We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I Didn't Get....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10 - Thomasville Rd
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, VA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What I Didn't Get....”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Once I negotiated the local side streets and found the hotel, it was typical Hampton Inn. Clean, quiet, reasonably comfortable and in an area that is close to shops and restaurants. However there were several items which took the experience down a couple of notches for me. First, the room description on the Hampton Inn web site said that I would be getting a suite. Apparently, Studio Suite is a clearer description. It seemed like a standard room with the addition of a small wet bar area that had a frig and microwave. Second, the wireless internet was slow and inconsistent. This was despite multiple wireless access points on the hallway that I was in. Third, the heat did not seem to really warm the room. Luckily it wasn't too cold outside. Finally, I did not receive a weekday newspaper like every other room close to me. Did they forget me? Did someone take the paper? Certainly I would think that an added benefit of a suite would be a free newspaper.

The one bright spot of the stay was the crock pot of real oatmeal at the breakfast. That was certainly nice to have since instant oatmeal really doesn't taste that good to me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallahasseeGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10 - Thomasville Rd, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear TravellerMH,

We appreiciate your staying with us and for your feedback via this review! I wanted to apologize for posting this response so late, but I did want to research and find some resolution to the internet issue that you commented on!

I also wanted to address some of the other opportunities that you experienced during your stay. We do have 37 King Studio Suites, and this wording should be listed on both the Hampton Inn website as well as the Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee site. If you have the address of the website that does not state "studio", please let me know so that I can resolve that as soon as possible. I know that the difference between what one would think of as a "suite" and a "studio suite" are very different things, and I would not want anyone else to be inconvenienced because of an inadequate description. Showing up and expecting two rooms and only getting one, could certainly rain on anyone's parade!

We do deliver the USA Today newspaper to the room all of our Hilton Honors guests; however, a newspaper is available to all of our guests in the kiosk, downstairs. If you would like yours delivered, we would be happy to do so if you will note the request with our front desk at check-in!

We always want to know of the opportunities with any air-conditioning or heating experienced by our guests, as most of those can be resolved right away!

Lastly, and I think by far the most important in today's corporate atmosphere, is the note on our internet speeds. We have researched this, internally, and found that our speeds are certainly not what we thought them to be. We are working diligently to increase our speeds to 100Mbps. Please be assured that, in the very near future, we will be adding a secondary feed to increase our speeds. This will ensure that all of our guests experience the best leisure/business accommodations available with regards to internet.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback. If guests like you did not bring these things to our attention, we would be below average. We work very hard to make sure that we are at the top in our industry, and the chance to take action on your comments is a privilege. I would very much appreciate the chance to have you with us, again!

Sincerely,
Krista Alfaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    182
    90
    40
    26
See reviews for
230
162
43
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nice location , decent price, nice accommodations. Several places nearby to eat (don't go to Outback).
Starbuck's nearby.
Our bed was crappily made, but other than that the bed was comfy as well as the room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmendeznp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights for a business trip. Very friendly staff. I had a slight isue upon arrival regarding my bed linen and it was quickly attended to. The breakfast each morning was great! I enjoyed their in room coffee which I am usually not a fan of. A very cozy hotel with cookies offered in the evening. Will return there when back in Tallahassee.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This was just a quick stopover in Tallahassee, and the Hampton Inn provided just what we were looking for. Somewhere clean and comfortable to spend the night.

While checking in, we were offered some supper, but declined and was pointed in the direction of local restaurants (TGI Fridays is just across the road). The room was spotless and nicely appointed.

We did have breakfast in the morning, and it was interesting to see the rapport the staff in the breakfast area had with obviously return guests, they were treated like family! Nice.

Even though all the Hampton Inn's look alike, I'm sure they can only aspire to have the kind of staff this one has.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitros_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Great place to stay that is outside of metro Tallahassee, but still has accomidations and restaurants nearby. Clean, good service. Stayed here while travleing for business. Had to go into Tallahassee early the next morning. I was at my appointment in no time. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourInTheFamily70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed here in October for 2 nights while attending the FSU Parent Weekend event.

Upon walking into the lobby, I saw a clean, new feeling and comfortable area that was decorated nicely. The front desk personnel were very friendly and in a few moments we were in our room.

I have to stress that Hampton Suites are nice rooms. This one felt wonderful. The color schemes were relaxing, the bathroom was recently renovated and had nice new fixtures. The air conditioning unit was soooo quiet and was placed such that it cooled the room but did NOT blow on you at night, as so many other properties do. The room was large and had a mini kitchen space in the entry, with sink, microwave, and small fridge. The bed was very comfortable and the soundproofing excellent.

Our housekeeping service was just fine, and had no issues.

One item that added to the decor of the property; Just in back of the property was a patio area that had a Gas Fireplace. It just looked and felt cozy.

Now I have stayed at the Staybridge Suite (Rated # 1 in Tallahassee) and the Hampton I-10 (Rated # 2) and given the quality and proximity of the Hampton to FSU would dearly love to stay here every visit.

The differentiating reality between both properties is the points stay structure Hilton has decided upon, back in the past when they increased their hotel points needed to a minimum of 30,000 points a night. Recently, Hilton began a program of denying their top tier of frequent guest HHONORS members the ability to upgrade a room if available when using points for stays. And also, I noticed that the hotels now have the ability to drive up the minimum points requirements for a stay BY ROOM TYPE or in the event of a forecast large demand in the area, such as a college football game, charge an INSANE amount of points per night. Such was the observation when the Doubletree Tallahassee was asking 165,000 points per night for a standard Queen non-smoking. The latest Hilton game was to assign certain numbers of room available to "points stays" regardless of overall room availability.

Thankfully, Intercontinental Hotel Groups Priority Club program has seen fit to keep points stays affordable, generally give out more points per stay, dictate that any room available could be used for points stays if available, not ramp up the point requirement based on area demand, allow top tier frequent stay guests in the Priority Club the ability to be upgraded on point stays to a better room, and offer options consistently to combine points and dollars.

This background information drives me to ratify the Hampton Inn's # 2 spot in Tallahassee, given they are saddled with Hilton's HHONORS point profiteering scheme and leave the Staybridge with the #1 spot. If the Frequent Points program perks and treatment were equal for Hilton compared to the Priority Club, I'd without a doubt name the Hampton Inn & Suites I-10 in Tallahassee # 1.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitedNewPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This was first Hampton we stayed in and we were impressed. Excellent breakfast choices, clean, friendly, helpful. Not a great deal in area but this was overnight stop so had everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannahgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee
#10 of 58 in Tallahassee
557 reviews
5.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Tallahassee Central
4.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
5.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10 - Thomasville Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10 - Thomasville Rd

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10 - Thomasville Rd
Address: 3388 Lonnbladh Rd, Tallahassee, FL 32308-4626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tallahassee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
#11 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
#12 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10 - Thomasville Rd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10/Thomasville Rd is located on the east side of Tallahassee approximately 7 miles from Florida State University and 5 miles from Florida State Capitol building. We feature 122 rooms, 37 are studio suites including microwaves and refrigerators, outdoor pool, fitness center, business center. Amenities include our complimentary "Make It Hampton" hot breakfast, free high-speed internet, free local calls, free parking, in room coffee makers, cribs, hairdryers, irons & ironing boards, meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10 - Thomasville Rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee i-10 / Thomasville Rd Hotel Tallahassee
Hampton Inn And Suites Tallahassee i-10 / Thomasville Rd
Hampton Inn Tallahassee
Tallahassee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing