We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very interesting place”

Florida Historic Capitol Museum
Ranked #6 of 84 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Florida Historic Capitol Museum serves to illuminate the past, present, and future connection between the people of Florida and their political institutions through programs of civic education, historic interpretation, and preservation.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you like history this a must see..... This is florida as it was ....... I enjoyed the pictures and knowing the stare was born here.....

1  Thank Lary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thanks for visiting, Lary! We're glad you were able to find historical insight with us and discover Florida. Please come back again as we plan new exhibits and events!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 213 of 275 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Head for the visitor center at the Old Capitol Building and meet the docents who will send your child on a hunt around the museum for various displays within the exhibits. The kids won't know it but along the way they will absorb a little history. You will see the original Florida Senate and House of Representatives and after the kids finish their trek and turn in their worksheet they will receive stickers for their efforts. Next you can head to the new Capitol building, walking distance away. Don't forget to visit the top floor of the high rise Capitol for a panoramic view of the City and FSU campus. If you're hungry grab a bite to eat at the Capitol Cafeteria.

1  Thank 2flyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We're so happy you were able to visit us with your kids and experience Florida history in our building! It's great to hear feedback about our programs such as the scavenger hunt and we hope you're able to return to see the initiatives we add in the future. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a great place to start your stay in Tallahassee because besides the museum they have a lot of the resources you need to help you plan out the rest of your stay.
Great look into the start of FL, its government, and people. Interesting tidbits about the first capitol and the backbone of FL politics.
Restored FL Supreme Court Chamber, House, and Senate Chambers are very interesting.
Plan to spend some time - lots to read.
Some sections are skipable - you'll want to spend more time elsewhere.
Helpful and informative staff too.

1  Thank OrmondBeachFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Appreciate the review!

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your museum visit. Our building is an icon of Tallahassee so we think it's a great way to start your Tallahassee trip, too! We indeed will suggest or answer any questions to help you plan the rest of your visit Florida's capital :) Thanks for stopping in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The museum that is located in the Old Capital building is superb. It has well organized and interesting exhibits about the history of Florida and its government. Although I was very impressed, my kids did not share my enthusiasm. But how many kids are impressed with museums?

It is definitely worth a stop if you are in Tallahassee. If you like it as much as I did, you can explore it for a few hours. If you don't find it to be interesting, you can be in and out in a few minutes. Admission is free, so you're not risking any money.

If the new (built in the 1970s) Capital building is open, cross the courtyard and go to the 22nd floor. The view is quite nice.

1  Thank GlobetrotterMikeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thanks for the review, Mike!

We're so happy you had time to stop by and visit us. We have plenty of activities for the kids and hope to expand upon them. Many of our planned events are geared for the little ones - perhaps the next time you visit Tallahassee, you can give us a call or visit our webpage to see if we have one for your family!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The people of Tallahasse were absolutely right the keep this building and make it a museum giving the visitor a good idea what a capitol was like in the late 19th early 20th century.
Apart from historic perspective we enjoyed the friendliness of the people showing us around and explaning what was going on in the early days of the state of Florida. Absolutely worth a visit

1  Thank mountainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We're delighted to hear that you had a pleasurable experience at our museum! We appreciate the kind words and hope you visit again if you get the chance. The preservation of our historic building is only possible through support like yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Historic Capitol Museum also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Florida Historic Capitol Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing