We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lunch buffet that is fresh and tasty”
Review of Samrat Restaurant

Samrat Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 804 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Indisches Restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Indisches Restaurant
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lunch buffet that is fresh and tasty”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went here for lunch and the food was fresh and filling. The buffet has about 10 traditional Indian dishes to choose from (or mix). All the extras are also available to chow down with as well. The price is fair and you can have multiple returns to the buffet. They even sport a small salad bar as well, as a rice pudding and a soup choice
The food is good and a lot of folks to turn the food over. I would recommend this for a lunch choice

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
358 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO EAT IN TALLAHASSEE”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

this restaurant should have a higher Tripadvisor ranking, but it is small and unassuming, so overlooked. easy access off of Apalachee Pkwy. and next door to Springhill Suites (good place to stay).
no alcohol served.
from an extensive menu i choose goat curry (medium spiced), roti and raita. curry comes with basmati rice.
the curry was good, not as spicy/piquant as i would have liked so probably i should have ordered the spicier choice. the raita was quite liqufied with a couple cubes of potato, carrot grating, spices and green onion. it is sometimes made thicker, but it was very tasty spooned over the rice or with dipping the roti. overall, a good meal.
service was a little slow, but this is a small family affair and the place was quite busy.
prices are very reasonable, and portions are plentiful (i saw a lot of boxes being taken home, and i could not finish roti or rice). my bill with 20% tip was less than $25.
i would definitely go there again! happy trails.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r1manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the best Indian restauarant I've ever been to. Puts the ones in Jax and Orlando to shame. I love the lunch buffets - they always have tandoori chicken and it is always superb - no idea how that make it so well in that little hole in the wall. Also, the chicken tikka massala is to die for as is their curryed chicken and curried lamb dishes. I drive 200 miles round trip once a month (at least) just to eat there. If you're in Tally and you don't eat here, you wasted a trip. Also the folks that run the place are so nice that you'll feel like a friend at soon as you walk in the door.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank my37122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Don't let the outside fool you, this place is amazing. Whether you want goat, lamb, beef, or chicken it is good. I've been here a couple of times and I have never regretted it. I love the Lamb Tikka Massala, with Nan. One of the best places I have ever gone (Been around the UK and Scotland, and I've found maybe 1 place that beat it). Great prices to boot. Don't miss out! I also urge anyone who has never tried Indian food, to start here and find out what all the fuss is about. It's worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love the unpretentious feel”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice, homey place. Food is great and it tastes very authentic. We eat here about 3 times a month and have tasted a lot of different dishes. So far all of them have been great. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samrat Restaurant also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Samrat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing