We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting especially for Floridians”

Florida Historic Capitol Museum
Ranked #9 of 66 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Florida Historic Capitol Museum serves to illuminate the past, present, and future connection between the people of Florida and their political institutions through programs of civic education, historic interpretation, and preservation.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The photos of past governors and their offices The buildings and the architecture were fascinating and the grounds were well kept

Thank Visitor0r0 O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thanks for your post!

Yes, the portraits of Florida governors is a great display of our state's history. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our exhibits and hope to see you again soon, as we add more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"supreme court"
in 17 reviews
"political history"
in 10 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 15 reviews
"governor's office"
in 10 reviews
"senate chambers"
in 5 reviews
"stained glass dome"
in 3 reviews
"past governors"
in 3 reviews
"presidential election"
in 3 reviews
"state government"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 6 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 7 reviews
"donation box"
in 3 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 3 reviews
"lots of history"
in 6 reviews
"learning experience"
in 3 reviews
"palm trees"
in 3 reviews
Filter

249 - 253 of 325 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

I liked that there was no fee to explore this building and take pictures. They still keep the old court room setting from back in the days and you are able to learn the history of Tallahassee the presidents and the Tallahassee University

1  Thank gflorida33186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Appreciate the response!

Indeed, admission is free to our Museum. We have wonderful support from our Members and Funders. Those who also check-in at the front desk with us are also helping the Museum by proving its value as a venue that serves to preserve history and promote civic education.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

everthing intact from history -- supreme court, senate chambers and house chambers. nicely done.pictures of Fl. politicos and well-written history.

Thank Mack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thanks for your feedback, Mack H!

We try to maintain our exhibits in the best shape possible. Glad you enjoy them! We're always renovating and improving. In facts, we're replacing the flooring this summer with the same type of linoleum from 1902!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Old Capital Building was almost destroyed. Fortunately a group of activists were successful in their efforts to preserve the historic building. It is hard to imagine driving into Tallahassee from the east and not seeing that building. Inside, the old senate and house chambers have been restored. This is a physical reminder of the good and the bad about Florida -- and we should never forget either.

1  Thank Steve416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thanks for your comment!

Yes, we feel that our building is an iconic landmark to Florida, which is why it is not the a historic museum! It's important to preserve the state's history so that we can help build a better future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a terrific museum that does a really nice job of transporting the visitor to Florida's beginnings with the Indians and taking one to today with displays of the Tampa Cigar industry, citrus and fishing. There is also the skeleton of a giant Mastodon here. Parking in the garage is free when you get a token at the museum...a $5.00 savings. The museum is free with a donation.

2  Thank Radiohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Historic Capitol Museum also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Florida Historic Capitol Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing