We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solara Surfside Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Goodview, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The staff was awful”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The resort was acceptable - nothing special, but the concierge staff was ill informed and useless

Room Tip: Just don't rely on the concierge for information about tours and such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebjk874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    82
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Solara for the first time prior to going on a cruise on 7/2/12. The two night stay was delightful and our guests, who are travel agents, loved the accommodations. We stayed in a 2BR unit. We used the beach. pool, and BBQ grills. All were great! Other than a little snafu over being given permission to leave one of the cars there during the cruise, which the manager finally allowed us to do, everything was wonderful. Thank you to the wonderful staff at Solara!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was a little apprehensive about booking here, but my HGVC converted points to RCI were going to expire - so we decided to give this a try! I am so glad we did. The staff is absolutely fabulous - very friendly and accommodating. The studio room was spacious with a balcony and up to date kitchen appliances. The beach is just steps away and the hotel provides towels and beach chairs. You can rent an umbrella if you like. There is a great running path right in front of the hotel along the beach.
The cons - if you want to go to South Beach or some of the shopping areas - you have to take your car - same for some of the best restaurants. I also heard that you do not want the second floor as they do not have balconies.
One of my favorite restaurants was Fratelli la bufala. yum! A must do for some great pizza.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUSAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Solara Residence is situated in a perfect position to visit Miami and surroundings and a perfect place to relax! The beach is right outside and the pool is perfect too!
The staff is doing whatever they can to male your stay a pleasure!
You have some good restaurants very near!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grethe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed mid may 2012 . very nice rooms. we had studio, no balcony, every thing in excellent working order from iron,kitchen stuffs,pool n hot tub. 8 days of rain. some tannin, go am! Don't rent a car! Parking areas rare and have to pay. bus worked out well to vizcaya, n mall, cuban food, argentine bakery. 5.00$/ pp/ per day. or2$ one way. You have to pay to park here too, so save n ride bus! Beach clean n man to help w cushion and
chairs, blue water! ...ohioan
Nice beach walking, jog path. feed blk n white cat, i named him baby! He is hungry. staff all nice!friendly! Helpful! we cooked on gas grills 2times, clean :-) will return!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catwamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights a week before Christmas 2011. My mother is a member of Blue Green so we used points to stay here. Our expectations were surpassed. Our room was huge, 1 bedroom apartment style: open family room, nice sized balcony, full kitchen, walk in closet..very spacious and homey feeling. We had a nice view of the pool/ocean. Junior at the front desk was amazing and very helpful/welcoming. We still talk about him from time to time. There is a publix and walgreens a few blocks away, you can walk, which we did, but with bags it can be a little bit of a stretch. We are in our mid-20s so we enjoyed the walking aspect. It is quite away from the normal hustle and bustle of SoBe, but fortunately we had a friend who drove us around to the hip spots. The fact the beach is right behind the property was awesome, we went everyday and relaxed on the lounge chairs that are provided free of charge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at the Solara Surfide hotel and had a wonderful stay. We knew the location before, and liked the idea of being close to Sobe but in a peaceful place and that it was. Right on the beach, just a few steps among the palm trees and we were in the beautiful sandy beach. The 1 bedroom apt was very big, first week we had an apt at the 3rd floor, lateral sea view (the front sea view are 2 bedrooms apts), 1 bathroom and half, balcony, nice and bright. Second week even better: 6th floor corner unit (610) with lateral sea view and front downtown-bay view, wonderful!
Publix, Walgreens and restaurants and bars are located all around the 94th street and Harding Av, so 6 blocks from the hotel, there are several busses (L,S,G,H) going there but the line S (also known as 119) is the only one that stops in front of the hotel and goes all the way through Aventura Mall going North or going South to Downtown passing through Sobe and stops in Harding Av and 88th Street ( one block from the hotel), price 2 USD. It takes 15-20 minutes to South Beach and even less to Aventura.
Beach chairs and bbq available without charge for the guests.
The staff was very nice, especially Mr. Junior at the reception, always helpful and kind. There is internet wifi in the rooms.
Perfect solution for a complete relax!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
0.8 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.9 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
1.2 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Surfside Resort

Property: Solara Surfside Resort
Address: 8801 Collins Ave, Surfside, FL 33154-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solara Surfside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solara Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Surfside Hotel Surfside
Solara Hotel Surfside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing