We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Tallahassee treasure”

Goodwood Museum and Gardens
Ranked #11 of 83 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
174 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“True Tallahassee treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful house and garden. The museum is a restored historical gem. The museum has the main house plus other buildings including the stables, which has been turned into a great meeting facility. Make sure to take a tour to hear about the history of Goodwood and its past owners. You learn about Tallahassee by seeing this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TallyHoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    36
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A taste of the Old South”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Well worth a side trip of a couple of hours. This is one of those places where we take out of town guests. My only disappointment, which was on the initial visit, was that the docent kept talking about "free labor" (e.g. slavery). Well, it may have been free to the owner, but not so free to the slave. As a historian, I wanted to correct her several times. But that's coming from a Yankee transplanted for the last 40 years to Tallahassee. I respect, within reason, the cultural difference.

Regardless, as a historian, a local and a member of Goodwood, I recommend this as a worthwhile outing and visit.

P.S. Every month a group of us guys has lunch at Fanny's, an on site restaurant, which is terrific.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterButzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hidden oasis of historic splendor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Goodwood Museum is an artfully preserved and presented plantation from the early 1800's. Spanning approximately 16 acres, visitors can wander the lovely gardens and grounds or explore the main house and a variety of outbuildings - all with period furnishings and decor. Located a stone's throw from the center of the city, a visit to Goodwood is literally like stepping from the urban bustle of the present to the charming tranquility of Florida's 19th century.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MysteriousIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
312 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Quite a Story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Goodwood is a nice place to spend some time. The main house is still a work in progress. It is owned by a private foundation with few resources, but they are doing a great job. The house is filled with original furnishings, but the highlight is actually just the story of its history. There are multiple buildings but they have been converted to other uses and can only be seen on the outside, unless you crash one of the many events that are constantly happening. We happened across a baby shower. There is a cafe on site, though we did not eat there. The grounds are okay, nothing spectacular. More signage would help.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank grrprr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a beautiful plantation home to visit. Lovely, magnificent spanish oak trees dripping with moss everywhere. Beautiful buildings and markers that describe what the building was used for like the girls cottage, the bird house, water tower, main house and lots more. I didnt go on the guided tour as is was closed but i will do it in the near future. I had a nice time walking around looking at the splendor of the plantation....just me and my dog.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosbergs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodwood Museum and Gardens also viewed

 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Goodwood Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing