We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Florida Historic Capitol Museum
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent museum about Florida’s history and government and it’s free

The museum is located in the original capitol building which was the centre of Florida’s government... read more

Reviewed October 18, 2018
stonellas
,
Wanaka, New Zealand
The exhibits pull you in!

The exhibits pull you in! Walking up to the House and Senate chambers of yesteryear is a solemn yet... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
M8275RLemma
Read all 326 reviews
  
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
196
101
23
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
101
23
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews supreme court political history self guided tour governor's office past governors state government legislative chambers scavenger hunt for kids donation box a small gift shop interesting facts lots of history learning experience new building old house free admission short film
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 326 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Head for the visitor center at the Old Capitol Building and meet the docents who will send your child on a hunt around the museum for various displays within the exhibits. The kids won't know it but along the way they will absorb a little history. You will see the original Florida Senate and House of Representatives and after the kids finish their trek and turn in their worksheet they will receive stickers for their efforts. Next you can head to the new Capitol building, walking distance away. Don't forget to visit the top floor of the high rise Capitol for a panoramic view of the City and FSU campus. If you're hungry grab a bite to eat at the Capitol Cafeteria.

1  Thank 2flyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We're so happy you were able to visit us with your kids and experience Florida history in our building! It's great to hear feedback about our programs such as the scavenger hunt and we hope you're able to return to see the initiatives we add in the future. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a great place to start your stay in Tallahassee because besides the museum they have a lot of the resources you need to help you plan out the rest of your stay.
Great look into the start of FL, its government, and people. Interesting tidbits about the first capitol and the backbone of FL politics.
Restored FL Supreme Court Chamber, House, and Senate Chambers are very interesting.
Plan to spend some time - lots to read.
Some sections are skipable - you'll want to spend more time elsewhere.
Helpful and informative staff too.

1  Thank OrmondBeachFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Appreciate the review!

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your museum visit. Our building is an icon of Tallahassee so we think it's a great way to start your Tallahassee trip, too! We indeed will suggest or answer any questions to help you plan the rest of your visit Florida's capital :) Thanks for stopping in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The museum that is located in the Old Capital building is superb. It has well organized and interesting exhibits about the history of Florida and its government. Although I was very impressed, my kids did not share my enthusiasm. But how many kids are impressed with museums?

It is definitely worth a stop if you are in Tallahassee. If you like it as much as I did, you can explore it for a few hours. If you don't find it to be interesting, you can be in and out in a few minutes. Admission is free, so you're not risking any money.

If the new (built in the 1970s) Capital building is open, cross the courtyard and go to the 22nd floor. The view is quite nice.

1  Thank GlobetrotterMikeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thanks for the review, Mike!

We're so happy you had time to stop by and visit us. We have plenty of activities for the kids and hope to expand upon them. Many of our planned events are geared for the little ones - perhaps the next time you visit Tallahassee, you can give us a call or visit our webpage to see if we have one for your family!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The people of Tallahasse were absolutely right the keep this building and make it a museum giving the visitor a good idea what a capitol was like in the late 19th early 20th century.
Apart from historic perspective we enjoyed the friendliness of the people showing us around and explaning what was going on in the early days of the state of Florida. Absolutely worth a visit

1  Thank mountainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We're delighted to hear that you had a pleasurable experience at our museum! We appreciate the kind words and hope you visit again if you get the chance. The preservation of our historic building is only possible through support like yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I just loved the museum. One of the best that I ever visited. The building is beautiful and the guided tour just great. I had the unique pleasure of a special visit to the museum.
Anyone who likes to learn more about Florida and loves culture must visit it!

1  Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for the feedback, Ana!

We're so happy that you had a great visit with us. We're extremely proud of our exhibits and stunning building. If you ever are back in Tallahassee, it'd be our pleasure to show you around again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews