We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful morning in paradise with fiddler crabs”

St. Marks Lighthouse
Ranked #10 of 83 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 80-foot tower features a giant reflector lens and is the perfect spot for weddings.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful morning in paradise with fiddler crabs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We have visited the park often, usually not in the summer. We got an early start and began our hiking before the heat reached its maximum. We parked at the light house and walked along the shore past Long Bar. It was low tide, and the rocks were exposed. I had not seen so many fiddler crabs since my boyhood in Fort Myers in the 1950s. We had passed browsing deer on our way in, and birds of many types were fishing the shallows. The waterlillies were in full bloom.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    55
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vast and Beautiful - Great for Birders, Photographers, & the Outdoorsy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the "real" Florida. Thousands of acres of salt and fresh water marsh. Take your binoculars, scopes and good camera. October/November is monarch ButterFly migration stopover, winter is migratory duck season, spring is wildflower season and summer can be Hot so take suncreen and bug repellant. Welcome Center has good information and gifts/ books etc. Pack a cooler for picnic lunch because it's a long trek by car from Welcome Center to the Gulf of Mexico and the lovely old Lighthouse.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chewsychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Pretty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

It a awesome place to go is you never been a state park is the perfect combination of green and beach but its no to much to see....you have place to walk or used a bike or fishing I guess more fishing that anything so its a lot mosquitos and no shadow at all...I recommend this place is you used to came to tallahassee but for your first impression not...thanks

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perez-Rojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
215 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pretty old lighthouse!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beautiful drive with lots of nature to see along the way to the light house. Don't expect to walk to the top unless you go on one of the special days when this is allowed. Many times of the year there are lots of bugs so be ready!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went to see the St. Mark's Lighthouse while touring Florida. The overall location was very nice and scenic. This lighthouse was nestled in the middle of a wildlife refuge. The only thing I didn't like about it was that the lighthouse was locked and you were unable to go inside and look around. I was very disappointed in this. The entrance to the refuge is $5.00 and you get to see a lot of different fishing and hunting grounds. I would not go out of my way to visit this but if you are in the neighborhood, it is a pretty area to see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Marks Lighthouse also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to St. Marks Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing