We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay in Downtown Tallahassee”
Review of Governors Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Governors Inn
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Reviewed March 7, 2006

The Governor's Inn was completely renovated September 2005. I would highly recommend staying here. The pros to staying at this hotel:

1) Rooms are newly renovated and very nice.
2) Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful.
3) Great price if you are staying during the weekend
and get their special weekend package.
4) EXTREMELY convenient to all downtown areas -
within walking distance of the Capitol, Old
Capitol building and other historic downtown
sites.
5) Free valet parking.
6) Nice continental breakfast every morning (pastries
with orange juice and coffee).
7) Between 5-6 pm cocktail hour.
8) Free newspapers everyday.

The only 'con' to this place is some rooms have windows that look out to a brick building and others look out to an inside hallway....this didn't bother us one bit since we were hardly in our room anyway...
All in all, this is a very nice place to stay if you want to stay in downtown Tallhassee and be convenient to all downtown sites....

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darlene300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Governors Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 176 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta
113
Reviewed March 15, 2005

The Good: The Inn is perfectly sited in downtown Tallahassee. No other hotel even comes close to its central location which is within 100 yards of the capital and most of the good restaurants in the city. The rooms are clean and the bed linens are of good quality.
The Bad: The staff is composed primarily of poorly trained, 20 year old college students who act exactly as you would expect them to. When I asked for a late checkout (1:00 instead of 12:00) I got an exasperated look and was told that the hotel was full for the next night and they needed to clean the rooms. When I asked if they had enough maids to clean every room simultaneously, I just got a hostile stare. Hotel also has no high-speed, in-room internet access.
The Ugly: The rooms are appointed with old furniture that is functional but certainly not antique. Staying here is like staying in your great-aunt's guestroom--she redecorated once when she was 40 and has never felt the need to update her choices. Because the hotel is in an old downtown building with no height to it, the rooms either have no outside windows at all or tiny windows that look out on an alley.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Miami, Florida
16
Reviewed November 2, 2004

You can't find a bed like these if you had a magic wand. I was invited to Tallahassee as a guest of Governor Bush, and my kids and I had a wonderful time. The room was excellent and the service exceeded all my expectations. If I slept in a bed like this every night...in the morning I wouldn't be able to wake up on time for work. Heaven is the only word to describe their beds and early morning "free" breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Garden City, NY
14
Reviewed June 20, 2004

I stayed in a standard size room on the first floor. The room was fine, all the necessary items and a comfortable bed.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff - friendly, attentive, and quick to help with even the smallest problems without making you feel as if you were under surveillance. The free afternoon cocktails in the lobby was also a nice touch, especially since they serve top shelf alcohol. [Free bathtub gin and bad wine are pointless.] We were suprised by the size of the crowd that developed. It was nice to have the chance to interact with other people without having to discuss work while on a business trip.

For the price this place was great. I can't imagine why I would ever return to Tallahassee but if I do I'll stay at the Governor's Inn again.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tampa, FL
515
Reviewed June 2, 2004

We had reservations for Memorial Day weekend 2004. Checked in, but was not satisfied. Ended up checking out and going to the Double Tree down the street which is under renovation (We got a renovated room).

First, the good points: Staff is excellent -- friendly and attentive. Staff was gracious and apologetic when we checked out.

Now for the bad: Rooms need renovation. Checked into a standard, non-smoking room (1 of only 4 nonsmoking rooms in the entire hotel). Room was dirty. Found chewed gum in the corner. Lots of dust, hair, etc. around room and in bathroom. Bathrooms, rugs, bedding, etc are old. Room seemed musty. Air condition was loud and not very cold. Complained about room and asked to see others. Was shown 5-6 other rooms including Lofts and Junior Suites. Of all, Junior Suites seemed best, but still not for the discriminate traveler. Chairs and couches were worn/torn.

May have been a nice hotel 10 years ago, but needs renovation before it can live up to its potential.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
15
Reviewed January 18, 2004

Great little hotel with charm and good service. Right in the heart of the capital. Rooms are all decorated uniquely with dark wood 4-poster beds, etc. Small lobby with help yourself breakfast served in the mornings. Good place for business travelers.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
14
Reviewed September 19, 2003

I use to live in Tallahassee and would just stay at the Governors Inn for fun sometimes because it was so pleasant. Now, when I visit Tallahassee, I only stay there!!!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 59 in Tallahassee
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
#21 of 59 in Tallahassee
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn

Address: 209 S Adams St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range: $132 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Governors Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governors Inn is a 41 room private condominium property. Room availability varies by owner. Please phone for information on our Inventory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Governors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Hotel Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing