We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried the breakfast menu-stick to night time BBQ.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Up In Smoke Pit BBQ - CLOSED

Up In Smoke Pit BBQ
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
florida
Level Contributor
276 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Tried the breakfast menu-stick to night time BBQ.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have never eaten here before, but relatives had been wanting to eat breakfast here, so we gave it a try. I think their speciality is BBQ and not breakfast. Eggs were fried beyond hard and the whites were brown instead of white, I don't know if they smoke these things or what. Pancakes were cold, but the smoked ham was good. Service was lacking. Never could catch the server to get a refill on the coffee until she brought the check. I haven't tried their BBQ at night, based on reviews it must be good, but I will pass on breakfast here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devilstowerwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    27
    13
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Tallahassee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great BBQ spot in Tallahassee.
I'm betting when the legislature is in session you'll see your Senator or House member here regularly.
Good meats smoked nicely. Wide array - sausage, brisket, pork (pulled or chopped), chicken, etc.
Brisket was a bit dry and needed to be better trimmed.
Pulled pork was perfect.
Sides were good too.
Fast, polite service.
Try the Bacon Bites - delicious!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrmondBeachFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach
2 reviews
“Unique menu & delicious food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place was great! The BEST collard greens I've had outside of my own Southern family's cooking. The menu has unique offerings, not just the usual BBQ joint offerings. The customer service was great also!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Good service , food delicious and hot. We had the BBQ chicken and meatloaf. Melt in mouth. Greens had a good flavor, but don't like the stems on. Beans and macaroni very good. Nice atmosphere. Breakfast menu looks great vie plan to try it soon

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taste ok served cold.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We did get right in and seated quickly. After that, well. The service was very slow. The server seemed very inexperienced. The food was well portioned, but when it does not taste that great what does it matter? The pulled pork was not all THAT bad. It was just not so good. Good enough to eat when you are hungry. Not good enough to rave about. We had six people at our table and two of the meals ( mine being one of them ) was served cold. Fries are always really bad when greasy and cold. Perhaps a lesson in expediting is needed in the kitchen. Overall most of my group was satisfied and will make return trips being that they are local to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMT1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up In Smoke Pit BBQ also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing