We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small interior, but delicious and good size servings.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan's Asian Cafe

Tan's Asian Cafe
Ranked #236 of 796 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small interior, but delicious and good size servings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

A hidden gem.
Inside a hit small but the food is delicious.
Asian food better than any place in Tallahassee.
The spring rolls are full and Crunchy. The cashew chicken was loaded with cashews and chicken. The house fried rice had large shrimp as well as loss of chicken, pork, and beef.
Well worth the visit.
Enjoy!! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Authentic pan-asian kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a really good place. It's a small, unassuming, all-about-the-food kind if place. They have Chinese, Japanese, and Indonesian menus. We had the Indonesian and went back a few days later for some more. Excellent nasi goreng, curries, and noodles. Try the vegan 'lentu.' It's like a fragrant asian falafel. Be careful though, the meat they use can be fatty asian style so ask before you order about the kind of meet in each dish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MazenKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Like a big city ethnic restaurant in Tallahassee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

When I lived outside of Washington DC, one pleasure was discovering usually tiny, family run, ethnic restaurants. Often there were dishes not on the English menu but advertised as specials on wall placards. Sometimes the ingredients were unfamiliar and the flavors strong,but these dishes frequently outshone the more or less standardized offerings of the English menu. I heard that there was a similar cafe here in Tallahassee off Capital Circle NE. Tan's Asian Cafe is small, perhaps twenty seats. The menu lists the usual Chinese American standards with the Indonesian specialities on the last page and on the wall. I've visited three times this month been pleased. Babi Rica Rica, a spicy pork stew, is my favorite so far. The warning on the menu that the dish is very spicy is true but not excessively so. I have also tried a noodle dish and the beef tendon stew. Actually, I would call the meat shin beef rather than tendon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty and Very Reasonably PricedAsian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Freshly made asian food . Very good taste.
Lentu starter is the best - its made with Lentils and its got the Indian flavor of Masal vada.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trvlr_freq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It is the real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This restaurant may be small but it is mighty when it comes to breadth of menu and quality of food. It doesn't seat many, perhaps 30, and there is usually a line of folks waiting to get in. We usually go early so we don't have to wait. There is a great variety of dishes from all over SE Asia and everything I have tried there has been excellent. The wait staff is very friendly and accommodating, the restaurant is clean and the prices are very reasonable. Three of us dined for less than $40!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gkrafft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tan's Asian Cafe also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Tan's Asian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing