We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Newer property, clean rooms but not spacious, no microwave or fridge in the room.. Beds very comfortable. Wifi worked fine. Shower, hot water was fine. A/C worked The doors are "thin", you can hear people talking in the hallway, at times I could hear traffic and music from cars driving on the street in front of the hotel, but rooms were otherwise quiet and I didn't have any problems sleeping through the night. The bar on the first floor is nice area to hangout, has lots of seating and they make good coffee.
Parking is by permit and is plentiful in the lot behind the building, but you get only 1 free parking permit per room, it's $10 per additional parking permit. Also the parking lot seemed too dark at night (not enough lights in the parking area). It's an additional $15 to have a fridge and $5 to have a microwave brought to your room. Check in and check out was fast and friendly. Overall nice, comfortable place to stay if you need to be near FSU campus, but seems a bit pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 539 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked a King size room on the way back on our way back on a roadtrip. During our booking we were prompted if we had any comments/requests so I put in that I would like a room up high, and quiet. The note was obviously not read or they didn’t give a damn – not only did the faucest drip (couldn’t hear that in the room though) but the aircon in the room was so noisy I had to get up during the night and turn it off. I am used to aircons but this one was unbelievably loud so after I had been awake for some time hoping my partner, who is a heavy sleeper, was asleep was not shocked when he went “What IS that?!”.

Also, what is the point of a comment/request field if it is obviously not read? A room up high… well we were given one on the fourth floor in a hotel with more than twenty floors.

The barman seemed good, but the younger “barmen” were more busy chatting in a corner rather than working.

We paid $125 with taxes which is okay and is a fair price, although I burst out laughing at the sign on the bathroom door stating the room could cost up to $754. I wouldn't pay more than $125.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aberdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you choosing the Four Points for you recent accommodation needs and apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. You are absolutely right about the request field on the reservation and we should have been more careful about ensuring our staff is reading those. We will be sure to bring this up to our team so that it does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I thought my bed was very comfortable and the view from my room was a nice bonus. After reading somewhere that it had been renovated I decided to give this Four Points a try. Sure enough, everything from the bathroom to the flat screen television were modern. The only annoying thing was parking. After checking in I was told to put a sheet of paper on my dashboard so that my vehicle wouldn't get towed. Not a big deal to me but you might want to park out front long enough to check in and then park. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bullfrog0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice room, clean, comfortable. All staff were polite and helfull and most courteous Nice bar area with great barman (Scott) Enjoyed the pool area.
The first stay included breakfast which was very good. The other mornings paid for breakfast and although the service was good the breakfast was not up to scratch.Over cooked and not hot. The eggs were just a dried smere in the container. I didnt complain as I was in a hurry so maybe things could have been made better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the car park,this hotel is circular and the main road can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This company charges almost four times there normal rate for game weekends. They are the worst in Tallahassee for this. The offer mandatory two night stays as well, both nights for the increased rate. They also offer an 8pm check in on games day, yes I said 8:00pm. At $500.00 a night I think I should be able to check in at noon if I need to. The security guard on duty is a must as directly behind the hotel is a very unsafe area. They had to remove a person during our last stay. The hotel is clean, the staff were friendly. The price makes it not worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptRahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Its great to hear you found our staff friendly and hotel clean. With regards to the hotel rate, although we can understand your concern with the rates, they are in fact in line with other hotels in our market, specifically for weekends where there are football games taking place. As you can imagine, these weekends are in very high demand and we are doing our best to accommodate guests whom want to stay with us during these weekends. Along with superior guest service, our hotel offers a fantastic pool bar, free parking and a complimentary shuttle that takes guests to the stadium area. Now, with regards to the 8pm check-in, we also understand this is not ideal for some guests. However, it is only applicable for one specific Saturday in which a large group has contracted a later check out time. With that said, we need to ensure guest rooms are cleaned for new guests arriving that night. We completely understand your frustrations but I can assure you we are just trying our best to accommodate as many people as we can during these high demand weekends. We hope you understand our decisions and ask that you please contact us should you have any additional questions. Thank you again for your review. Regards, Bo Schmitz, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Spent one night at this hotel en route to the Panhandle. I was pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel was. Extremely comfortable beds and accommodating staff. The bar had happy hour 2 for 1 in the evenings and the room service breakfast was extremely affordable and delicious. The only complaint is the noise from the street if you're a light sleeper. Other then that great and affordable stay. Thanks Four Points!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review Kristina. Its great to hear you found our beds comfortable and staff friendly. We're also happy you got to experience our happy hour at Juicy Blue and our delicious breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I worked with the Four Points Sheraton staff to secure accommodations for a person visiting Tallahassee, and also happens to be deaf. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. They went so far as to acquire “hearing impaired” equipment for the guest. I, in turn was so grateful that Four Points was willing to provide this service to a disabled person and really promote independence here in the City of Tallahassee.

The hotel is beautiful facility and its right in the heart of downtown Tallahassee, exactly where I wanted my visitor to be. As I mentioned the staff was wonderful. I received only positive feedback regarding my guest’s accommodations.

I live in Tallahassee but for any of my friends and relatives, I wouldn’t recommend any other hotel. They were awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you very much for your review Amanda. First we'd like to thank you for choosing the Four Points for your guests' accommodations needs. Our staff is always here to ensure our guests have the best experience at our hotel and that all their needs are met. We are very happy your guest had a good experience with us. Thank you for the recommendations and for the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 54 in Tallahassee
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
#20 of 54 in Tallahassee
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown

Address: 316 W Tennessee St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tallahassee
#20 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range: $117 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown opened its doors on June 7th 2012 after a 16 million dollar complete property renovation. We are located in the heart of the city just blocks from Florida State University, the State Capitol building, Florida A&M University, local museums, shopping, and more. Our hotel is the first L.E.E.D. Silver Certified property in Tallahassee and actively carries out sustainable principles and practices in our daily operations. Our hotel features 164 guestrooms, a full service restaurant, 2 bars, a resort style pool and hot tub, shuttle service, 24 hour fitness center, free WiFi and so much more. We are the only choice when visiting Florida's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing