saw the other review about the sink not having space, but I didn't have a problem at all. There was room around the sink and a shelf below, as well. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the chaise lounge in the room was great. The fridge was actually empty for use, instead of filled with minibar junk. The rooms were not bright, but that wasn't a problem as there were plenty of lamps and lights. The decor was much nicer in person than in photographs. I don't like red at all, and our red decor room was beautiful and relaxing.
The location was also very convenient to everything in Tallahassee. Yes, it's difficult to turn off Monroe into the hotel, but traffic here is a pain generally.
I was very impressed with the service and quality of the hotel. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I really enjoyed staying at Hotel Duval. My wife and I loved the room and its view of the city. The location is a little tough to get into, but it's so beautiful inside. The food was pretty good as well. We first had breakfast at LeRoc Cafe in the little lobby area, and then we had lunch their too. The Pressed Tuscan was really good, and I would highly recommend that to first timers. We didn't eat dinner in Shula's, but we did walk inside, and we were impressed how amazing it looked. The guest service was amazing. They made sure we were taken care of and that all our needs were met. All-in-all, we enjoyed ourselves and we would recommend Hotel Duval to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Dark lighting, loud ambient music, and a touchscreen computer for room service and maintenance are all very well, but when housekeeping is bad, the river rock shower floor doesn't count for much. The second day I was there, housekeeping didn't take away a room service glass; the third day they left a dirty rag in the sink, and I discovered, when opening the fridge to put some leftovers away, that the leftovers from a previous guest were still in the fridge; the fourth day, they didn't clean my room at all. My first night there, I had to call maintenance to replace a burned out bulb in the bedside lamp and had to send back my room service order of "Wild Mushroom Ravioli" because the dish was 4 pieces of ravioli atop a mound of shredded beef (not in the menu description). Any one of these things would have been no big deal, but all together they made for a less than welcoming experience at this self-styled boutique hotel.
A couple of other downsides were a river rock shower floor that really felt like river rocks-- painful. And the shower, though stylish, was leaky enough to totally soak the bath mat with each use. Add loud disco music in the elevator, and two copies of a nude woman bathed in red and wearing nothing but a garter belt in the shuttle area and one had to wonder about the hotel's stylist and priorities. The rooms, if mine is any indication, do not have bath tubs. The sink is the size of a large mixing bowl, and there is minimal counter space. In the evening it was difficult to call down to the front desk, and when one called the suggested extensions, one got re-routed to the recording with the suggested extensions. Though there is a spa advertised on the ICE menu, at the time I was there there was no spa.
The good things: VERY comfortable bed and a wonderful, friendly, young and helpful if not always professionally trained staff (except for housekeeping). Room service food, with the exception of the "Wild Mushroom Ravioli" dish, was quite good for my three dinners and one breakfast. The hotel is about a $5 cab ride to the center of Florida State University. Business center is open 24 hours and has a super fast printer.
This apparently is a new hotel that extensively renovated an older, shabbier hotel. My advice: less attention to trying to promote an air of a stylish boutique hotel and pay more attention to training housekeeping staff and ensuring your guests' comfort in their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealLilyBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Duval for one night in Feb 2010 while in Tallahassee on business. What an interesting place. I would describe the interior as art deco. Very unique. The front staff was very friendly and offered me a complimentary bottle of cold water while I was checking in. Most other places you'd have to pay $4 or $5. The room itself was very nice and clean. There was a 46" flat panel television on one wall, and a touchscreen computer on the desk to utilize the hotel services or surf the internet. All the accouterments of a typical business hotel were available in the room - hair dryer, ironing board, coffee maker (though I don't drink coffee), even a luxurious robe (which I didn't use but it looked nice). The bed was comfortable and I especially like the fact that the window shades were very dark and the room was quiet. The location is convenient to the downtown area - it's just a half mile or so north of the Capitol Building. All in all, this is a great hotel and the room rate was only $129. Very good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourneyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Recent business trip took me to Tallahassee and I really knew nothing about this city. It's really not hard to get in and out of airport and around town, and I found this hotel downtown pretty central to all my business appointments for the week. I travel frequently and I know when a hotel is not my style, but this one is roomy, internet, desk, etc. so it was great for me. Found out after checking in that they are brand new so it is very clean and all the staff tries really hard to go out their way to make you welcome. I liked the lobby cafe, great spot to catch up on email, drink coffee, etc. I didn't know until afterwards that they have a shuttle or I would not have rented a car. Would definitely recommend, especially if doing business in or around downtown Capitol.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TavelinBulldogMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.1 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 58 in Tallahassee
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#29 of 58 in Tallahassee
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Address: 415 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duval, Tallahassee's first boutique hotel experience, is a diamond tucked into the charming heart of North Florida. We offer everything you need for a perfect stay: sensational accommodations, exquisite food and drinks, thrilling entertainment and gorgeous event spaces. Hotel Duval is a contemporary reminder of Tallahassee's rich history. Once the prominent place to meet and shape Florida's future, this renovated boutique hotel boasts upscale accommodations, a rooftop bar, and a Shula's 347 Grill. Hotel Duval is proud to be a member of the Marriott Autograph Collection, an exclusive portfolio of innovative and stylish boutique hotels. Marriott Rewards members can earn and redeem benefits at Hotel Duval. Come to the Hotel Duval for business or pleasure. Dine here. Drink here. Host a wedding or meeting. It's the hotel for all seasons, all guests, and all moods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing