We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gardens are more of an event venue...”

Alfred B. Maclay Gardens State Park
Ranked #7 of 85 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The gardens are more of an event venue...”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

There are collections of flowering shrubs that may be beautiful, but in late June there was little blooming except liriope. The garden consists of a very handsome path made from historic bricks. The Woodland Path was closed due to an unsafe tree. The lakeside pavilion is picturesque. There is a grouping of cycads and other tropicals further on, that would be attractive for wedding photos. The Maclay House is interesting from the outside. Although the sign said it was open daily 9-5, it was close at 3 pm. The formal gardens are poorly executed and lack distinction in design or horticultural materials. This may be an excellent venue for events, but today there was very little of horticultural interest.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vlbvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    92
    19
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Out-of-town garden enthusiast gives thumbs up”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We live close to Alfred B. Maclay Gardens and often picnic at the lake. So when our friend Sherry came to visit from North Carolina, we decided to take her there. We knew that she loved to see formal and historic gardens, so our local jewel was a must see. The weather cooperated with cool and sunny weather with light breezes. A very helpful docent at the ticket office gave us tips about what was in bloom this late in the season. We wandered along the paths beside the lake and toured the house. Again we were impressed with the helpfulness of the volunteers and staff. We asked the name of an interesting house plant, the ranger disappeared and returned with the information. Although it was past prime bloom season, the gardens and pools were beautiful, and we spent a wonderful morning.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Soothing walks with water views”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a lovely small park with many different landscaping features. The walks go by the water and give a broad view of sea and sky. There are also highly manicured lawns and gardens with seating and ponds.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripree
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Camellias and Azaleas if you're lucky”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Not to be missed on any visit to Tallahassee during the late winter/early spring months. A true local treasure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

beautiful grounds with many trails to walk .. visit to the house was informative. The gardens are stunning to look at

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfred B. Maclay Gardens State Park also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Alfred B. Maclay Gardens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing