We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Affordable, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Tallahassee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stay here every time we visit Tallahassee. It's quiet, clean and centrally located. The staff is terrific--especially Tammy Whitaker. She goes out of her way to make sure your stay is pleasant. Parking is adequate and the swimming pool is well-maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schleride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    126
    113
    52
    40
See reviews for
154
93
48
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida Panhandle, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

the staff, place, and general comfort of the place was second to none. excellent. samir was very helpful and accomadating. he was helpful in helping us to enter our new home in carabelle, fl. they were conscientious as to my personal effects and needs as well as general comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Whenever we are in Tallahassee, we plan to stay here.
The coupon price was excellent; the staff was nice; the room was clean and quiet; and the setting is peaceful and "woodsy." The bathroom door was kinda old/chipping at the bottom, but the rest of the bathroom and interior areas were refurbished and clean. Beds were NICE and we liked the WiFi. More towels would be appreciated.
We didn't get to use the pool, but that's a plus, especially during the summer months. Location is very good for all kinds of activities. I think it's wonderful for college parents, for example; I plan to tell a friend whose son will be attending FSU.
We only had toast/bagel for breakfast, but it was enough to get us going.

Room Tip: We appreciated being able to get a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful with every facet of my stay, especially Tammy Whitaker who served at the front desk.(I might add I have stayed at this hotel many times over a number of years because its value for money among other things). The hotel could do with a bit of a face lift its a bit dated but its ok if all you need is to sleep there then its a good deal, very reasonably priced. Another thing is they appear to honour hotel discount coupons even during busy times. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and choices for food and variety all within a mile of the hotel. There are a lot of things to see and do but you need to look them up. A good place to stay for singles or families.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the pool appear to be quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a pit stop across USA, the room was very clean in good condition as well. The staff were very friendly it is in a good area to access the highway or to get to the local airport as well. The free internet is one of the best we have had since we have been on this trip and for it to be working was great. We tried to order the room service after we got back from an airport run and was unable to order due to the kitchen shutting early as the normal kitchen is undergoing work meaning they currently stop taking orders at 10pm. We didn't make breakfast as the serve limited hours 6am-9am would be good if it was longer like most of the other hotels. Overall a good stay and I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHamilton89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladewater, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

June 11, 2014 - Absolutely love the staff they were so accommodating to us. Ms. Venetta & her ladies were the sweetest folks I have ever met & my Aunt and I don't know a stranger. The rooms were better than what we paid. The price was wonderful & a blessing in our time of need. What started as a serious trip from Texas to Tallahassee turned out to be a very nice lil' vacation because our hotel stay made that possible. Tallahassee being a very busy area and HoJo having no stortage of customers the rooms were actually in great shape and up to standard and I am very picky. The Tallahassee Mall right up the road, movies, shopping and all kinds of food choices. My teenage daughter, myself and my 2 Aunts had a blast at the Howard Johnson on 2726 North Monroe St. The interior joining rooms were so fun and private. Clean rooms, wifi great, room service great, beds comfy, clean towels, quite nights, breakfast very yummy. Venetta makes the BEST WAFFLES! Our best hotel stay ever! & we look forward to coming back. Big "THANK YOU" & HUGS from Gladewater Texas.

Room Tip: Great Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melton1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#38 of 59 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#19 of 59 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
#18 of 59 in Tallahassee
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#31 of 59 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
Address: 2726 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-4030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee
Howard Johnson Tallahassee
Tallahassee Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing