We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a very memorable trip. Purely an indulgent getaway. It was outstanding. The staff was extremely professional and VERY hospitable. Room was spotless. Valet guys were always running with a sense of urgency. Navitaging to and determining the entrance of the Hotel was the only trouble we have....lot's of One-Way streets. Make sure to try the Shula's Steakhouse while you are here. It was EXCELLENT too!

Room Tip: Each level has it's own color scheme. Level 4 is Red.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear John L,

Thank you so much for such a kind review. To your point, the one way streets around here can be a bit troublesome at times, especially if you are not familiar with the area. I actually moved over here from Destin back in October of 2011, and it took me a little bit to understand all of them.

We are glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay. Hopefully we'll see you again when you decide to getaway from the coast!

Best,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    141
    80
    38
    27
See reviews for
125
128
35
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This may be the first time that I've done a review while STILL at the hotel. This hotel ranks in my top 3. It's keeping company with the Ritz Carlton Seoul and the Halekulani on Waikiki Beach. Yes, it's THAT good. The service is impeccible. It's upscale, warm, inviting and I wish there were one in every city where I travel.

Unique modern rooms. Fabulous showers. A touch screen computer in my room. Yes, you read that correctly. And I haven't even been to the rooftop bar yet!!

LOVE

Did I mention the service? The staff is top notch. Well done folks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scdriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear scdriscoll,

Thank you so much for such for the kind and flattering comments. The two hotels that you are comparing us to are quite prestigious, so again, thank you.

I highly suggest that you pay a visit to Level 8. If you have been impressed to this point, it will definitely continue once you go to the rooftop.

Best,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stumbled onto this hotel entirely by accident--didn't even know about it until I had trouble finding a room during the opening week of the legislative session. What a pleasant surprise! Awesome room and amenities, Starbucks in the lobby, high quality steakhouse on the ground floor--what's not to like? The staff was friendly, amusing and entertaining at every contact. Yes, it's a bit on the expensive side, but well worth it. It's even within walking distance of the capitol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Jennifer C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. From reading your review, it appears that you had a great time experiencing almost all that we have to offer. I didn't see any mention of Level 8, our rooftop bar and lounge. Should your travels bring you back to Tallahassee I highly suggest paying it a visit.

Until next time,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

One of the new boutique hotels popping up all over the place, but not so much in Tallahassee, Hotel Duval is conveniently located for those doing business at the Capitol complex. Built many years ago, they have done a good job renovating it, but the narrow, small windows at head height are funky. Even more bizarre is the way they renovated the bathrooms, opening them up to the room, with minimal privacy via frosted sliding glass doors. This is not for everyone. They have a great rooftop bar with outside couches and cushioned chaises that has one of the best sunset views of any building in the south.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lounim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Lounim,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Trust me when I say this, but we all appreciate your attention to detail. We were not able to completely change the "footprint" of the rooms, so we tried to make them as open and spacious as possible, while keeping the design element consistent with the rest of the renovation.

I could not agree more with your comment about our views of the sunset - they are pretty spectacular, and this is coming from someone that grew up on the gulf coast. Hopefully we will be seeing you again soon.

Best,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Duval
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and excellent service. Also has a wonderful steakhouse Shulas and nightclub.
If you are looking for first class service stay here! It is located in downtown Tallahassee. A great place for a special occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simondsellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear simondellen,

Thank you so much for your kind words and declaration that we are the best in Tallahassee. We continue to work extremely hard to keep that designation, and we are happy to hear that we delivered during your stay.

Hopefully we will be seeing you again soon.

Best,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not being that familiar with the town of Tallahassee, we were first intrigued by the looks of the roof top bar. You can't miss it, right off Tennessee St, especially at night. Having stayed at a few other properties, we thought it was time to try this one. So, we would like to share out experience.
We were greeted professionally, and yet very friendly as well. Checking in was exactly the same, happy to have us as guests. Our room had a fantastic view over looking the city. It was modern, yet comfortable. Loved the shower.. rain head and a stone floor that feels great on your feet by the way. The staff downstairs at the cafe were extremely friendly as well. We were fortunate to be there for the spring parade and we had the best seats in the house. Not much of a parade person, or I thought but they really went all out! If you are at all familiar with the Shula's line, they have Shula's 347 right inside the hotel, huge plus, always guaranteed a great experience! And, last for the roof top bar, great music, best view in town and once again met with great service and personalities. Our son goes to college at FSU so we are sure we are going to be back now several times over the few years and... staying at our new favorite place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Bill T,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and an even bigger thank you for finally choosing to stay with us. Your review is very thorough and thoughtful, and is greatly appreciated.

We are happy to hear that you have a Seminole in the family, and we look forward to seeing you on a regular basis over the next few years and beyond.

Best,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my first time in Tallahassee and a congressman friend of the family recommended the hotel. The staff was exceptionally nice. I love the lobby and hotel decor. Shula's is on the premise which made our dining option simple, the food and service here were spectacular. I had requested a room with a double bed and was told upon arrival that they didn't have any or any of the suites available. They did provide my daughter with a cot which was pretty uncomfortable. She survived it because she is about 100 pounds and didn't feel it all that much.
The room we were given although it was beautifully furnished was somewhat uncomfortable especially the bathroom which has no counter space. We can hear the street traffic although we were on the fifth floor and at nights the crowds and noises of people coming and going kept us up. If and when we go back I will definetely request a higher floor and a room as far from the elevator as I can possibly get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peredakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear peredakk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. The kind words about the staff are always great to read, and hopefully we'll be seeing a lot of you over the next few years.

My apologies that we were not able to accommodate your request for a room with two double beds. Chances are that were were fully committed if you stayed anytime throughout March. We try extremely hard to accommodate these requests every opportunity we get, but unfortunately we aren't always able to do so.

During your next visit, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly so I may assist in securing your accommodations - jroberts@hotelduval.com or 850.224.6131.

Best,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 59 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Address: 415 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1257
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duval, Tallahassee's first boutique hotel experience, is a diamond tucked into the charming heart of North Florida. We offer everything you need for a perfect stay: sensational accommodations, exquisite food and drinks, thrilling entertainment and gorgeous event spaces. Hotel Duval is a contemporary reminder of Tallahassee's rich history. Once the prominent place to meet and shape Florida's future, this renovated boutique hotel boasts upscale accommodations, a rooftop bar, and a Shula's 347 Grill. Hotel Duval is proud to be a member of the Marriott Autograph Collection, an exclusive portfolio of innovative and stylish boutique hotels. Marriott Rewards members can earn and redeem benefits at Hotel Duval. Come to the Hotel Duval for business or pleasure. Dine here. Drink here. Host a wedding or meeting. It's the hotel for all seasons, all guests, and all moods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing