We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas”

Avenue Eat and Drink Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 809 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Avenue Eat & Drink features a Southern Fusion menu with influences from FL, SC, LA and GA. Our Goal is to source 70% of our product locally and achieve a product that is 50% organic and green. We have a wide variety of appetizers, salads and entrees, an extensive wine and specialty martini list. We are open Monday-Sunday for lunch and dinner. Open Saturday and Sunday for brunch.
San Fra
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I had several tapas plates and found the flavors and presentation to be excellent! Very nice place for dinner.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank mrgonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    83
    39
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Class of Tallahassee”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I have been visiting Tallahassee for years but just have not been able to find the comfort in a restaurant (that wasn't a chain), that I have found in Avenue Eat and Grill, I am a regular with every visit now. Whether it is a quiet night with my wife over a glass of wine from a GREAT selection and some incredible apps or a full blown party with the family, Avenue provides it all. I love the place! Great food that crosses cultural bounds of New York City steak house or great Southern cuisine that I grew up on. I have yet to be even slightly disappointed. You must try the burrata and heirloom tomatoes. Ridiculous.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MSchue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“How much can one person talk”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My family and I came to Tallahassee for my sons graduation. We were staying at the double tree and saw the restaurant next door, and took a look at the menu. We decided it looked to fit the occasion of the celebration of the accomplishment of graduating college, so we went ahead and made a reservation for the evening. Going into the restaurant we were greeted by a very friendly man. He seemed genuinely excited that we were there. You would think that we were the first people to come in for weeks he was so excited. Unfortunately being happy with the people we came in contact with ended there. Our server came over fairly quickly, but not as quickly as his mouth moved. This guy did not shut up from the moment he got to the table. And it wasnt that he was just talking about the food. He would not stop talking about himself. About how he knows more about wine than 90 percent of experts, and how he has his own business. Our food would have been there in half the time if he omitted the tedious details about himself that I really could care less about. As for the food. It was ok to disappointing. I had the wahoo which was pretty much fish in a bag with the bag probably having more flavor. My wife had the fish special which was salmon that was good, nothing spectacular. My son got the filet, it tasted like a filet, if its a good piece of filet you'd have to be a complete idiot to screw that up. The last bit that was the icing on the cake was that we were seated near the kitchen door, and every time that door flew open you just heard people screaming terrible things that I will not dare write on here. The worst part was that what appears to be the owner/manager was doing most of the yelling. Ripping into someone for what you would think was killing his mother. I have to say when I saw him come out I understood why he was so angry. He looked like the leprechaun from hell. My overall opinion is maybe in Tallahassee its good, but in Tampa it wouldnt last 6 months.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank fishingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
715 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Great food and a warm friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

A lunch recommendation to this restaurant was accepted and we are glad we did. The food was plentiful; the wait staff went out of their way to be warm and accommodating. We had the spicy shrimp appetizer (shared), chicken pot pie and an ahi tuni salad. All were flawless. Service was slow, but they sensed we were not in a rush. Easy parking in the area, but pay the meters, as the meter maids were everywhere.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Watch Out for The Olives in Those Martinis”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

What a find! Great drinks! Excellent service. Lambtini's are to die for. Flank Steak good. Fried Quail is excellent, but not much meat, as to be expected. Chocolate pecan pie is chocolate covered pecans on a crust....I'm in heaven!!! Sure hope this place hangs around.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Crewsweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Eat and Drink Restaurant also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Avenue Eat and Drink Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing