We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moist and musty...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
TEQUESTA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Moist and musty...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The owners of this hotel MUST update asap. Old and wet/moist feeling in rooms mean that there is leaking somewhere...you get what you pay for I guess in this situation! Bed old too...
The continental breakfast was completely devoid of nutritional value. No fruit or protein...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJimmy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    155
    151
    91
    55
See reviews for
232
113
59
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel NEEDS to be Renovated or a New Manager. I was highly disappointed with this hotel. Pictures online and actually being at the hotel was a major difference. I am sorry to say to destroy this hotel because a few of the staff members were really helpful. The hotel suite has potential but the housekeepers were LAZY. Instead of changing the towels everyday; they nicely arranged the same towels that were used before. There was hair on the supposedly new towels. There was dust on, under, and around the television, the fridge looked like it has not been cleaned in month. The entire hotel smelled of cigarettes and mildew. My boyfriend killed two fat bed bugs and I found one crawling on my arm. There were stains on the carpet and wall. My boyfriend is a neat freak and is a very clean person. He was highly upset and was curious about the mattress. So he decided to pulled off the sheets on the mattress and found blood stains on the mattress protection cover. When he pulled the protection cover off; there were blood stains on the middle and left corner of the mattress. I was horrified. We created a fictitious story that someone was killed in our room and that we were laying on evidence. After we reality sunk in...we weren't amused. As for as breakfast.....if the entire hotel is dirty; why bother eating here. Breakfast was of course self-served and the menu consist of bagels, muffins, oatmeal, cereal, fruits (apples,oranges,bananas,) juice (apple,cranberry,orange,) and coffee. This hotel has potential...they need to change all the carpets, find out where the aweful moldy smell is coming from, throw away the mattresses and hire 2 people to supervise the housekeepers. Oh...and if you don't believe me I have pictures. I know this hotel is not the Marriot but it did lack professionalism. I stayed here last weekend for 3 nights for labor day weekend and could not sleep because I was sooooo paranoid; afraid that a bed bug will crawl into my ears and lay eggs. Yikkkeesss!!!!! If you do happen to end up here...BRING LYSOL and EXTRA SHEETS and DO NOT WALK BARE FEET.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greentea31_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I stopped here for one night on a road trip we did in July 2012 after getting a coupon book at a gas station. It was very clean outside and not so much traffic close by. Rooms were clean and somewhat smaller than normal but still everything was ok. A great value for the price of just a little over $40. and also included hot breakfast. One place in book was cheaper than this one and we checked it out but I would not have stayed there IF THEY WOULD HAVE PAYED ME!!
Staff was nice and friendly here at microtel. This is my first visit to a microtel. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckinney, tx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked this last minute and the price was very reasonable. We did not check tripadvisor! Check in and out easy. 2 queen size beds in the room, we did not have a fridge or microwave and were told we did when we booked it. I asked for a quiet room as we had been traveling from Miami and on our way to Texas the next day. We were placed on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet up there. The 3rd floor was not air conditioned. There was an AC unit at the end of the hall that was not plugged in. So it was very hot and muggy. When we entered our room, it felt the same way and smelled bad. I was too tired to complain, switched on the AC and it did cool down. This entire floor smelled bad though. The beds were comfortable enough, the room very dated and certainly needs an upgrade. There were men outside drinking beer and I think they were people who book this place for a month or something.
On one trip in the elevator, there was a man with a large kitchen knife who certainly scared me. The next morning, I saw him with a uniform on and he apparently works here!! I would not stay here again needless to say. There were many other options for the same price.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 3rd floor if they haven't plugged in that AC - hot and muggy and doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nperryMckinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is ok.. But the rooms are awesome.. At least ours was 231. This is the type of room I would expect to pay $100+ for but it was less than $55 with our discount. Smelled nice, clean fresh sheets that looked new, we got a room with two beds and tgey were queen beds not double beds which is a huge plus. The room just felt clean and comfortsble. We stay at 25+ Wyndham hotels a month and fhis was by far tge best. We highly recommend this hotel. we did not really deal with customer service so I cannot say if it was good.. and we all missed breakfast because we all over slept (beds were amaxingly comfortable)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs
Level Contributor
245 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The check-in & check-out were fine. The room & bath were clean & the bed & pillows were comfortable. There were many TV channels including several "premium" movie ones. I did not use the internet but the business area computer was out of order. Breakfast was fine - and there was plenty of food available including the make it yourself waffles. There are many food choices near the motel. Overall, I would return to this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJGoldfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Had to stay due to emergency for 5 days. Stayed on the 2nd floor and had zero problems. The check in clerk Paula was super helpful and the room while a little small was perfect for the stay. I didn't have many problems but my room didn't have a flatscreen in it just a 19" box screen. There was no noise at night and breakfast was free so it was fine. You have to ask for an iron and the board is a small one not a full size. My room also didn't have a microwave or fridge but I'm not complaining. My room was very clean and I had no problems with the sink, toilet or tub. Would gladly stay here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swill1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#18 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#36 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
4.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tallahassee - Killearn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee
Address: 3216 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-2822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites
Microtel Hotel Tallahassee
Microtel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing