We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawgrass Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I checked in to this hotel after leaving a bad hotel down the street. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was either brand new or had been completely remodeled! It is the nicest Holiday Inn I have stayed in. The hotel even has a really nice restaurant too with affordable prices and excellent food. I highly recommend staying here. It is beautiful and worth the price!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor! It's always nice to hear that we've surprised and impressed our guests, and we're glad to know you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you again for your kind words and for your review, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    254
    218
    163
    163
See reviews for
293
269
87
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

first i want to say that the hotel it self i and is a was a beautiful place to stay. the employees were very polite. Kathy was the best of all!!!!!!!!! a big smile to welcome us every time we seen her. Angie, GG, And Johnathan were welcoming too. but Kathy was the best of all!!!!! my next vacation will be here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, and for mentioning our staff members who made your stay so special by name! It's always nice to hear back from our guests when we've made a positive impression! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, FL
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed overnight after a show at the BB&T Center after finding that our usual go-to hotel, the Hampton Inn was full. Our room was just fine; A king bed, extra pillows as requested, a large bathroom and clean. We requested a balcony room overlooking the pool, which was a very nice upgrade for a around $10. The total price was fine at about $100. For $5 extra dollars we booked a breakfast for 2. The vouchers we received were valued at $15/each. We opted for the $15 buffett and only paid for the tip. The buffet was just fine with melon, citrus, milk, eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, etc. I noticed that they have a full bar and offer lunch and dinner items. There is a spacious, private courtyard in the middle of the hotel layout with palm trees, tables and chairs and a large, clean pool. The only down side was the noise of the A/C unit in our room (530). It was so loud that it awakened me every time it cycled, which was a bummer.

Room Tip: Inquire about the A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyC3696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a flattering Trip Advisor Review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the event you attended at the BB&T Center! We are aware of the noise created by our in room HVAC units - they are a model noted for their energy efficiency far more than their silence! We hope to see you again the next time you visit Sunrise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have to start by saying the staff at the hotel were excellent. They try hard to insure guests are being helped. Even when I was in the parking lot a maintenance man walked by and asked me how my day was and if there was anything he can do to make my day better. Really good training of their personnel.

The rooms are basic Holiday Inn rooms, certainly renovated, and kept well, but still very generic. The amenities in the bathroom were Bath and Body Works, but bottles that were so small, there was barely enough for my shower, forget my wife's. Bathroom was in need of renovation.

The downsides of the hotel are the fact that the walls in the room are paper thin. This was a huge deal because I was sandwiched on both sides by a visiting soccer team, that although very courteous, they were very loud as young men tend to be. Now you may think, this is unusual occurrence, but trust me they have a visiting soccer team on an ongoing basis, as they are the official hotel of a beautiful soccer training facility on premises.

Another downside is for some reason the hotel attracts a very interesting clientele. While sitting in the lobby on Friday night, I must have seen at least a dozen or more people come in without shirts, covered in tatoos, and carrying a case of beer heading up to their rooms. Not really the environment I would normally find myself in.

Overall, this was an expensive hotel for what it is (I paid $139 a night). I was forced to stay at the hotel due to a party I was attending. It was frustrating because at that price point there are much nicer hotels in the area. The staff was great, the hotel is kept well, but its just nothign to write home about.

Room Tip: Choose one on the first floor, or any room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bocaberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that our staff was accommodating and that over all you enjoyed your stay. As you noted, we do frequently host professional soccer teams from the minor leauge NASL to World Cup National Teams from foreign countries. These teams traditionally stay on the same floor, and it is unfortunate that you apparenty ended up with a room in the middle of a team. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you, and we understand the hassle it would have been for you to move to a quieter wing of the hotel. We appreciate all of our guest feedback and utilize your comments as we move forward always seeking to improve and provide our guests with the best stay we can. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Now this hotel definitely has it's good points, comfy beds, clean bathrooms, good shower. A fridge in the room would have been great considering we were in Florida, and that is not too much to ask. The food was pretty good, but the breakfast buffet for $15 which consisted of cereal, dry hash browns, scrambled eggs that looked like they were scooped from a pail.
The biggest s***show here was the bar tending. the first few nights there was a British lady there who tried her darndest but just did not really have a clue of organized bar tending. Great gal though.
The lady that replaced her was simply terrible. She knew how to bartend, she just didn't want to do it. One night my friend and I went to sit in the courtyard outside the lobby which is connected to the bar, and asked if we could get served there. She said yes. After going inside three times for drinks because the service wasn't coming, I went inside and ordered food for the both of us. She wrote the order down. Half an hour later she came outside and asked if we wanted to order food. I was floored and said what about the stuff I ordered a half hour ago. She denied that I had ordered. In disbelief I ordered again because it was too late to go anywhere else. When the food showed up the potatoes I had asked to substitute for pasta were not there but the pasta was. I gave up, paid our tab and we went to bed. This experience was utterly pathetic.
The shuttle was really good at driving you around to places within 5 miles of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigRigDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay with us. We are glad that for the most part, everything about your stay went well, and you enjoyed the services of our shuttle and breakfast in our restaurant and a comfortable guest room. We do offer rooms with a fridge, although during our busy season, those rooms are usually the first to go, they are available for our guest convenience.

We take guest feedback very seriously and appreciate you sharing your story about our bar service with us. Your comments will help us to address the issue you had with outdoor service and the bartenders and make necessary improvements. We are sorry that you had the service lapse that you did and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope that should your travels bring you back to Sunrise, you'll return.

Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn pre-cruise because it was 'close' to the shopping outlet at Sawgrass Mills. Actually it was a ten minute drive away but then nobody walks in America. The room was comfortable, quiet and it overlooked the pool and outdoor centrum. However in really hot weather there may be an issue with the air conditioning vent over one of the beds. In March that's not a problem. The staff were great and put themselves out to help you and it's amazing what a smile will get you. Food was OK if service was a little slow at dinner. There is a large car park adequately lit. Entry into the hotel from the road can be bit hairy if you don't know where it is and Holiday Inn would be well advised to put up a direction sign a bit before the junction, so as to prepare for the turn, especially as that's the way you would come from the airport. We would definitely stay here again pre-cruise again - Beachfront Fort Lauderdale is just one big car park!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impression of our hotel with Trip Advisor! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and your shopping trip to Sawgrass Mills Mall. We are happy to have been able to be part of a great start to your cruise vacation! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again should you return to South Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Wow if the hotel is judged by its reception staff 2 thumbs up! Both Josh and James treated us on our two stays with exceptional service and professionalism. We will definitely stay there again it was great place to stay. Staff all very accommodating. Lets hope that these two are recognized. Its not often I write reviews but felt this time it is merited

Room Tip: great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 594distressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We take great pride in the friendliness of our staff members, and it was so kind of you to take the time to recognize 2 of our team members on Trip Advisor by name! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunrise
4.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sawgrass
6.7 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Grand Hotel

Property: Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Address: 3003 N University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322-1610 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Sunrise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawgrass Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sawgrass Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Sawgrass Mills
Holiday Inn Sunrise
Sunrise Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing