We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in town!”
Review of Kool Beanz Cafe

Kool Beanz Cafe
Ranked #1 of 801 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best food in town!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Atmosphere is fun and casual. Convenient mid-town location. Food was scrumptious. Try the grits and fried oysters. It is an appetizer, but generous enough portion to make a meal of if you are not a big eater. Very interesting and eclectic menu. They had Sophia Rose from the Cupola Vineyard, a hard wine to find. Deserts looked yummy but after a shared appetizer and dinner there wasn't room left to try them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    221
    66
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“great restaurant with nice prices”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a great restaurant I went with my family. Their food are awesome!!! The prices for the food are reasonable; not too expensive for quality food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABigTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Rated #1 in Tripadvisor so had to check it out. Crispy Pork Belly, collards and pigeon peas hit the spot. Would definitely return....

Lots of menu choices. Looking forward to trying more

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Predictably good food”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A friend and I went to dinner on a Monday night in early May. Boy , this place is busy. Most patrons looked like recent grads or law school buddies relieved at the end of the semester. Some had apparently their parents in tow--probably to pay. In any event, my dinner partner and I had great meals.

This place is a little noisy inside. And when you sit inside, you leave smelling like the kitchen. So if the weather is decent , be sure and eat OUTSIDE. Not the fanciest of surroundings. But the food is predictably above average.

My only complaint is that I wish they would use LESS SALT. I feel like I have been spooning salt when I leave this place. They are clearly in love with it and think it brings out flavors. Maybe but they use too much.

For appetizers, we had lamb patties of some sort. Probably average. Although my buddy liked them.
I ordered the flank steak and it came with onion rings and mashed potatoes. They might splurge and put a few green vegetables somewhere. Still, all three were excellent.

My dinner buddy ordered sword fish and enjoyed his meal.

All in all, if you want a predictably good meal in a fun and festive (and loud on the inside) environment, you probably cannot go wrong with Kool Beanz. It is a little expensive for what you get. But then again, at least it is predictably good. And they change the menu regularly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maninthemoon850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
758 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“I was in town 24 hours and ate here for dinner AND the following day for lunch.”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I travel all over the Southeast and easily one of the best meals I have ever had in the Tallahassee area. If you enjoy Farm to Fork style eateries, this is the place you don't want to miss. Menu changes daily, so new printed menu's are shared on a clipboard.

Kool Beanz was so good, I ate dinner on Monday night and brought a business partner for lunch on Tuesday. Enjoyed both meals. The flavor combinations I could never imagine, but they create an excellent flavor profile and having you digging into your meal and cleaning the plate.

Love the local artists that decorate the walls. No reservations, and go early to score a spot on the outdoor patio. (much quieter than the inside dining)

Parking is limited in their lot and very little street parking in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kool Beanz Cafe also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Kool Beanz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing