We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“On the way to the keys--stopped at Miami Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Surfside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solara Surfside Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“On the way to the keys--stopped at Miami Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We wanted to go to the Keys and decided to stop at Miami Beach--wanted to see South Beach. The Solar Surfside is nice. The room was large--a 1 bedroom, but we were disappointed because it was so far from South Beach. They had their own beach and a walking trail which was nice. A pool and Jacuzzi outside. For the future, I would verify how far from South Beach. Miami Beach is huge and certainly NOT walkable. There are casinos in driving distance. Recommend the bus to go to South Beach since the parking is awful. The restaurants are great and ARE in walking distance. Recommend Adriana's.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kj f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    70
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
76
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I live in Sufside but went to the Solara for an overnight anniversary celebration. The hotel was excellent. The front desk staff was most helpful (Junior and C. Fonseca), the room (706) was fantastic and everything was very clean, fresh and in good working order. We plan on returning every couple of months to just relax and sit on the wonderful balconies in room 706.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the 2 bedroom suites located ocean side. Would be able to sleep 8 people. Big li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the beginning of August and stayed for a week. There were many things that we appreciated, being a family of six. Having the beach chairs readily available and staffed was great. Beach umbrellas were available at a daily rate of $10, and there were times when we left, came back and the attendant left everything there without issue. The beach was not crowded at all and we had plenty of room, no matter what time of day. There was a bin of beach toys that our kids were permitted to use, which was really nice because we absolutely were not packing beach toys in our checked luggage!

We had two rooms between the six of us. Our rooms were fine....not huge, but we are not fussy people and didn't spend a lot of time in them anyway. I would definitely recommend renting a vehicle, as there are not a lot of restaurants or attractions within reasonable walking distance for a young family. We were able to see so much more of Miami this way, including the Seaquarium, Sun Life Stadium--preseason NFL game, and South Beach. The valet parking was very helpful, and at $5 a day, was well worth it considering parking is at a premium.

The staff was friendly and knew our names. Our kids participated in several planned activities and made souvenirs, had S'mores, etc. The pool was clean and towels were provided. Hot tub was nice also. We also utilized the outdoor grilling area for some hot dogs.

The only drawbacks for us were the extreme amount of seaweed and the cleanliness of the beach and water, but that's not the fault of the Solara. There were also quite a few stray cats that left "deposits" behind in the sand volleyball courts and beach area. Again, not a huge deal.

We had a nice stay and would consider the Solara again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Tried staying for my honeymoon not only did they book the wrong room and make us look at another building their service was poor. no vending because none of it worked they don't care about your stay or if u r enjoying your stay and they r not helpful. don't waste your time not worth the money. unless u like staying in the Alamo on the beach....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megryan83112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

These are condo style rooms fitted with flat screens and Blu-Ray players. Outdoor amenities included grill, beach volleyball court, hammocks, a giant size chessboard, shuffleboard, and of course the pool/hot tub. Guests also receive a free beach chair (great perk). Location isn't the best since it's about 10 blocks either direction to a decent restaurant (although it IS on the beach). The hotel also has a host of activities--although many are cancelled b/c of attendance. Finally, be warned; this is a family hotel so expect to see children (lots of them) and their grandparents.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are the best...and daily valet parking is cheap ($12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Los_Conquistadors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodview, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The resort was acceptable - nothing special, but the concierge staff was ill informed and useless

Room Tip: Just don't rely on the concierge for information about tours and such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebjk874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Solara for the first time prior to going on a cruise on 7/2/12. The two night stay was delightful and our guests, who are travel agents, loved the accommodations. We stayed in a 2BR unit. We used the beach. pool, and BBQ grills. All were great! Other than a little snafu over being given permission to leave one of the cars there during the cruise, which the manager finally allowed us to do, everything was wonderful. Thank you to the wonderful staff at Solara!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.9 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
11.0 mi away
Clarion Inn  & Suites Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Miami Airport North
12.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
0.8 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Surfside Resort

Property: Solara Surfside Resort
Address: 8801 Collins Ave, Surfside, FL 33154-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solara Surfside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Solara Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Surfside Hotel Surfside
Solara Hotel Surfside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing