We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while taking our daughter up to FSU. All hotels were booked solid as it was move-in weekend for all Tallahassee schools. The only positive this hotel had was the staff, very friendly and helpful. The outside of the hotel was OK, clean. The rooms were big but had bugs, the towels were dirty. When I went back to the reception to ask for CLEAN towels' they had none. We went out to Target and bought some. Called other hotels and needless to say, we left the next day.. Never again, at $50.00 a night it was NO bargain.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Rooms, dirty towels
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    15
    8
    30
See reviews for
22
22
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2005

Many reading will say how can a Motel 6 in a hick town like Tallahassee, Florida garner such a high rating from any reviewer? The answer is easy: price, people, cleanliness, and location.

The Motel 6 Downtown Tallahassee is several blocks down Apalachee Parkway from the Capitol (1 mile away). This location makes it easy to reach any part of the Capitol Circle area within minutes. You can be in Crawfordville or on I-10 in about 10 minutes. Very impressive considering the hotel is near Downtown. FSU (2 mi.), FAMU (1.8 mi.), and Tallahassee Community College are all within 5 minutes or so. Parking is easy, plentiful and the hotel is bounded in front by the Appalachee Pkwy. Frontage Road and in the rear by Lafayette St. Tallahassee Regional Airport is 6.3 miles away according to the Motel 6 site.

Our stay was for 2 nights and each night was booked online via Motel6.com and we were able to get the Click6 deal which gave us a total of $39.59 per night + tax. That was a total of $79.18 for 2 nights, that is about the same price for one night at less worthy accomodations in Tallahassee.

This Motel 6 was built in 1969 according to tax records. However it has been renovated several times I am sure and the last job has held up reasonably well. The room was the typical Motel 6 layout. This room featured 2 Queen beds which provided two good nights of sleep. The room's air conditioning worked well as did all the lights and the telephone.

The room was clean, smelled fresh, looked fresh, but we only had 1 bar of soap and no towels. A quick trip to the front desk solved that. They gave us 4 bars of soap, 4 sets of towels complete with washcloths and floor towel, 2 additional pillows, and an apology. We happily thanked them and went about our day in Tallahassee. The Front Desk staff is mainly local college students and we saw the same two on different shifts during our 2 night stay. On the morning of our checkout, the Manager worked the Front Desk. The Manager lives on property and the lobby has coffee from 7-10 AM.

The television was the basic Motel 6 Philips 19" Color TV with HBO, ESPN, CBS, FOX, NBC, ABC, ESPN2, The Weather Channel, TNT, TBS, USA, and CNN Headline News to name a few channels. The room features no alarm clock/radio, but the extra channels on the TV were welcomed compared to La Quinta and other chains. (No LodgeNet!) This Motel 6 appeared to use Dish Network. The TV had no AV inputs, but the Coax Cable port was available if you unplugged the TV from the cable outlet.

The data port is really a normal phone outlet above the desk area, but it did not work. We instead used the phone's cord (they provide a cord long enough to cross the room) and we dialed up to Earthlink. You must dial 9 and then the area code (850) before being able to make the call. I like the Motel 6 philosophy on phone calls....all local, 1-800, and calling card-long distance calls are free. You can buy a phone card at the front desk if you need to make a long-distance call. The Motel cannot charge the call to your room!

We asked for a non-smoking room and got a non-smoking room. They even asked us which floor we wished for. My advice is to arrive early, we got in around 6PM and the place filled up around 9-10 PM. The hotel has truck parking, welcomes pets (and cleans up in the room, but the evidence is left in the mulch and bushes in front of your door), and has a very nice and clean pool. I was really impressed with this Motel 6 and it has become the default place to stay for us in Tallahassee. Compared to the La Quinta Inn South Tallahassee (a bad apple in the very good La Quinta barrel), this hotel was a great experience. I recommend it to any traveler and I would likely look into staying at other Motel 6 locations because of this location.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CapeFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2005

The downtown Tallahassee Motel 6 has the friendliest staff in a very friendly town. Ask them any questions about Tallahassee or nearby areas and they will be glad to go into great detail. If they don't know, they find out.

Extras for the rooms? Whatever they can do, they do quickly and with a smile.

I'm ready to visit Tallahassee again in part because of Motel 6's comfort and great service.

Sincerely,
Cary Ader
Kissimmee, FL

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2005

Let me tell you I was hard pressed to find a room in Tallahassee week of February 1, 2005. I settled on this hotel since it was close to the Capital and all the others were sold out. I paid $36.00 and got a huge room with a King-Size Bed. No frills only soap. Bring shampoo and a hair dryer but for the money this is the nicest Motel six I have ever been in. E-mail me if you have questions

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zymurgy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
#44 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
#18 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown
Address: 1027 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-4539
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Tallahassee
Motel Six Tallahassee
Tallahassee Motel 6
Tallahassee Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing