We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic building”

Florida Historic Capitol Museum
Ranked #9 of 92 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Florida Historic Capitol Museum serves to illuminate the past, present, and future connection between the people of Florida and their political institutions through programs of civic education, historic interpretation, and preservation.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The people of Tallahasse were absolutely right the keep this building and make it a museum giving the visitor a good idea what a capitol was like in the late 19th early 20th century.
Apart from historic perspective we enjoyed the friendliness of the people showing us around and explaning what was going on in the early days of the state of Florida. Absolutely worth a visit

1  Thank mountainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We're delighted to hear that you had a pleasurable experience at our museum! We appreciate the kind words and hope you visit again if you get the chance. The preservation of our historic building is only possible through support like yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"supreme court"
in 17 reviews
"political history"
in 10 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 15 reviews
"governor's office"
in 10 reviews
"senate chambers"
in 5 reviews
"stained glass dome"
in 3 reviews
"past governors"
in 3 reviews
"presidential election"
in 3 reviews
"state government"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 6 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 7 reviews
"donation box"
in 3 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 3 reviews
"lots of history"
in 6 reviews
"learning experience"
in 3 reviews
"palm trees"
in 3 reviews
Filter

254 - 258 of 321 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

I just loved the museum. One of the best that I ever visited. The building is beautiful and the guided tour just great. I had the unique pleasure of a special visit to the museum.
Anyone who likes to learn more about Florida and loves culture must visit it!

1  Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for the feedback, Ana!

We're so happy that you had a great visit with us. We're extremely proud of our exhibits and stunning building. If you ever are back in Tallahassee, it'd be our pleasure to show you around again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the "old" capitol of Florida, which was supposed to be torn down when the new one was built in the 70's. Thankfully, this was preserved it in its 1902 configuration and is an active museum of Florida history, with a strong nod to political history. The old supreme court chamber is there, set up like it used to be. There are different exhibits from time to time which are very interesting. The staff is very professional and nice. Best of all, it is free.

1  Thank steakman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks for visiting! We appreciate your review and are happy to hear that you find significance in the building's preservation as important as we do. Indeed, our exhibits will be changing out so we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a fine example of restoration with a purpose. The building is beautiful and the attention to detail was shown in the restoration. They have an interactive option for the House side of the building.

1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for visiting, Phil!

We've spent a lot of our time and effort into restoring the building to its 1902 version and we're so happy that you enjoyed your experience here! We're always working to make it better and to bring exhibits that help preserve its history. We'd love for you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Old Capitol building has been beautifully restored. The short film provides a brief overview of the state's history. The various rooms and displays provide succinct insights to the various arms of the government, building's history, economic development and other interesting aspects of Florida history. Interesting highlights and human interest tidbits are woven into the displays. We are not 'museum' people but spent almost two hours touring the building. Very well done!

1  Thank 523SM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hi Sarah,

We appreciate your review and value your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a positive experience and enjoyed the different exhibits we offer. It's a pleasure to have you tour our building for a couple of hours - please come back when you can! We're always adding exhibits and hosting events! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Historic Capitol Museum also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Florida Historic Capitol Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing