We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Price & Comfort...The Best Tallahassee Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We come to Tallahasse 4 times a year and we try to pick a different hotel each time. After 20 or so hotels, we stayed at ALoft. In Tallahasse, if you stay out of football season, the legislative session and student related activities, you can find rooms to be a bargain. We stayed at ALoft for $87 a night. For what we got, it was a bargain. Our room was spotless, the bed was excellent and the bathroom was ultra modern. The staff was very helpful although it is a limited service staff.

On the downside, they charge ala carte prices on their continental breakfast. Fortunately, there are a dozen restaurants within a five minute drive of the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, just not when they get top dollar for their rooms.

Room Tip: No ice machine, but you get ice at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blastedminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 631 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is probably more of a business hotel than for tourists and consequently over the weekend when we stayed they were very short staffed and the room was not made up. We did request that it was done as we wanted to return in the afternoon for a rest but the cleaner explained that her shift was over. Similarly the front desk was being run by students, one of whom showed no interest in helping guests and just wanted to get on with her essay!
Although supposedly a boutique hotel the building is unattractive and fairly utilitarian.
However, the room was good,high spec and all the necessary equipment, fridge, hairdryer, lovely shower, fluffy towels. Also pool was a good size .Hotel well situated for the city but on a Sunday night we could not find an open restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExeterHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at Aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about they trendy style of the hotel. We do apologize for the issue you experienced with us and hope you give us another try. If you would like to reach me, please feel free to send me an email, patsy.pagan@alofthotels.com, I would be happy to speak with you further.

At your service,

Patsy Pagan
General Manager
Aloft Hotel Downtown Tally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the aloft in June and in May while visiting FAMU. We chose the hotel because we could use Starwoods Points to pay for our stay. The hotel is pretty new, it's clean, and it's centrally located. aloft's are not what I would call luxurious, but the hotel serves the purpose and will be our first choice when we come to Tallahassee.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Staff did not seem to be able to handle a traveling family. We were in Tallahassee and had our son with us on a summer business trip. It seems that unless you were under 25 and single you couldn't get any of the staffs attention, especially downstairs.

The layout was ok, very light and airy and overall the building was clean. The location can't be beat and the tapas at the bar was tasty.

They had a few items for kids however; several members of the staff ruined the entire experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at Aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

MichaelJC,

I do apologize for the issue you had with us and appreciate your comments. We hope for another try and if you would like to reach out to me, please feel free to call or email.

At your service,

Patsy Pagán
General Manager
Aloft Hotel Downtown Tally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I travel to Louisiana often, and Tallahassee is the half way point. Normally we stay by the interstate, but this time I wanted to try something new. I wasn't expecting much, considering how low the price was, but the pictures online were trendy and cool. We had our small dog with us too, and were pleased to find they accept pets with no fee! When we checked in, the lady at the desk was very nice. The room was clean, comfortable and unique. My 5 year old loved the fact that the pool was open until 11, considering we didn't get there until 9:30pm. They had a very nice dog walking area, lovely breakfast, and a great bar. The only complaint, which isn't really a complaint more of an inconvenience, was there was no tub in the room only a shower, which made bathing my son difficult. Otherwise, I will be back everytime I'm in the area!!!

Room Tip: Request a top floor, the view is beatiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very modern decor and extremely clean. The room was perfect for our family of four. Within walking distance to many restaurants and convenient to the FSU campus. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenfsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at Aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Great Comments EllenFSU!

Bring your family to visit any time. Go Noles!

At your service,

Patsy M. Pagan
General Manager
Aloft Hotel Downtown Tallahassee
patsy.pagan@alofthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I don't even know where to start. I am a Starwood preferred guest and I have stayed at Weston hotels all over the world. I was shocked. When I walked the first thing I noticed was the loud music. The entire down stairs area is a bar. When I got off the elevator the odor on my floor was horrible, it smelled like skunk. The room looked like it was decorated with Ikea furniture. If I hadn't driven 9 hours I would have left. There are no amenities, no bell hop. There was a charge for parking and the I was afraid that my car was going to get broken into. The hotel didn't have a restaurant. I am going to contact corporate and let them know how disgusting this hotel was.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susans45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at Aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

I am very sorry that our hotel did not fit your needs. The Aloft Brand comes from the W Hotel, but we are not full service. We are trendy, with music playing 24/7, open space area that includes a bar. Our rooms are simple and designed to be GREEN efficient. If I can help you with anything else, please feel free to contact me!

Patsy M. Pagan
General Manager
Aloft Hotel Downtown Tallahassee
patsy.pagan@alofthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
8.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tallahassee I-10 East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tallahassee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tallahassee Downtown

Address: 200 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range: $128 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tallahassee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Tallahassee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown Hotel Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing