We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“By far the worst I've ever stayed at” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #54 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“By far the worst I've ever stayed at”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I'm a firm believer in "you get what you pay for" but even this is a slap in the face of that saying. We were road tripping to Ft Lauderdale and decided at 2 am we needed to find somewhere to get 4-5 hours of sleep to rest, refuel, and keep going. We decided we didn't want to spend $70-$100 for such a short stay since we basically only needed a serviceable bed and shower. What we were treated to for $44 was horrid. First thing was as soon as we walked into our room we were immediately bombarded with paint fumes so strong you almost got dizzy. Called to get a different room and was informed that all rooms had recently been repainted. Next, we turn on our AC unit (that in 2 hours never produced actual cold air, but rather normal temperature humidity) only to find that it sounded like a chainsaw that was on its last leg. So we decide to open the window (that had no screen) to vent some of the fumes and try to get some shut eye. Upon sliding into bed we were met with stained sheets that felt as tho someone just used them to mop up fry oil. So we get up to strip the nasty sheets off only to find a "comfort" pad that was littered with pubic hairs and other filth. We decided to try and sleep on top of the comforter but the fumes and AC unit proved to be too much so after tossing and turning with our 1 inch thick brick of pillows we decided to give up and just get back on the road exhausted. Our son managed to sleep but when getting out of bed, in little over an hour mind you, he had 4 bites on his legs and arms. We showered, which was surprisingly not bad (god pressure and decently clean bathroom) and left shaking our heads in amazement such a place could still be in business. Avoid at all costs, you have been warned.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    4
    21
See reviews for
10
9
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
269 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This Rodeway Inn is conveniently located. There's a Sonny's Barbecue directly across the street and other places within easy walking distance. The rooms are all inside corridors and there's a continental breakfast included. The breakfast, however, consists of a couple of Danish choices, plus juice and coffee. Had to request decaf be made, but that was done immediately. The downside to this place is the lobby where breakfast is served. It looks fine but has an old musty odor and the only seating area is a few chairs and a sofa, all of which appear worn and not too clean. Paid $5 more booking online thru Choice Hotels than it would have cost to walk in. Requested an upstairs end corridor room. Got a downstairs middle of the hallway room even though the place appeared to be far from full. Elephants apparently took the room above us because the stomping was horrendous. Our room was clean but the exhaust vent in the bathroom didn't work, so the amount of moisture after a shower drenched the room. The smoke/fire alarm was not functional, either. The compartment that holds the battery was open and empty. The beds were comfortable. No in-room hair dryer was a surprise, but I requested one at the desk and got one. Once the elephants went to sleep, our rest was peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room so walking above you won't be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Horrible place, mold in toilet, cigarette smoke everywhere. Breakfast included was a joke. Only coffee with creamer, juice and bun. Do not stay here. The only good thing was location to the highway. Traffic around hotel very busy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherG1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed here two nights while in town and got 3 rooms. The 1 on the second floor had a bad smell. The other 2 were on the 3rd floor and it didn't smell. But the ceiling did have discoloration and cracks. The bathroom was very clean! We called down to get some extra towels the next morning but were never brought any up so I had to use a wet one someone in my room had used. Then when we went to leave the hotel we asked them to leave a certain amount of towels but only left 2 so we had to go back down and get more that night when we arrived back. I base expectations on the price, which was $49 so I didn't expect much but the issues I had were ones that should not have happened.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is awful. I have stayed in older hotels but this one takes the cake. Dirty smelly can hear through the walls. It's feels damp inside ac doesn't work well at all. Stayed an hour and demanded a refund and left and drove home even though was 11 pm after being at the game all day.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

In my 40 years on earth, I have NEVER experienced a hotel like this before. This was the worse hotel ever. When you first pull up to the parking lot, you should know right then. When you walk into the lobby, the furniture is old and dirty. When you get on the elevator, there is a air freshner stick up in the corner, wow. When you walk down the hall you can't help but to take in this ridiculous smell of the carpert. And last but not least, the room, oh my goodness, the room. It was absolutely horrible. We stayed this week (5/4/13) due to FAMU graduation and it was the only hotel left. I wanted to sleep in the car but my husband refuse to let me. But trust me i would have. The room was so bad we had to go to Walmart and buy blankets and wash clothes and shower shoes to even stay in that hotel, it was just that nasty. This hotel really needs to be condemned, although I believe it was before this weekend the way it smelled as though it had been closed up for a while with the mildew smell. This hotel really needs to be taken off the website. But you know the worse part about it. I am reading the other reviews from last year and its still the same, which means the owners dont care and dont take any of our comments into consideration to try and fix the place up. So guys, do me a favor, and DONT book this hotel so they will have to close down.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cherissem1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#35 of 59 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#30 of 59 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#19 of 59 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
#16 of 59 in Tallahassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tallahassee - Killearn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 2702 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-4030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Tallahassee
Rodeway Inn Tallahassee
Tallahassee Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing