We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel within minutes of FSU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel within minutes of FSU”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We won this hotel on priceline for a visit to FSU and had a wonderful stay. The campus is literally 3 minutes away and the hotel offers free parking and free wifi. They also have a very reasonably priced breakfast buffet. We ordered the buffet, but at 6:30 am, they did not have a lot of items out, so the waitress just asked us what we would like to eat and brought out our eggs and sausage and charged us accordingly. Very good customer service.

The bed was very comfortable and there was a large 42" TV which was very good for watching the Tony Awards! The only downside to the room was that there was not a refrigerator and the closet was a bit small and clumsy, with the clothes hanging outwards facing you. But for our 2 night stay, the small closet was not a big deal.

Sheraton apparently has a new "green" policy where if you decline housekeeping service, you get a $5 credit in the restaurant. We did not take this offer and were glad when we saw that we were only provided with one towel, washcloth and hand towel per person. I do like a clean towel each day, so we were glad to forego the $5 credit and be provided with clean towels every day!

I would definitely return here for future visits to FSU.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're glad to here that our location to FSU was convenient for your trip and that you experienced good customer service. The next time that you stay at a Starwood Hotel you can always requests more towels while still participating in our Make a Green Choice program. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    160
    68
    19
    18
See reviews for
165
84
19
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipley, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a great hotel for families when visiting FSU. It is across the street from campus and the staff is friendly and helpful. It would be nice, however, for them to offer a discounted fee for parents of orientees.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for a view of FSU and Doak Campbell stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geewhiz1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was a really welcome stay for the last leg of a cross-country trek from CA.

Comfy bed, great food & drink across the lot, dog friendly, clean, and friendly faces.

We got a good price that included wifi and there was no extra charge to park. A solid spot!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprylDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel this weekend. I was expecting a "wow" experience based on it being a Sheraton. Overall the stay was nice, but nothing too impressive. I think we could have had the same experience at a cheaper hotel (which included breakfast.)

Reasons for this is 1. staff were not knowledgeable about restaurant prices or menu when we signed in. They had to get me a menu for all of my questions. 2. Elevator #1 was not working properly and Elevator #2 had chains clinking when going up or down which was kind of scary. 3. Bathroom had hair in the shower and toilet paper handle falling off the wall.

Otherwise the beds were very comfortable, and the pool was nice with nice lounge seating.

Overall I would stay here again for a cheaper price, but if there are no deals I would look elsewhere for a luxury stay.

Room Tip: I would ask to be on the top floors as I think the view would be more impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We are disappointed to hear about the experiences you had at our hotel with the front desk, the elevator and the room. All of our elevators are working properly now and we'll discuss the other items with our teams immediately. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I reach SPG Platinum each year purely based on business travel, with that said, I am very familiar with most hotel chains for business travelers. After years of this type of travel, all hotels of this class began to seem very similar. The only thing that makes a hotel stand out among the rest is the staff, the personalized service. Remembering your name and all of your preferences. This level of service makes a hotel GREAT!

Quite honestly makes you willing to go out of your way to find such a hotel.

In Tallahassee I found such a place, Four Points by Sheraton, Downtown. The full service bar and restaurant, gym and pool are great amenities to have on the road, but the staff makes you feel at home. Their entire staff makes a sincere effort to exceed your expectations, from the Sales Manager to the Front Office Manager to the Service Staff.

Almost makes you look forward to work travel…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel decor was very modern and the facilities were great! Nice pool area! Great location! The bar area was very open and inviting. The restaurant was small, but the food was quite good. The staff was very accommodating! I would recommend this property!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel over memorial day weekend. I was in town for a wedding and but had a lot of free time in the day (since the festivities were at night) so I was hoping for a nice room to relax in.

Got to the hotel early (circa 1 pm) and was allowed early check in! Was also upgraded (was surprised to get both) to a very nice suite.

Now, Tallahassee isn't exactly a typical vacation goers destination, so there is no nearby beach, and most people I encountered were in town for an event or for something related for FSU. That being said, I was pleased to see that they had a nicely kept pool (with comfortable lounge chairs). They also had a small gym, which I didn't use but my husband did. It's not huge by any means, but has your basics and will get the job done if you're travelling and need to toss in a quick work out.

My room was very nice - it was so nice to have the extra space. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and there was plenty of natural light (all of which was easily blocked by a blackout curtain if you are so inclined). I would say that I wish the suite had more closet space. My suite only had an armoire and it was a bit of a struggle for my husband and I to share since he had 2 suits and i had several dresses with me. Other than that, I was very pleased with my room.

Finally, I wanted to point out the fantastic, helpful staff at the hotel who made sure I had a great, comfortable stay. They were all very kind, polite, and helpful when I had any questions.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlm002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#14 of 58 in Tallahassee
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#29 of 58 in Tallahassee
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
Address: 316 W Tennessee St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tallahassee
#20 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown opened its doors on June 7th 2012 after a 16 million dollar complete property renovation. We are located in the heart of the city just blocks from Florida State University, the State Capitol building, Florida A&M University, local museums, shopping, and more. Our hotel is the first L.E.E.D. Silver Certified property in Tallahassee and actively carries out sustainable principles and practices in our daily operations. Our hotel features 164 guestrooms, a full service restaurant, 2 bars, a resort style pool and hot tub, shuttle service, 24 hour fitness center, free WiFi and so much more. We are the only choice when visiting Florida's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing