We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ist Experience will bring me back...I'm hooked!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo's Island Grill & Bar

Cabo's Island Grill & Bar
Ranked #8 of 796 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: CLOSED MONDAYS... SUNDAYS WE SERVE BRUNCH FROM 9 AM. TO 2 PM DINNER AT 4 PM 9:30PM . Check out our newly added Patio!! We have been here for 29 years. If you are expecting a flashy new restaurant with all new furniture and bathrooms the size of living rooms we may not be your spot. But if good, fresh, reasonably priced food is what you are after we may just be it!. The center has been here a lot longer, being built about 1960. We are locally owned and one of the few, if not the only restaurant, in town & maybe anywhere, that provides health care for our employees. We have a diversified menu, offering vegetarian dishes, Our own idea of Mexican Food (No Lard in our beans) when possible, locally caught fish and shrimp, sandwiches, salads & upscale dinner specials at down home prices. We run our 200+ seat operation with one household double door freezer. We have the best margaritas (try our Shipwreck...) hand cut fries (voted #1 by the viewers of WCTV) and some say the best Burger for the buck in Tallahassee. We would like to mention that we have gluten free tortillas, and if wine is your thing, Bring in what you really would like to have and for nominal $6 bucks we will cork it. Please be aware that we get busy and when we do, it can get loud. If for any reason you aren't happy with either the service or the food please tell us. We are human, we make mistakes, and occasionally it happens. Thanks for taking the time to read this & thanks for supporting locally owned establishments. Mike Ferrara & Bobby Staerker.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ist Experience will bring me back...I'm hooked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had my first experience at Cabo's on Friday night....8/24/12. Everything was perfect from the minute my husband and I walked through the door: The ambience, the hostess, the bar....it was all good. We put on names on the wait list, sat at the bar drinking excellent margharita's, and were escorted to our table in a timely manner. The wait staff was quick and pleasant, the food was beyond excellent, and one of the owners, Mike, came over and chatted with us, making sure that we were well taken care of. We now have a new place to go for those night outs we need. I would highly recommend Cabo's to everyone!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    114
    29
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Local good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fun place with reliable food, great service and easily over-looked -- but don't. Finding it may be a chore for some since it's tucked away on the side of a shoping center but it's a favorite spot for locals. Great fish tacos, wraps and salads. Inexpensive and worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thestogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cabos Island Grill and Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wow is all I can say about Cabo's crab cakes they are the best. Thanks for helping with the Children's Home Society when we were there we were all running to your booth before the crab cakes ran out they are just yummy. Whenever we have family and friends from out of town we always take them to Cabo's never a dissappointment just excellent food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balagan1951, Owner at Cabo's Island Grill & Bar, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words and your recognition of our participation raising money for the annual Children’s Home Society’s, “Chef’s Sampler.” Last year we were proud to be recognized by the Society for being only one of two restaurants of the 500 in Tallahassee that have supported the event since its inception more than 2 decades ago. We have featured our Crab Cakes in all of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Island Food is Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great atmosphere, service, and food. They have a bar section if you need to just have a place to drink with friends. The tacos are my favorite.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Tried Cabo's for the 5th time and it didn't disapoint. Great service, excellent food and wonderful atmosphere and people. For a solid value served by people who care about their customers this is the place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janko-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabo's Island Grill & Bar also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Cabo's Island Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing