We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Wharf Express!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wharf Express - CLOSED

Wharf Express
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Loved the Wharf Express!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

At the recommendation of someone we had never met, we searched out The Wharf Express in St. Teresa, Florida. This is the fifth location - the other 4 are located in Tallahassee. We were told it was a good value - it is. Upon entering the front door you go to an order window and order what you want. You are given a number and your food is delivered to your table. Seafood is fresh and cooked fried, broiled or blackened. We were also informed about several specials for the day. The restaurant handles large crowds and had even been a venue for the local high school prom the night before. Seating is inside as well as outside. The day was just right to sit outside. All ages seem to enjoy eating at this location. Salad dressings are homemade. Desserts are homemade and the salads are beautiful. FYI - Beer and wine price is most reasonable and ice cold. ($2.50 for 16 ounce can of beer). This is a casual restaurant but it seems to be managed very well. When we return to this area we will definitely eat at this location again. It was very surprising that as remote as this area seemed to us that there were as many people eating at the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I was passing through on our way back to Phoenix, AZ and I heard about this place. I highly recommend it to all!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelipadAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Always great food and service”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for great seafood..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Limomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fast, tasty, and inexpensive fresh seafood”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The Wharf Express is a small restaurant that offers some local seafood and some "other" seafood. Their strength is fried food. They have a daily fish special that is served piping hot, with steaming fries, at a price hard to beat. The shrimp appetizer is a meal in itself. Home-made brownies make the visit a total diet-buster! Service is minimal since servers do double-duty behind the counter and delivering food to the tables. Even so, the Wharf Express is one of the best fresh seafood places in Tallahassee. (There are some better ones toward the coast, but that requires a longer drive.) Try them. This is one of those restaurants you will either love or hate. I think you'll like what you find.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TallyCat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, All Around A+++”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My husband and I were in town for a dog show and after a long day we were craving some fresh seafood served in a casual, outdoor setting. We came across The Wharf Express on South Magnolia (there are several locations, but I think this is the only one with outside seating) and decided to head on over. The food was outstanding - very fresh, very well flavored - and the service was perfect. Joey, the owner, took care of us outside - we took our dog with us - and we felt that we were very welcomed there. We would without a doubt go back if we are ever in Tally for another dog show weekend. Thanks, Joey! Almost forgot - they make the best home-made chowder and key lime pie! YUM!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvo1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Express also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing