We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”
Review of Canopy Road Cafe

Canopy Road Cafe
Ranked #21 of 808 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Southern style Diner food with a twist. 2 great locations to serve you, with a third on the way. Locally owned and operated for 10 years.
Tallahassee, FL
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Usually crowded and almost always a long wait for the food, but it's worth it if you have the time. The coffee is super ... so order a cup and enjoy the neighborhood conversation - then enjoy the good food that is served fresh and at a fair price

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TallaResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy sweet potatoe pancakes”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stopped here last weekend after reading reviews from TA. So glad we did. Had the sweet potatoe pancakes and other had the crepes. All were really good. Had to wait about 30 minutes to be seated but worth it, and I figured any place with a line has got to be good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2105stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a very nice place to go when you're in Tallahassee and want some great coffee with your breakfast. The atmospher is down to earth and the servers are very very nice. You can get a coffee to go after the wonderful breakfast too, the coffee beans are ground fresh...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrakeConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good, fresh food!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I like this place! It's not fancy by any means but the food is fresh and made to order. They have wonderful salads and crepes. It gets very busy during peak lunch hours!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Was today an Anomaly?”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have lived in Tallahassee for 10 years now, wanted breakfast and never tried this restaurant. They are only open for Breakfast and Lunch. We pulled up and noticed a long line of people waiting outside to get in, we thought this was a good sign since great restaurants have lines because they are good. We put our names on the this and were told it would be about 20 minutes. We waited outside in the cold for over 30 minutes and noticed people who came after we did were getting seated. I asked the cashier when we were to be seated and she politely told us we have been accidentally scratched off the list, apologized and immediately sat us at a table. The cafe is VERY small inside and very filled with people. I would say today's theme for the cafe was chaos. The silverware had dried food on it and had to be returned. My bacon was 1 step from burnt, but was afraid to send it back because of how long that would take to get fixed. Overall the the food was flavor-less and the service very inefficient. There was ONE bright star in this breakfast endeavour, the Sweet Potato Pancakes were very good.
I love breakfast and love really great breakfast restaurants, but this one will not be on the top of my list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devilstowerwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canopy Road Cafe also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Canopy Road Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing