We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“florida trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    138
    130
    59
    47
See reviews for
167
111
53
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed one night here on our way from Orlando back to New Orleans. Close to I10 so easy to find and only a couple of miles on a busy straight road from the town centre. Reception were, helpful the room was clean and tidy, and complementary breakfast was ok. Hotel was peaceful although looked pretty full. Across the street was Crystal River Seafood, which was good and there were plenty of other restaurants etc just on the road into town. Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiretourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hojoTLH, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip! We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us on your trip through Tallahassee. Being close to I-10, many restaurants, theaters, and family fun centers makes it very convenient for our guests during their short or extended stay. As always, we are here to help you before your arrival, during your stay, and even after your departure. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We only stayed one night in a King Room. The room was clean and cozy. The bed was comfy and so were the pillows. Breakfast was good, limited choice but enough. Close to the highway to continue your travels. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0J057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hojoTLH, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, being close to Interstate 10 makes it very convenient for our guests who are traveling through. We are also nearby to the Capitol, FSU, FAMU, movie theaters, and over 15 fast food and full service restaurants. Hopefully, on your next trip you will be able to stay longer and enjoy the attractions Tallahassee has to offer. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel based on the reviews and the price, for 1 night.
However, this was the worst experience I have EVER had in a hotel, and I travel alot!!!! Sheets didn't fit the bed, revealing old filthy mattresses. Spider crawling on the bed. Pervasive smell of marijuana . Unsavory looking people lurking around.
BUT, the worst thing was BED BUG BITES all over my body the next day!!!!!
I'm itching so bad from them and it's been a week since I stayed there..it's absolutely miserable! Listen to this review and pay a little extra to stay in a better hotel. This one was HORRIBLE!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calicaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hojoTLH, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Calicaro,
We are extremely sorry you did not have a pleasant stay. Our goal is to never have a guest leave unhappy, and I am disappointed this was not your case. My team and I believe the guest's experience does not end when they leave so I will try to contact you to make things right and to learn the specifics to provide better service for future guests. Rest assured that your concerns are not taken lightly and that our property is treated by a nationally-recognized pest control agency so any issues will be solved immediately. Also, desk clerks have been re-trained to offer guests a different room if they are not satisfied in their current room and to work with them until they are happy. I personally invite you to retry our hotel to show to you that your experience is not typical, and we are committed to provide excellent service. Thank you for helping us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#34 of 58 in Tallahassee
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#20 of 58 in Tallahassee
636 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#30 of 58 in Tallahassee
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
#15 of 58 in Tallahassee
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
Address: 2726 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-4030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee
Howard Johnson Tallahassee
Tallahassee Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing