We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to see in January”

Alfred B. Maclay Gardens State Park
Ranked #8 of 85 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, IL
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Not much to see in January”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

To visit the garden at the state park you pay $6/person. It was very nice, but in January, six bucks to see some Spanish moss hanging from live oaks and a few recently planted pansies is not my idea of a bargain. The landscaping is beautiful, but on our visit a lot of repairs were being done. We visited the Maclay house and found out about the history from a volunteer there. Mrs. Maclay had changed the bedrooms into a small museum, and some would probably find that interesting. I would bet that this garden is absolutely beautiful in the spring or summer, but I wouldn't suggest going in January.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuckospringpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    92
    19
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

It is pricey to enter the park, but the garens were as beautiful as many have described here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATravelMom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice park, lots of activities available plus the gardens.”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Gardens probably would be more enjoyed later in the spring, only camilias were blooming when I visited. I hiked one of the trails and viewed the lake which would probably be fantastic in the summer. Very nice park.

Helpful?
Thank Jane263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Maclay gardens is a relaxing place to walk, for about an hour or so. Beautiful flowers, trees any time of year.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Custardnraisins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Boring !”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

It would be nice if the flora had identifying tags with reasonable information etc. The museum house should also have enthusiastic help from the keepers .

Helpful?
1 Thank donschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfred B. Maclay Gardens State Park also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Alfred B. Maclay Gardens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing