We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay and Staff”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were down in Tally for a quick weekend class reunion and the stay was great. The rooms were modern with an interesting shower. Interesting as in frosted glass to create privacy and a shower that is, lack of a better word... "Awesome".

The staff for the reunion was on point and accommodating. Definitely a good place to stay in Tally

Room Tip: When taking a shower turn the A/C to cancel out the steam if not it will cause the fire alarm to sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oddjobinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Oddjobinc,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you had a great time over the weekend reliving memories from the past.

We are hopeful that you keep us in mind should your travels bring you back to Tallahassee.

Regards,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    152
    86
    47
    31
See reviews for
140
143
38
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is conveniently located close to FL Legislature, FSU, restaurants, sights and hospitals. Located right off of main road, so easy access in and out. No self parking, but valet parking is offered, which is nice. Service was excellent! The Rooms were clean with European design flare. The bed was soft and extremely comfortable. Rooftop bar amazing atmosphere, and Shula's restaurant top-notch food and service. Stayed here for business, and Will definitely stay here again. Hotel is a Marriott property, so good to stay here for hotel points. This hotel property was recommended to me, and I'm passing on the referral. I travel a lot for work, and I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank airgirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear airgirl6,

We kindly thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Hotel Duval. It looks like you were able to experience a few of our outlets during your stay, and we hope that you check out the rest of the Hunter and Harp collection the next time you visit.

Until next time,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great Customer service, Very clean. Very cool roof top bar. The Staff is excellent, and very friendly. Overall, great place to stay in Tallahassee. The hotel is very close to FSU, and getting in and out is a breeze.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Rachel H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience at Hotel Duval. Your kind words are most appreciated by the team. We hope that you come see us again should your travels bring you back to Tallahassee.

Until next time,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plantaion
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had a beautiful room and great experience. We will stay again when visiting our son at FSU. Very friendly staff. Great food. The bar on top of hotel was lots of fun too. The organic touch with the breakfast food was great. Our waitress was super nice too.

Room Tip: We had a corner room. So it was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefmompam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear chefmompam,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Duval. It looks like we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay, and we look forward to seeing you over the next 4-6 years, depending on which route your son chooses to take through school. We'll see you again soon.

Best,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Duval
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagdad, KY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I was thrilled to check in at this hotel with its chic lobby - it reminded me of boutique hotels in DC that I love. There was a certain Je ne said pas eau de locker room smell in my room from the humidity, but the desk set up was excellent, the shower was fabulous (after I smashed the spider living in my bathmat) and the bed was DIVINE. I did think it was a little odd that I was in and out of valet parking 7 times in 3 days and every time they asked me if I was checking in. And just don't bother waiting for table service for a drink at the roof top bar - just go get your drink at the bar like the rest of us while the trendy waitress chats with couples. The service at Le Roc was iffy but the food was excellent.

I have to admit the trade-offs were beginning to take their toll when I got the bill on my last morning, and found the rate was 40% higher for two nights than the rate I was quoted when I booked the stay thought my corporate travel service. Since it's a Marriott affiliate, I have to admit I expected an adjustment when I asked about it at the front desk. However, it took the first staff member the 20 minutes I spent eating breakfast to research the fact that, why yes, indeed there was a difference between the first night and the next two. Because....Sunday was Sunday and Monday and Tuesday aren't.

I then talked to the Manager, I'ssha Scott, who had me standing around for 10 minutes while she puzzled out the exact same finding. We agreed that I would send her my confirmed itinerary, which I did almost a week ago. Not only did I not get a response, but I did not even get an acknowledgement of my email. When I left - you guessed it, the Valet staff asked if I was checking in.

So appearances to the contrary, the Hotel Duval is really a Marriott wannabe. As for me, I'll stick to the real thing the next time I'm in Tallahassee.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cindy_weinmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear cindy_weinmann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent experience at Hotel Duval. It is always our goal to exceed the expectations of every guest, and I am truly sorry that we were not able to exceed yours.

In reading your review, it appears that we do have some opportunities for improvement, and I appreciate you bringing these matters to my attention. I have already addressed these issues with each department manager to ensure that they do not happen again.

I would also like to apologize for the inconvenience at check out. I too would question my folio if the rate was 40% higher on the second and third night. I was able to review the confirmation that you forwarded along to Ms. Scott, and in doing so, I was able to locate the verbiage in the confirmation that states that the rate did increase to a specific rate starting on the Monday of your stay. I am sorry for any confusion that this led to and would be happy to phone the company you booked through and ask that they provide more clarity in their confirmation letters.

I do hope that you choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Tallahassee, and I invite you to contact me directly so I may personally facilitate your reservation.

Regards,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
jroberts@hotelduval.com
850.224.6131
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here a few times and always excellent service. Love the "trendy" feel of the hotel. Highlight is definitely the Level 8 lounge. Definitely the place to stay if you want to be able to go have a few drinks and enjoy yourself even if you don't know anyone in Tallahassee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina-del-mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Tina-del-mar,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the experiences you have had at our hotel and Level 8. I must say that I completely agree that Hotel Duval is THE place to stay when visiting Tallahassee.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Regards,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I travel quite a bit and I have to say that I am incredibly impressed with the hotel and the staff. First, the staff is incredible! There wasn't one person who worked that wasn't friendly, welcoming, and genuine. They all went out of their way. I've never encountered a staff that all seemed to like their jobs as much. I would never stay at another hotel in Tally.

My room was beautiful and very comfortable. I loved the bedding, the bathroom, and the big tv. My only complaint is that it took a bit for the shower to get warm. Otherwise it was perfect.

I enjoyed the terrace bar and the cafe in the lobby. I'm looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGliz1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear EGliz1022,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Your comments and words about the staff are greatly appreciative, and it goes to show that hard work does not go unnoticed.

The next time you are back in from Chicago we hope to see you here.

Regards,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.1 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 58 in Tallahassee
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#29 of 58 in Tallahassee
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Address: 415 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duval, Tallahassee's first boutique hotel experience, is a diamond tucked into the charming heart of North Florida. We offer everything you need for a perfect stay: sensational accommodations, exquisite food and drinks, thrilling entertainment and gorgeous event spaces. Hotel Duval is a contemporary reminder of Tallahassee's rich history. Once the prominent place to meet and shape Florida's future, this renovated boutique hotel boasts upscale accommodations, a rooftop bar, and a Shula's 347 Grill. Hotel Duval is proud to be a member of the Marriott Autograph Collection, an exclusive portfolio of innovative and stylish boutique hotels. Marriott Rewards members can earn and redeem benefits at Hotel Duval. Come to the Hotel Duval for business or pleasure. Dine here. Drink here. Host a wedding or meeting. It's the hotel for all seasons, all guests, and all moods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing