We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view on the top floor”

New Capitol Building
Ranked #14 of 82 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This building replaced the "Old Capitol" for state government business.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice view on the top floor”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent an hour or so walking around the Capitol building. The top floor is an observation deck with windows all around. You can see all of Tallahassee and I have to say I was surprised by how awesome the view was.

On the lower floors, you can see the Senate and House chambers from an observation level. We visited when they weren't in session so the rooms were empty, but it was still neat to see where they meet. The Governor's office is on the first floor. We were able to see the reception area. There are also several memorial walls on the first floor like the Florida Women's Hall of Fame that highlight special people from the state.

The official state seal is there. Be sure to go up to the second floor so you can get a better look from above!

It doesn't take long to look around the visitor areas, but it's also free so you can't beat the price. Cute little gift shop on the first floor. Be sure to go across the way and see the historic Capitol Building while you're there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SFloridamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    65
    36
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bird's-Eye Views”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Whenever friends or family visited in Tallahassee we would trek up to the 22nd floor of the New Capitol and I could give them a tour of the city from above. There are usually beautiful art installations by local artists on the walls and prints available in the shop downstairs. Information on various buildings is listed, and visitors can also tour the House of Representatives and the Senate Chamber while there. A word of advice- if you are traveling with teenagers, try to avoid arriving via Apalachee Parkway lest they break out with laughter over what the Capitol Complex resembles.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LStoltzfusBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Has art gallery on top floor”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Modern building or Legislature to meet. Art gallery on top floor. Wonderful view of Tallahassee from top. New Capitol is centered right behind old Capitol which makes for a neat photo shot. Old Capitol is mostly a museum, a beautiful historical building & grounds, makes a unique view.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Will132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New to Tallahassee - toured the capitol!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fun vintage capitol. Hard to believe it's called the "new" capitol - it's quite "That 70's Show" - but fun. Wonder what was up with legislators, governor, and staff when they allowed this design to be built in the early 70's. Very iconic. We now need a newer capitol bldg - something outrageous. Very phallic. Love the dolphin sculptures out front.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LicensePlateGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Try to visit when the Florida legislature is in session.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

To really appreciate what happens in the Capitol, try to visit when the Florida legislature is in session. The galleries above the House and Senate chambers offer a vantage point to our government in action.

And make sure you go to the 22nd floor for the panoramic views of Tallahassee.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterMikeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Capitol Building also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to New Capitol Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing