We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day to remember”

Florida Historic Capitol Museum
Ranked #9 of 92 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Florida Historic Capitol Museum serves to illuminate the past, present, and future connection between the people of Florida and their political institutions through programs of civic education, historic interpretation, and preservation.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I just loved the museum. One of the best that I ever visited. The building is beautiful and the guided tour just great. I had the unique pleasure of a special visit to the museum.
Anyone who likes to learn more about Florida and loves culture must visit it!

1  Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for the feedback, Ana!

We're so happy that you had a great visit with us. We're extremely proud of our exhibits and stunning building. If you ever are back in Tallahassee, it'd be our pleasure to show you around again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"supreme court"
in 17 reviews
"political history"
in 10 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 15 reviews
"governor's office"
in 10 reviews
"senate chambers"
in 5 reviews
"stained glass dome"
in 3 reviews
"past governors"
in 3 reviews
"presidential election"
in 3 reviews
"state government"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 6 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 7 reviews
"donation box"
in 3 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 3 reviews
"lots of history"
in 6 reviews
"learning experience"
in 3 reviews
"palm trees"
in 3 reviews
Filter

255 - 259 of 321 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the "old" capitol of Florida, which was supposed to be torn down when the new one was built in the 70's. Thankfully, this was preserved it in its 1902 configuration and is an active museum of Florida history, with a strong nod to political history. The old supreme court chamber is there, set up like it used to be. There are different exhibits from time to time which are very interesting. The staff is very professional and nice. Best of all, it is free.

1  Thank steakman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks for visiting! We appreciate your review and are happy to hear that you find significance in the building's preservation as important as we do. Indeed, our exhibits will be changing out so we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a fine example of restoration with a purpose. The building is beautiful and the attention to detail was shown in the restoration. They have an interactive option for the House side of the building.

1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for visiting, Phil!

We've spent a lot of our time and effort into restoring the building to its 1902 version and we're so happy that you enjoyed your experience here! We're always working to make it better and to bring exhibits that help preserve its history. We'd love for you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Old Capitol building has been beautifully restored. The short film provides a brief overview of the state's history. The various rooms and displays provide succinct insights to the various arms of the government, building's history, economic development and other interesting aspects of Florida history. Interesting highlights and human interest tidbits are woven into the displays. We are not 'museum' people but spent almost two hours touring the building. Very well done!

1  Thank 523SM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hi Sarah,

We appreciate your review and value your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a positive experience and enjoyed the different exhibits we offer. It's a pleasure to have you tour our building for a couple of hours - please come back when you can! We're always adding exhibits and hosting events! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you are interested in the 22 story new capitol building you should make time to see the old building that sits right in front of it. It makes a fascinating contrast from old to new and is full of the initial history of the state.

Thank Nat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Public Relations Manager at Florida Historic Capitol Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thanks, sunfun,

Your review is greatly appreciated. We also believe our building is a piece of history, too! We have aimed to restore it as much as possible to its 1902 version. Our goal is to preserve history and illuminate the past, present, and future with these efforts. When you're free, we'd love to give you a special tour again and hopefully show you what we've been working on since your last visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Historic Capitol Museum also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Florida Historic Capitol Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing