We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have gone inside”

St. Marks Lighthouse
Ranked #11 of 83 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 80-foot tower features a giant reflector lens and is the perfect spot for weddings.
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wish we could have gone inside”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Nice lighthouse but wish you could climb it or at least go inside the building next to it. I did like the tower they put near it, but couldn't get great shots of the lighthouse due to trees.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank breezanemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    56
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Historic visit!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

It was such a nice day out! The water was so blue and the sky was so clear which made the visit even better! The drive from the city was about 25 min. There really is not much between to see or do. When we got there you do need to pay to enter for the vehicle, so having cash would be great or you have to pay an extra convenience fee to use a card! From the visitors center to the light house is an extra drive, but it is scenic and my sons were excited to spot alligators and ducks and different looking birds! The lighthouse itself was not open to go into, but we got some great photos!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
218 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“What a sight”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went to St. Marks Refuge to see the lighthouse. It's at the end of a 6 mile drive and is an awesome sight. Because it's still used by the Coast Guard, it can't be climbed, but the view is awesome and worth the drive - even from Oklahoma. This lighthouse is still in its natural setting and still well preserved. The setting is beautiful. I could only imagine being at this place in its heyday and protecting the area. The visitor center has lots of information on the lighthouse and the refuge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shirmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great area”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great area to enjoy the view of the gulf or even take a hike on a nature trail and see some of North Florida's wildlife in their natural habitat. If you go, take your camera. Plenty of great photo opportunities here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyMarvel213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful morning in paradise with fiddler crabs”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We have visited the park often, usually not in the summer. We got an early start and began our hiking before the heat reached its maximum. We parked at the light house and walked along the shore past Long Bar. It was low tide, and the rocks were exposed. I had not seen so many fiddler crabs since my boyhood in Fort Myers in the 1950s. We had passed browsing deer on our way in, and birds of many types were fishing the shallows. The waterlillies were in full bloom.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Marks Lighthouse also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to St. Marks Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing