We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It!”
Review of Genghis Grill

Genghis Grill
Ranked #119 of 815 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mongolian
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love It!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is now my favorite Restaurant in this town of many restaurants that aren't that good and are mostly chains. This is a chain, and the style bothered me at first, until I went 1 time. After you get the "training" and learn how to fill up your "bowl" with what you want, the food is cooked on an open flat grille, your choice of starch is added and it is brought to your table. You also have to pick a sauce. My favorite is the Sweet & Sour, not too sweet, a little spicy, but not too hot. I get Fried Rice with mine and it is delicious. You can load up with Meat, like I do, or load up with Veggies or mix them. Service at both is usually good, but not great. Iced Tea is usually good and they have Coke brand drinks. If you go often, get their Rewards card, because it is wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenColson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good make your own stir fry”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a place where you put your meat, veggies, and sauce in a bowl, pick your starch, and they cook it for you. It has more options than most places and lets you load your bowl up yourself, which is nice. They are very friendly and the waiters are always very attentive to whatever you might need.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never go to a place like this with a vegetarian....”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The heading may say it all. I did, and I thought my non-meat-eating souse (who does eat seafood in moderation) would pass out from negative sensory overload because of the smell of the piles of meat at the various counters in the grill area. So an important caveat is that my own experience was likely impacted by hers. But I found the resulting stir-fry dish to be really at best of only average quality and figured it was a meal I could just as easily do myself at home. Nothing special at all.

Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosford
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Grill is a great place to eat. You purchase a bowl, choose from 2 sizes, and fill the bowl with your favorite meat(s), seasonings, veggies, and top it off with a tasty sauce. The chef grills it all together and puts in on your favorite starch, fried rice, steamed rice, noodles, etc. You can order an appetizer while your food is being grilled and enjoy your fave beverage. The atmosphere is fun, a little loud, but lively. We will be visiting again soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Current favorite crave”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We love this place, it's awesome. That you get to pick your own raw foods, spices and sauces and then specify how they get cooked, assures your food is exactly as you want it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debdefender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genghis Grill also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Genghis Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing