We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little English Guesthouse provided a sweet retreat in Tallahassee.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Little English Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Tallahassee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“Little English Guesthouse provided a sweet retreat in Tallahassee.”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This was the ideal spot for us to stay for our weekend retreat in Tallahassee! I loved sipping tea on the front steps and looking at the garden. My sister and I stayed in the Staffordshire room. The manager gave us a cot and extra linens. I got the big bed which was very comfortable, though very firm. My sister slept fine on the cot as well. Breakfast and snacks were always in the fridge including yogurt & fresh fruit salad. As we traveled around Tallahassee, we loved being able to return to the Little English Guesthouse for a quick rest during the day on Saturday. The conservatory was especially welcoming and restful. And I loved the gnomes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLou2, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
It's our goal to be a sanctuary from the chaos of life for our guests, so we're glad you enjoyed a sweet retreat! And you found a moment of joy in our little details around the little english garden, and that brings us joy! We look forward to seeing you next time you need a little breath of fresh air and sweet retreat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
53
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Excellent B&B right off Route 10. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Great continental breakfasts each morning. Tracey (the owner) is very attentive and thoughtful to her guest's needs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s0uthender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I stayed here while on business and really liked the place. Very clean and very friendly with much love for details. I felt like at home and enjoyed sitting there enjoying some music while watching the candles burn. Very cozy. Whenever I come back to Tallahassee I will choose this place. ...........................................................asaas.............asasas.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HermannLuyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLou2, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Little English Guesthouse while on your business trip! We agree if you're looking for a place that's clean, cozy and peaceful, this is the right choice. We look forward to serving you the next time you're in Tallahassee, Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

A restorative long weekend in Tallahassee, with lots of hiking and a birthday to celebrate. Not only was the Little English Guesthouse a wonderful base for exploring the forests and the city, but there were quite a number of good restaurants within walking distance. The accommodations were excellent and the room was very quiet. Tracy, the host, was warm, friendly, helpful and interesting. Though Tallahassee is not too far from from Central Florida, it was, in a number of ways, like being much further away - much like a Little English Guesthouse.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLou2, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, we 're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you got a little "taste" of England while you were with us. We are ideally located for some of the finest restaurants in Tallahassee so we're glad you took the opportunity to take a stroll to find them. Please come back and stay with us next time you're in North Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

From the enchanting, ecclectic decor to the friendly hospitality, we immediately felt welcome. The extremely comfy bed along with the massage shower were a plus, but for me the little homey touches and attention to detail made this a special stay. We were supplied with ample food choices and excellent organic coffee. I also enjoyed the beautiful rose garden right outside our window. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone in need of lodging or celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justfauxfun27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLou2, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found our breakfast to have ample choices! And when the roses are blooming it is a particularly beautiful scene from the window, we agree! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I stayed at the Little English Guest House on my third trip to Tallahassee, and only wish I had discovered it sooner. Tracy arranged for me to have a much needed massage on my night of arrival. I had been packing for several weeks and dealing with the stresses of moving. I spent 2 nights at the guest house, and found it absolutely delightful. All of the little touches made me feel very comfortable. Breakfast was yummy, and I enjoyed sitting in the garden in the mornings and sipping on a cup of Tracy's delicious coffee. Tracy is a wonderful lady, and made me feel very welcome. It was truly like a "home away from home," and definitely better than the impersonal feel of a typical hotel. Kudos to the Little English Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetintally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLou2, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Thank you for your kudos! We also wished you had "discovered" us a bit sooner too, it would have made all your relocation trips to Tallahassee more joyous, less stressful. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is a wonderful B&B well located in Tallahassee with lots of nice touches. Spacious rooms, nicely furnished, excellent breakfast, and Tracey Cochran is a friendly and helpful innkeeper. We loved the attention to detail and her environmental sensitivities. Absolutely perfect for our stay in Tallahassee

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLou2, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
What a sweet thing to say, thank you so much! We agree that we're the perfect place to stay, I hope others agree, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Tallahassee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
6.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tallahassee I-10 East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 58 in Tallahassee
603 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
4.5 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#29 of 58 in Tallahassee
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little English Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little English Guesthouse

Property: The Little English Guesthouse
Address: 737 Timberlane Rd, Tallahassee, FL 32312-1624
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Little English Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Tallahasse's only English Bed & Breakfast for a whole new lodging experience. Charming rooms, each with en-suite private bathrooms, cable television, free breakfast, free parking, free WIFI internet, free snacks and beverages - and the best location for downtown Tallahassee as well as Interstate 10. Do yourself a favor, stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Little English Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing