We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful!”

St. Marks National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #2 of 82 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The trail-runner's dream.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was as beautiful today as it was a year ago! A definite must see...the reviews are all correct! Hints: Take lunch...Gorgeous places to eat at picnic tables. Would be an unforgettable sunrise or sunset. Take bug spray. And finally, maybe take wet wipes or water to wash your hands. Bathroom water is brown in the toilets and sinks with a warning sign that you can't drink it. I didn't even want to wash my hands in it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank floridatourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    94
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Home Away from Home and Photographer's Dream.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

There is a reason they call it a Refuge. I spend most weekends at the St. Marks National Wildlife Refuge. There is always something to see. Lots of Migratory Birds year round and of course alligators. I am also a Volunteer and a Member of their Photo Club and I am rarely disappointed when it comes to getting great nature photos. And lets not forget the Historic Lighthouse which is periodically open to the public during certain festivals. And speaking of festivals every October they put on the Annual Monarch Festival because St. Marks is one of the stopping points for the Monarch Butterfly migration to Mexico. Truly a wonderful place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank RichardBaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Photo op extraordinaire”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Sunset over the marsh is a sight to behold. So may aquatic birds, in both salt water and fresh. Take your bicycle and save a few steps on the pathways cut through the marsh. The light of late afternoon on the pampas grasses is amazing. My wife said nature spoke to her and told her to be tranquil. Just what we needed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldClassBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, worth the drive”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful place! Well worth the short drive from Tallahassee. I saw several bald eagles, egerts, and other shore birds while driving to the lighthouse. Very peaceful and relaxing place. My only regret was I didn't have more time to spend here. Remember the bug spray.

Helpful?
3 Thank diverchick6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
575 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wildlife”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

St. Marks is a beautiful place to spend a few hours. We have seen so many birds including golden eagles. Quiet, peaceful, lovely but watch out for the gators by the water!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Marks National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to St. Marks National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing