We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I rarely write a negative review, travel a lot and am happy with clean and safe. But I stayed here 3 days on business and reserved a suite with refrigerator and microwave. Pros: nice lobby, restaurant and bar, fitness center was large and very well equipped, pool area was nice and well decorated. Restaurant had coffee for $3 a cup, they did have expresso and lattes also. Bed was comfortable. Cons: during check in, both men at the desk seemed preoccupied and mentioned nothing about the amenities of the property, in the room, the light switch does not work to turn on lights in the living area and it is dark in the room. The light between the living area and bedroom is out, so very dark when trying to get dressed, they did change this when I requested, sliding doors on closet are off the track and were not put back on the track at any time during the 3 days I was there, mirror on wall was filthy, housekeeping did not empty coffee pot of old coffee when cleaning room. Day 1, I had 3 towels, day 2, I was left 2 towels, day 3, 1 towel! Water in toilet was yellow when I arrived from urine. There was a refrigerator but not a microwave in my room , when I called the front desk to inquire about this, I was told only suites had microwaves. I told him I was in a suite and was put on hold for 10 minutes. When the call was picked up, it was another person, who said that suites did not have microwaves, but they could move me to a regular room if I wanted one. The internet is free and hardly worked the first night. I would log on with the provided password, and by the time I would pull up a webpage, it would return me to the log on page again, this continued for about 20 minutes, when I called the front desk, he said he had no idea what was wrong with it. So, I didn’t use it. Hallways smelled like urine in certain areas, carpets are stained and worn in hallways and rooms. AC in room took about 8 hours to get from 78 degrees to 70, so it was a warm night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RNHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear RNHH,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I rarely write negative reviews but felt that this one was warranted. The positives? Great staff. Very personable, helpful and friendly. Also, the hotel is located adjacent to a soccer field and there were FIFA players at the hotel for a practice. Lots of dining options in the area. We ordered a pizza from room service and it was very good.

The hotel, however, was in very poor condition. We booked a double-queen room for a one-night stay prior to our cruise out of Port Everglades. The beds were comfortable but the carpet was old and dirty. The bathroom was a disaster; shower curtain was a wrong fit so water splashed outside, the tub was clogged so a shower left us with a pool of dirty water and the tiles were stained with some strangely-colored substance. The room had no safe so we took our valuables with us wherever we went. Wallpaper in the corridor was peeling in many locations. Lastly, the hallway had 3 distinct bad odors depending where you were including cat odor by the elevators, strong humidity about halfway and something else towards our room.

Thank goodness it was only one night. Strongly suggest looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MTBDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear MTBDance,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the fine locations of our property. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the unusual condition and smell of our hallways and elevator affected your stay negatively. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us another chance to show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Title says it all. Staff was very helpful and accommodating, hotel was more than adequate. We did not try out any if the amenities such as the pool etc as we were there simply to shop. There is an outside area off the lobby that was excellent to meet for a drink (bring your own) after a long day of shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Barb-Islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would like to thank the Holiday Inn Sawgrass Mills for doing an incredible job working with our government agency's limited budget and for being so accommodating. Specifically Sandra DiMartino, the corporate sales manager, did an amazing job coordinating with me and making adjustments throughout our seminar while always being mindful of our fiscal constraints. Moreover, the staff was proactive and always asking if anything else was needed.

The Hotel itself was exceptional, especially the suites which were modernly decorated. The lobby and bar were another huge draw for us, as the friendly staff and open space provided an excellent venue to host further discussions.

You simply cannot go wrong staying here and the staff is the best I have experienced when hosting a conference.

Derek

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your experience at our hotel with the Tripadvisor community. I am glad to see that we exceeded your expectations with the planning and follow through with your seminar. We look forward to more opportunities with Government Agencies. As many Agencies require In Room Safes for associates while travelling, we just installed In Room Safes in all of our guest rooms to have the opportunity to host Government travellers.

Thank You again for sharing your review - and we hope to see you as our guest again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for shopping, close proximity to Saw Grass Mall, Lowes, Home Depot etc.
Big hotel, ample parking space, entrance clean, appropriately designed and inviting.
The check in counter staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms clean and tastefully decorated, pleasing to the eyes. Bed very comfortable, view of a lake from the window adds to a peaceful sleep.
Bathrooms spacious and kept spotless.
Hallways a bit cumbersome as renovations seem to be taking place. Carpets a bit tired and unfortunately the hallway had a slight odour.
We were happy with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khristian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear khristian14,

Thank you for your considerate review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are pleased to read you were happy with your stay. However, we regret your stay was negatively impacted by the ongoing renovations.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope to welcome you back to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been stopping by for a night on our way to Miami. The hotel is very convenient located, approx. 30 minutes by car to the city center of Ft. Lauderdale.
I have been lucky and got it as a reward night and a part of the frequent guest program.
What we liked is the luxury and cleanliness of the rooms. Several pillows to chose from and a very comfortable bed helped us to find a good night sleep after spending most of the daytime travelling in the car. I liked very much that there is a balcony and you can open the door to have fresh air while sleeping. That beats every air condition system.
There is even an outdoor pool which looked pretty clean. We haven't had the time to check it out.
The highlight of the breakfast were the cooked-to-order omelets. Delicious :-)

My only remark is that our room (in the 4th floor) was not in the best condition.
The walls truly needs a paintjob, and if you take a closer look you can see that there is a lot that could be renovated / replaced. Especially in the bathroom.
Our room was very clean, though!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed one night before cruise. First room clean and attractive on surface on fifth floor. However, room had infestation of sugar ants. Front desk clerk switched the four of us to another room after midnight and that room on a lower floor had ants as well and was NOT SO CLEAN. All staff I encountered were very pleasant and accommodating. This hotel could easily be four star plus if housekeeping did a better job. The reception area has a hard job but are excellent.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Janeen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Janeen T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunrise
4.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sawgrass
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale/West-Sawgrass/Tamarac
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex

Address: 3003 N University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322-1610 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Sunrise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range: $98 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in South Florida's bustling Broward County just minutes from Fort Lauderdale, The SAWGRASS GRAND Hotel and Suites ushers in a new era of modern style in one of the state's premier business and leisure destinations. An anchor in South Florida's mix of high-tech companies and powerhouse retail centers, the service-driven 289-room hotel is a sought-after destination for sports enthusiasts, shoppers and sightseers alike, offering easy access to Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall, Hard Rock Stadium, BB&T Center, as well as the Everglades, beaches and popular South Florida attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Sawgrass Mills
Holiday Inn Sunrise
Sunrise Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing