We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast Service”
Review of Sage

Sage
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 10/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #13 of 969 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our second visit.

Service was very fast, although we didn’t feel rushed.

Bottle of house wine was only $26.

Food was very good.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank WilliamB837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My perception of Sage is that French cuisine had had much influence on the chef and his menu.
We ( 3 of us ) had a wonderful lunch, ordering diverse selections from the menu.
Everything was wonderful, especially the sauces on each entre.
Our only negative comment was that hot coffee was hard to get.
At almost $27 per person, the prices were higher than most in Tallahassee but well worth the price.
Easy parking but a little hard to find.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Derekfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

Bottomless mimosas, with savory contemporary American food with southern influences. This north side gem will not disappoint. The herb and cheese omelet was amazing, I added the lump crab and Alaskan crab to it, and made heavenly. The vanilla malt cheese cake, was the perfect way to finish a wonder brunch meal. I highly recommended asking for Mairin, she will move mountains for you!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

We have talked about lunch or brunch for a while now so at the last minute we decided to see if we eat dinner at the bar so I could try their hamburger. It was about 6:30 and they were packed, the bar only had two stools open and we fortunately were able to get those stools. Since we regularly have dinner at Sage we ordered the escargot as an appetizer and they were superb as always. Neither had tried their burger so we both ordered the burger and it did not disappoint. I am a burger connoisseur and have tried the burger is most Tallahassee restaurants that serve a burger. Let me tell you the Sage burger is my vote as the BEST burger in Tallahassee.... no competition! Service was great and quick, all the employees were very cordial and very busy. Sage remains one of Tallahassee’s best.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 593harolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019

Was meeting a group of friends for drinks in the bar tonight. We arrived right at 5:00. The server and hostess seemed offended that we didn’t have reservations. They told us they didn’t have a table for 6 in the bar. We politely told them that the last time we tried to make reservations, they didn’t allow it. They told us we could sit in the restaurant when it opened in 30 minutes. Since we had friends joining us, we declined. 30 minutes is a long time to wait. They finally agreed to push two small tables together so we could be seated. We ordered some appetizers, but they didn’t fit very well on the small tables.

There were 2 empty booths in the bar that we weren’t allowed to sit in. Evidently they were reserved for people that were coming later. They stayed empty the entire time we were there.

There had to be a way this could have been handled better. None of us want to go back.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sage_Tally, Manager at Sage, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Hello Julie C,
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; issues such as the one that you described can not be remedied without this type of candid feedback. The popularity of our bar and bistro is one that absolutely thrills us, but has also taken us by surprise. We have been accepting and encouraging reservations for the bar since mid November when it became clear that that would be the most organized and fair way to ensure that our guests would be able to enjoy themselves.

Both of our bar booths had 6:00 reservations, and as I remember it, they were offered to your party with the understanding that all would be fine as long as we could honor the previously made reservations. A member of your party declined this offer stating that it would not be enough time.

The comfort of all of our guests is very important to us, and I can assure you that offering a table in the main dining room upon our 5:30 PM opening time was an honest attempt at ensuring space and room for your party to enjoy themselves.

I urge you to reconsider your opinion of us after a second visit. Please feel free to reach out to me personally to make a reservation so that I can ensure the utmost comfort for your party.

Kind Regards,
Cassidy McCreery
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing