We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I would ust this hotel again. It was very close to the FSU campus and places to eat. The staff was very friendly. The salad I had from the Bistro was awesome (but overpriced) and the girl working there was extremely nice,

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djinkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 229 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

I usually stay at the Courtyard on Raymond Diehl, but this trip decided to try this location (on Appalachee Parkway) because it is closer to where I need to be when traveling to Tallahassee. I have to say, I wasn't nearly as impressed with this location as I was with the other one. The lobby looks awesome, with the new Courtyard style renovations, and the staff at the front desk were very friendly. However, once you pass the lobby, the hotel returns to the older style - not bad, just slightly dated. I was gievn a room on the "Terrace" level, which is esentially the level below the one you enter on - I hesitate at calling it the basement, because it feels like any other floor. However, the cell phone service on that level is really spotty (I have Verizon). Also, while all the rooms have balconies or patios, the Terrace level rooms have locks on the sliding doors preventing you from opening them more than a few inches - again, not a huge deal but disappointing. My first morning there, I was woken up at 8:30AM (I slept in a bit since I flkew in late the night before) by very loud knocking, then the door being unlocked and hitting the privacy latch. I'm assuming this was the housekeeper, so for the rest of the stay I posted my do not disturb sign. I realize they need to service rooms early, but why not start with rooms that people have checked out of already? The breakfast options were a lot smaller than I was used to at the other Courtyard - everything is made to order. I chose the cereal and banana option with a coffee. They told me they were out of bananas, so I chose yogurt, and found out later they still charged me for a yogurt. The staff at the restaurant was not very friendly at all. All in all, this isn't a bad hotel, but I will return to the Courtyard on Raymond Diehl instead from now on!!

Room Tip: Avoid the Terrace level
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I've stayed at several Marriott Couryard and this was probably my least favourite. The room was a little on the small side and the walls were very thin. I was up all night listening to cell phone conversions and snoring in nearby rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I have stayed here countless times in the last year and have always had a great stay. The hotel staff from front desk to food staff to housekeeping are always very accommodating and eager to help.
The rooms are always comfortable and clean.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the Tallahassee area. I plan on staying there again to move my daughter back for this coming school year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Really pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome at the front desk. Usually women travelers get stuck by the ice machine! This guy was great, friendly, very helpful. Gave us a late checkout that we needed given schedule challenges. Clean comfortable room. Includes free internet AND free parking -- better deal than other hotels I checked nearby. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stared here for several days in July for a business meeting. The location is excellent. The staff is polite and well trained.

In terms of excercise the Gym has some issues and is very small. The pool is too small to swim laps.

The entry has been modernized to the courtyard cafe and pantry concept. Checkin was fast but no one was around when I went to check out at 930am. The lobby has outlets, wifi, and televisions. The business center in the lobby is well stocked and everything was functional. Wifi is fast and strong in most of the property.

The low points include *NO LOBBY ELEVATOR* *EXTRA CHARGES* and *NOISY AC*. Noisy AC not too big of a deal but no lobby elevator? Where are we? We also had an inclusive rate but if you take a large coffee they charge you extra... Some breakfast rate huh?

At the end of the day I would stay here again but only because it's a Marriott property. The staff made my say.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lllClifflll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed there on the way home from Tuscaloosa. Did not choose the hotel, but got a great price with a Pricline bid. The trip through Alabama was long and stressful with construction and very slow moving traffic. We were ready to just stop and relax. This hotel is in a great location, just down the street from the Capital. At check in we noticed the bar/restaurant in the lobby, with lots of comfy seating and TV's to watch if you wanted. We freshened up and headed back down. The evening shift girls were great! Helped us with tour ideas while making our dinner. I had a nice glas of Pinot and soup, my son the burger and a soda. Very relaxing. The pool area was welcoming and clean. The rooms comfortable and also very clean.
If you are just ready to stop and relax this is the place. Not gourmet food or wine or 5 Star luxury, but very pleasant. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momnnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-staff, Manager at Courtyard Tallahassee Capital, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at my hotel! I have shared your comments with my staff.

Regards,

Eric Mullins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.9 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 59 in Tallahassee
608 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 59 in Tallahassee
200 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tallahassee Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tallahassee Capital

Address: 1018 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-4540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range: $108 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tallahassee Capital 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tallahassee Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Marriott
Tallahassee Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing