We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel with free breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with free breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night in an executive king room. We were visiting my sister, who lives in the area and was having a baby shower at her home. My mother booked this hotel for us, so I immediately looked it up on Trip Advisor. I admit, I was a little nervous after reading the reviews. When we drove up to the hotel, we were surprised to find that there was another La Quinta across the street that looked much nicer. The one across the street had much better curb appeal with a huge fountain in front. Our La Quinta was just a regular building, no fancy fountain. The lobby was small. There were a few couches and a registration desk. There is a larger room to the right where the free continental breakfast is held in the morning. Breakfast was a nice selection of bagels, waffle station, cereal, hard boiled eggs, coffee and tea. The room ended up being nice. It had a microwave and small fridge. It was clean and it was fine for one night. There aren't too many places to eat around the hotel. There's a subway and an ikea across the street. There is also a Publix down the street within driving distance.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    246
    114
    32
    27
See reviews for
227
143
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Reserved an Executive One King bedroom at this Establishment due to positive experience in the past. What at mistake...

Arrived at location after a long days drive and got a room on the second floor facing the Parking lot. Looking around the room we found dust, filth and bugs littering the windowsill and the shelf above the AC. The curtains were faded and dark with dirt, undefinable stains and smudged fingerprints. One look inside the bathroom revealed stains of urine and feces on and underneath the toilet seat. As we alerted the Front Desk of the rooms' poor condition we were given the option of moving to another room immediately or risk losing it as the Hotel was otherwise fully booked, or the Desk clerk could access and clean our current room herself. As we had a pressing pre-planned engagement none of the options were really acceptable and so, after some discussion, the Hotel waivered the bill for the Night and left us to dust the room.

As we returned to our room close to midnight that night we found the key-lock for the side door out of order, leaving all the Hotel floors accessible to just anyone that happens to be there, and walking up the stairs it became clear that someone had used the staircase for something other than walking as smell of urine filled the air.

Back in our room after a long day on our feet looking forward to a shower and some shut-eye we discovered dirt and black strands of hair in the bathtub (none of us have dark hair) and vomit stains on the base of the toilet seat. Being a late night and knowing we wouldn't be offered another room we just tried to go to sleep, which was hard due to the lack of feeling secure.
After a restless night we went down to breakfast, anticipating La Quintas usual array of items, just to be greeted by a sufficient shortage and rude and petronizing staff.

Needless to say we addressed management and left the establishment as soon as possible with nothing but a bad taste in our mouths, a grosed out feeling in our guts and a waiver for a free (and fortunately unspecified) La Quinta stay.

Will not return to this ill-managed and deteriorating establishment and wouldn't dream of recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank TJHM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

When I first looked at this hotel on the map I wasn't sure I wanted to stay there, but it was very pleasant and I would recommend the hotel. My sister and I were catching a flight the next day at Ft. Lauderdale Hollywood airport and this hotel is very convenient to the airport. It is also fairly close to various food places, and two or three malls. I enjoyed being close to the Ikea - it was fun to walk through their warehouse. It may seem like there isn't a lot around this hotel but there are several places and malls within a few blocks of your room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Love this Hotel for the price. There are two La Quinta's across the street from each other in Sunrise, but my experience is that the one at 13600 Northwest 2nd Street is the best choice.
Nice front desk service, great rooms, very comfortable king beds with lots of pillows. Free breakfast is same as all La Quintas. Large pool but not heated (cold).
We've stayed here many times while shopping in Fort Lauderdale, and it was even better this time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardthemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very close and to BB&T center with a great backroad to avoid traffic when the event lets out, sawgrass outlet is right down the street and Ikea is within walking distance Really nice staff, nice breakfast, clean and comfy room

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank MAMADUKES62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

O.K. accommodations. Go to Lesters for breakfast. Difficult to find, located adjacent to the Ikea store. Pleasant desk service; helpful. Do not recommend breakfast there; poor food selection and inadequate seating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I liked the hotel, its location, and guest services. I had my family here, including 85 year old parents from abroad, for an overnight visit with other family living locally. We were all very satisfied and will certainly stay here again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank stevenc892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunrise
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sunrise
3.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale/West-Sawgrass/Tamarac
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
Address: 13600 NW 2nd St, Sunrise, FL 33325-6246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Sunrise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise At Sawgrass Mills Hotel Sunrise
La Quinta Inn And Suites Sunrise At Sawgrass Mills
La Quinta Hotel Sunrise
La Quinta Sunrise
Sunrise La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing