We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,045)
Filter reviews
2,045 results
Traveler rating
1,160
514
165
79
127
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
514
165
79
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool bal harbour beautiful hotel full bathrooms wrap around balcony lobby bar ocean front valet parking two bedroom suite sofa bed hotel restaurant beach service miami area beach chairs sitting area per day bladimir
Filter
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 2,045 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

We had a great time in Miami, but unfortunately we spend nearly 2 full days arguing with the hotel management as they charged thousands of euros from our credit card without permission and they acted like they did not know about anything. We paid our full stay in cash when we arrived so they had no reason to charge more than the 600 euro deposit from our credit card.

Secondly they did not have the room we booked cause they were "overbooked", and made us move from rooms twice with a newborn baby.

I would recommend this for its great location, but save yourself the time you're gonna waste dealing with the management.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Timothy S, first, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. As mentioned on our website and within the registration cards each guest signs at the time of check-in, we have an incidentals/deposit policy, which requires that we authorize the guest’s credit card for a certain amount per night at the point of check-in for incidentals. This is not a charge, but only an authorization that guarantees payment for any incidentals. Upon check-out, this authorization is released automatically. We apologize for any inconvenience this policy may have caused you and would like to assure you that this policy is a standard for the area in which our property is situated. On property, we do strive to create a comfortable atmosphere with a strong attention to detail and follow up, and to hear that this was not the case in the duration of your stay is extremely disappointing. Your comfort is truly utmost important to us, and it would be our privilege to make things right, should you give us another opportunity to regain your trust in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. Small enough to feel cozy and in a great location. Two minutes walk to Bal Harbour Shops and restaurants. Grounds and pools are gorgeous. Staff is friendly and accommodating and rooms are comfy. Probably, the most relaxing 3 days in a long time

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LisaBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear LisaBeachy, thank you so very much for giving the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside such a superb rating and kind review. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you felt such a warm welcome from the team and that every team member you encountered went above and beyond in meeting your needs and expectations. We are furthermore heartened by the compliments you had to share of our beachfront location, comfortable and spacious suites, and gorgeous grounds and pools. We're honored that you chose to stay with us during your vacation and we hope to host you in the future for another relaxing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Two friends recommended the Surfside so we were super excited about staying here. There were 5 of us so we booked a suite, the largest suite I've ever stayed in. The suite had 4 of the biggest flat screens I've ever seen. Why? When there's minimal wardrobe space and no other storage, we were literally living out of our suitcases. We also had the biggest minibar fridge that was completely empty! I would expect a hotel in this price range to provide water in the room. There were a couple of other things that niggled; when we checked in we got 2 complimentary drink vouchers for the bar, seems a little petty not to have 1 per guest, the room rate only included 1 umbrella and 2 loungers. It was never clear, and nobody could explain whether there was a charge for additional loungers. Now I'm not sure how many 4* hotel rooms there are in South Beach, I suspect 1000's. With this much competition you might think the Duty Manager would want to delight their guests and take the opportunity to address these issues, I mean how hard is it to put water in the room or provide a few more vouchers! Well think again.
OK now the good stuff, the hotel is family friendly and the decor still looks fresh. There's a great adult only pool and bar on the rooftop. They also offer a yoga class on the rooftop, which is a great way to start the day, and what a back drop.
In summary, we stayed for 3 days and found it expensive. If you want to stay in South Beach and are looking for luxury, check out some of the newer hotels coming on the market. Surfside need some competition to sharpen up their act and their prices.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear Shaun M, thank you for your review; we appreciate it when our guests take the time to share both their good impressions and not so good impressions from our property. In this sense, we are thankful for the positive comments you had to share of our spacious suites and their in-room amenities, family friendly hotel environment, fresh décor, great adults only rooftop pool, and excellent daily yoga activity. With this being said, we must admit how sorry we are for we have failed in meeting your expectations in other aspects of your stay. Your observations are truly valuable to us and we will be certain to notify the appropriate departments onsite of the shortcomings you have come across in the duration of your stay. Thank you and it is our hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you again to the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside so we can show the Hotel and the standards of service, in which we would like to pride ourselves, in a truer light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 5 days for the 4th of July and our Miami/Keys trip. The hotel is first off new, clean, and gorgeous. Modern fixtures, light and airy, and chic throughout. Our room had a partial ocean view, with a wrap-around balcony with modern outdoor loungers and dining sets. Just fit for cool Miami. Our room was corner deluxe, which comes with two areas, one for bedroom and the other for sofa-bed, each area with a dedicated full bath. Gorgeous and functional. My kids stayed on one side and we did on the other.

What is impressive is that it is so down to earth. We got a bunch of pastries from the lobby cafe every morning and ate outside by the beach. The staff at the cafe was just so lovely to chat with. Very helpful. Rather than the breakfast buffet of $25/person, we were happy with the cafe option. Great coffee, croissant, pastries and fresh orange juice. Also free fruits every day.

Beach is on property, and it was not crowded. Water was so clear that you can see through to your toes. Parasols and towels, and even water, are provided, so it is easy to have beach fun on a whim. On the 4th of July, we just sat on the beach and watched fireworks in both directions (left and right). There are two pools on the ground, with family-types like us hanging out. There is one more on rooftop, which is adult only. Fit for everyone.

I must say that I like Surfside a lot. Not so crowded, and easy to access to the 72nd/73rd Street restaurants (free public parking) for dinner. Not crazy busy like the South Beach. I will definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear T O, thank you so very much for trusting the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside as your accommodation on your recent trip to the Miami area. We could not be happier to learn of the excellent, five-star experience you had while our guest. It is wonderful that you found the hotel to be perfect for a family vacation yet with a luxurious feel throughout. We would like to congratulate you on your choice of accommodation, as our 2-bedroom oceanfront suites are indeed perfect suitable for families with their spaciousness, private wrap-around balcony and the availability of two full bathrooms. We would like to also thank you for your compliments of our Espresso Bar, helpful and attentive staff, and free amenities, such as the fruit water and fruits we provide throughout the hotel. We are truly glad you liked and enjoyed the Surfside area, it is very quiet and excellent for a relaxing vacation with a yet easy access to different points of interest in Miami. It was our pleasure to host you, and we cannot wait to welcome you back for another stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We booked 3 rooms for 4 nights at this hotel ,the hotel appearance is very good, the decoratoin is very nice and the rooms are really beautiful but the service is dissapointing.
Valet service takes between 15 to 20 minutes to bring our car every time that we ask for it, room service didn t change our dirty glasses and our dirty sheets ( my daughter dirtied with chocolate),employee at the pool was on the cell phone for more than 30 minutes screaming /arguing , etc ,etc....
The pools in the ground floor are a little disappointing because they are very small and are always very crowded so we checked the roof top pool but it was for guest 21 and older so we decided to use the roof top pool from the grand beach hotel surfside west that is on the other side of the street and were children are allowed.
This area was a paradise because it was very calm, when we arrived there were just the 3 of us and continued like that for more than 2 hours and could have been perfect if the employee who was responsable for the towels wasn t on the cell phone for more than 30 minutes screaming , I was trying to rest but I get really nervous .
It was a very non-professional attitude .
Im not sure if I would stay in this hotel again once the building and the installations are really nice but the service is awful.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patcintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Dear Patcintra, thank you for choosing to join us and for taking the time out of your day to share your experience. While we are truly appreciative of the kind words you had to share of our hotel’s appearance, excellent décor, and beautiful rooms, it has been to our deep regret to read through your disappointing encounters with staff throughout the hotel. We would like to assure you that our valet parking staff strives to be as efficient as possible at all times and we apologize if they have failed to provide you with the prompt service expected. In order to avoid wait times at valet, we would like to encourage you to call for your car at least 10 minutes prior to coming downstairs next time you stay with us. When it comes to the situation you witnessed at the rooftop pool at our West property, we have notified the team in charge and a proper follow up will be done to address this case and prevent it from happening again in the future. At our properties, we do aim to provide our guests with the highest standards of comfort and convenience and we hope that you will allow us an opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews