We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Corral

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Corral
Ranked #499 of 796 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food here is average but there is certainly alot of it. I always feel as if I can't possibly eat enough to justify the amount we spend on it. I do like the salad bar. There is an enormous variety and it all looks and tastes fresh. For that, we will go back when we are truly hungry and don't want to think about what we want to eat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Go For The Prime Rib!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Today, I drove 30 miles, to this Golden Corral, for the special, weekend, and higher-priced, prime rib buffet. I was completely shocked, at the disgusting prime rib, that I was served. I always expect prime rib to have some fat, on it, but this prime rib was 90% fat! Even after I cut the little, edible part off, the fat remainder still covered my whole plate! I wasted my money, time and gas, but I will never do that again. There are too many other decent restaurants around. While eating, I saw the same half dozen kids playing, with the chocolate fountain, for the whole time, that I was there. Adult customers had difficulty getting anywhere near the fountain. Numerous servers kept passing the fountain, but said nothing, to the kids, at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not even up to average! Not much good to say about this place.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family and I stopped in here to Golden Corral and while we didn't expect to be "wowed" we did expect to be able to have decent food and a decent atmosphere. We expected the place to be way crowed as the line was doubled to be served. Many times that a good sign so I didn't let that bother me. As we got up to the register, paid and entered I realized that it wasn't that they were busy, - they were just exceptionally slow! We picked a table and began to get our food. The cooking staff was very loud, yelling questions to one another about the foods, and what was there, much was either over cooked, ( my son at the top half of three pieces of meatloaf because from the middle down it was too dried and hard to eat), or it was just about tasteless. At one point I pointed out to a staff member that a young child had taken some of the wooden rods made for the chocolate fountain, played with them stabbing them into their food on their plate, only to PUT THEM BACK IN WITH THE GOOD ONES! I know kids do things, (especially when they are unsupervised) but the restaurant staff staff did nothing. That bothered me and spoke of their commitment to cleanliness, if that's what they do when someone is looking and points it out, what do they do if someone drops something on the floor in the kitchen or something? Too gross to consider. Unless you have a strong stomach, eat somewhere else!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“This place puts "Mess" in mess hall”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

One would think that patronizing a buffet-style restaurant during lunch would include a well-stocked buffet, but apparently Golden Corral did not get the memo.
Many of the buffet items were empty, including the mains, or if there was food, it looked as if it had been sitting there for a couple of hours. The puzzling thing was I do not recall ever seeing any staff members attempting to refill any of the food trays. When I did manage to grab the attention of one of the "chefs" to ask him for some rotissiere chicken, he looked at me as if I was bothering him.
There was food all over the floor and the overall appearance of the place was terrible, so bad so that I dared did not venture into the rest room.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“Food Above Avg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place really suprised me,its very good.As far as service goes its a ''all you can eat buffet.'' Who cares about the service. You go and get your food and sit down at a clean table.What more do you need? THE FOOD IS BETTER THAN YOUR AVERAGE RESTAURANT! THE ''ALL YOU CAN IT STEAK'' IS TENDER AND THICK CUT.THE VEGGIES ARE FRESH AND NOT OVER COOKED.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing