We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utilitarian, and Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Tallahassee University Center
Ranked #53 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Utilitarian, and Affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

For a Tallahassee stay of three days in February 2014, I booked three nights at the Days Inn University Center with some trepidation after heaving read the Tripadvisor reviews. The main lure (besides the price of $43.96 a night with early booking discount) was its location - a mere three minute walk to my meeting site at the Florida State University campus. Perhaps because I remember the budget roadside motels from the 1960s and 1970s, this Days Inn is exactly that down to the heat lamp on the bathroom ceiling and the disposable razor blade slot next to the bathroom sink! To first address some of the complaints of previous reviews, I must say that my room and bathroom were clean, the bed comforter and shower curtain brand new, and there was no room noise. Granted, this was a mid-week stay in the football off season so that the crowd staying at the motel was very well behaved. The only mishap during the stay - a low battery on the room lock one morning which did not allow the electronic card key to work - was resolved within an hour by a locksmith called by the wife of the inn owner Mrs. Chetna Patel as I was having breakfast at 7:00 am. The breakfast, by the way, was coffee, toast, and fresh Danish and a Krispy Kreme doughnut. Yes - plain, with no variety, but please remember that hotels costing four and five times as much a night don't provide even that!! This is a family-run operation with Mrs. Patel's daughters (FSU students) at the front desk. A chain operation - with the usual and miniscule Day's Inn soap and shampoo bottle - but run by a family who obviously love their Indian food (as I do!) so that the smell sometimes lingered in the lobby. But, it was comforting to know that the owners always had a presence on site. Would I stay here for a luxury resort visit to Tallahassee - no. But, if I was on a budget and merely needed a place to stay to conduct state government business or university business (on a non-football weekend), I would certainly stay here again. All in all, very pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room (but only if you don't smoke!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciscokid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    31
    42
    78
See reviews for
90
14
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Three days later and I swear I get phantom whiffs of the Indian food/body odor/ mold/cigarette stench that permeates this building. There was dried urine on the toilet, it looked like someone had peed on the toilet paper roll and it dried, there was hair/pubes in the tub/bed, cigarettes butts in the hallways and a big bag of Taco Bell food the previous customer had left in the mini fridge. 'Breakfast' was literally Christmas themed snack cakes from Walmart. We would have had a more peaceful night if we slept in our car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britianee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallahassee hotels

Valdosta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I've read a couple reviews where they said it was a great place for family and business.. Blah blah. Heck no! Everyone is right, the room smelled horrible. As soon as you walk in the room a strong odor of musk hits ur face. The bed felt disgusting, there were stains all over the pillows and the sheets had the same odor as the room. I felt like I was sleeping on someone else's sweaty bed. The TV is old and the remote did not work. There is a sliding glass door that leads you outside, it is convenient because you can carry your luggage straight to your car from the room, which was great because i was ready to get out of there! But it was definitely not safe! The only thing holding the door closed was a metal rod.

The staff did their job but lacked in personality and kindness. We were WAY overcharged. We were expecting to pay no more then $50 per night. We were charged $68 with tax with an additional "security deposit" of $20 adding up to 80 dollars worth of crap for one night! DO NOT STAY HERE. I would rather drive 30 minutes to the football game from a decent hotel rather than stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ggriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Only stay here if everything else close to campus is booked. They gave us the wrong room, then tried to charge us extra to book us into the room we had originally reserved. The towels were barely big enough for a small child and the entire hotel had a funny smell. The beds were hard as rocks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
2.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
#44 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
1.5 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#14 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Tallahassee University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Tallahassee University Center

Property: Days Inn Tallahassee University Center
Address: 1350 W Tennessee St, Tallahassee, FL 32304-7755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Tallahassee University Center 1.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to museums, historic sites, plantations, hiking and biking trails. Enjoy fun in the sun on your Florida getaway at Days Inn Tallahassee University Center hotel. Our Tallahassee, FL hotel near Florida State University offers a prime spot off Highway 90, making it easy to reach capital-area attractions that offer a blend of history, nature and culture. Count on value at our pet-friendly Tallahassee, FL hotel. We offer thoughtful amenities, including refrigerators and microwaves upon request. Get each day off to a bright start with free Daybreak continental breakfast. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or beat the heat in our outdoor pool. Free Wi-Fi Internet access makes it easy to check email from your room or our lobby. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Whether you are in town for football or parents weekend, our Tallahassee, FL, hotel is just minutes from Florida State University and Florida A&M University. With more than 28 museums, an abundance of historic sites and the largest concentration of original plantations in the nation, you can spend days exploring the city. Catch panoramic views from the 22nd floor at the State Capitol Complex or get a dose of local culture at Museum of Florida History. See a southern antebellum at Governor’s Mansion or view Native American earthen temple mounds at Lake Jackson Mounds State Archaeological Site. For fun and adventure just 20 miles away, dive into one of the largest and deepest freshwater springs in the world at Wakulla Springs State Park. DINING OPTIONS: Qdoba Mexican restaurant is adjacent to our hotel in Tallahassee. Dig into delicious sushi and vegetarian options across the street at Mr. Roboto’s Tokyo Grill or grab a slice of hand-tossed doughy goodness at Momo’s Pizza. Indulge in fresh, creative dishes on the shaded patio at Food Glorious Food or feast on hand-cut steaks and gulf seafood in an artsy setting at The Mockingbird Cafe. HOTEL POLICIES: During special events and college game days, we are only able to allow one parking space per paid room. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Tallahassee University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tallahassee University Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing