We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff & Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawgrass Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Staff & Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. The staff members were very friendly and helpful. The room and all common areas were clean and impressive. The room was very spacious and comfortable, there was a lounge area with a separate television. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Bre M,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others - we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    254
    218
    163
    163
See reviews for
294
269
87
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked this room for the location convenience.

Room facilities were great with a small kitchen and huge bathroom and lounge area.

Everything very clean.

Front desk check in was a bit slow but this was the only negative.

Breakfast spread was great with eggs being cooked to your liking.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mand789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Mand789,

It was so very nice to see your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your made to order omelet for breakfast and that your room was everything you expected it to be and even more! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and share your experience with others. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, IL
Level Contributor
223 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We were not impressed. On the final bill there is a resort fee. This hotel is not a resort. It is just a plain Holiday Inn. It wasn't even designed very well. We could not get to our room from the lobby. We had to walk past a number of rooms down to the end of a hall to get an elevator to our room. It was just a strange set up. We only stayed here because I was hoping to reach Gold level with the IHG rewards program and needed a stay at a brand of hotel I had not visited before. This was not an impressive choice. I got a decent rate and the staff at the front desk was nice but for the same money I could have stayed elsewhere nearby and been more comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Mike M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Sunrise. We hope you were able to attain your Gold Status with our frequent stay program following your departure. It's too bad you didn't get a chance to enjoy our glass elevators, located just off of the lobby past our sales offices. They offer such a nice view of our property and Sunrise.

We appreciate all guest feedback as we strive to provide each and every guest the service and stay they expect from a Holiday Inn. With regard to the fee you found on your bill, the only time a fee is added to a guest folio is when a guest is traveling with a cruise line package. If your cruise line failed to inform you of this fee, we certainly apologize on their behalf. If you did not book your room as part of a cruise line package, please contact our accounting department and we will be more than happy to review your charges.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This location has a world class soccer field and teams from everywhere stay here for extended periods. The walls are filled with Autographed Jerseys of many famous players. I stayed for over a month on business and felt like I was right at home. They called me by name every time I walked by the front desk. They kept my room nice and clean and they food was good in the restaurant. Well trained staff who are all about making sure you have a wonderful journey. Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesPoosteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear JacquesPoosteau,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review! When a guest stays with us for a long period of time like you did, they get to see our property for who we really are, good days, not so good days and everything inbetween! Seeing friendly familiar faces come through the lobby day after day is as much fun for our staff members as it is for guests like you! We appreciate your business and hope to be your home away from home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We found the hotel last minute through the 'hotel' search on our GPS. We arrived in the late evening, but were met with a friendly, informed welcome. The price was actually lower than anything we had researched for the area beforehand. A very clean, comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Thank you for a great stay - we'll be back!

Room Tip: We asked for a 'quiet room' and were given a room that was a further walk away, but was away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Viviane K ... How wonderful that your GPS led you to us! It's always nice to hear that we've impressed a first time guest! Thank you for your kind words about our staff, and the next time you're in town, you know where to find us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty much your standard holiday inn quality, which is more than acceptable, but this hotel as a fantastic happy hour 5pm while 7:30pm when dom beers are $2 prem beers $3 etc etc also appetizers are half price and food is excellent. Compliments to the chef.
Also Daryll the 2nd shift manager is very helpful, Linda and Mike on the bar offer great service.
However i would like to see the chairs to the left of the bar removed and a bigger bar/restraunt with big screen sports, after all you are a soccer hotel. Oh and update the menu please I have had almost everything on the current one!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoy happy hour while you're in town! And thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff members who have helped to make your visit memorable. We are always looking for ways to improve, and we take into account the feedback we receive from our guests. We will certainly keep in mind your comments and observations going forward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of its location near the outlet malls. The hotel is old, but in good repair and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The shock for us, though, was in asking for a morning cup of coffee and finding the charge was $3.13! In most hotels, upscale or otherwise, a complimentary coffee bar is available, and this cost, with no refills, was surprising! Even odder, in the evening while sitting at the pool, the cost of a beer was only $2.00, so we were not sure whether coffee was at a premium in Sunrise or it was a rip-off for their guests. It's a small cost to make sure your guests feel welcome and this was a true turn off for this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogbon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us! I'm glad you and your family were able to enjoy our Happy Hour Drink specials poolside, and that our staff was friendly and helpful.

We try to use feedback from our guests to improve in any way we can. It appears that you were mischarged for your morning coffee as the price you mention is the cost for our bottomless pot of coffee (not a single ToGo Cup), and our morning hostess must have pressed the wrong key. We are looking into a better way to display our prices at the restaurant coffee area to avoid mistakes like this in the future, and we thank you for bringing this issue to our attention!

We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Sunrise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunrise
4.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sawgrass
6.7 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#80 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Grand Hotel

Property: Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Address: 3003 N University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322-1610 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Sunrise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawgrass Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Sawgrass Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Sawgrass Mills
Holiday Inn Sunrise
Sunrise Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing