We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend Sawgrass Mills for those looking to host a seminar/conference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawgrass Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
DC
2 reviews
“Highly Recommend Sawgrass Mills for those looking to host a seminar/conference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would like to thank the Holiday Inn Sawgrass Mills for doing an incredible job working with our government agency's limited budget and for being so accommodating. Specifically Sandra DiMartino, the corporate sales manager, did an amazing job coordinating with me and making adjustments throughout our seminar while always being mindful of our fiscal constraints. Moreover, the staff was proactive and always asking if anything else was needed.

The Hotel itself was exceptional, especially the suites which were modernly decorated. The lobby and bar were another huge draw for us, as the friendly staff and open space provided an excellent venue to host further discussions.

You simply cannot go wrong staying here and the staff is the best I have experienced when hosting a conference.

Derek

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your experience at our hotel with the Tripadvisor community. I am glad to see that we exceeded your expectations with the planning and follow through with your seminar. We look forward to more opportunities with Government Agencies. As many Agencies require In Room Safes for associates while travelling, we just installed In Room Safes in all of our guest rooms to have the opportunity to host Government travellers.

Thank You again for sharing your review - and we hope to see you as our guest again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    254
    218
    163
    163
See reviews for
293
269
87
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for shopping, close proximity to Saw Grass Mall, Lowes, Home Depot etc.
Big hotel, ample parking space, entrance clean, appropriately designed and inviting.
The check in counter staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms clean and tastefully decorated, pleasing to the eyes. Bed very comfortable, view of a lake from the window adds to a peaceful sleep.
Bathrooms spacious and kept spotless.
Hallways a bit cumbersome as renovations seem to be taking place. Carpets a bit tired and unfortunately the hallway had a slight odour.
We were happy with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khristian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear khristian14,

Thank you for your considerate review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are pleased to read you were happy with your stay. However, we regret your stay was negatively impacted by the ongoing renovations.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope to welcome you back to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been stopping by for a night on our way to Miami. The hotel is very convenient located, approx. 30 minutes by car to the city center of Ft. Lauderdale.
I have been lucky and got it as a reward night and a part of the frequent guest program.
What we liked is the luxury and cleanliness of the rooms. Several pillows to chose from and a very comfortable bed helped us to find a good night sleep after spending most of the daytime travelling in the car. I liked very much that there is a balcony and you can open the door to have fresh air while sleeping. That beats every air condition system.
There is even an outdoor pool which looked pretty clean. We haven't had the time to check it out.
The highlight of the breakfast were the cooked-to-order omelets. Delicious :-)

My only remark is that our room (in the 4th floor) was not in the best condition.
The walls truly needs a paintjob, and if you take a closer look you can see that there is a lot that could be renovated / replaced. Especially in the bathroom.
Our room was very clean, though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night before cruise. First room clean and attractive on surface on fifth floor. However, room had infestation of sugar ants. Front desk clerk switched the four of us to another room after midnight and that room on a lower floor had ants as well and was NOT SO CLEAN. All staff I encountered were very pleasant and accommodating. This hotel could easily be four star plus if housekeeping did a better job. The reception area has a hard job but are excellent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janeen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Janeen T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I agree with other reviewers - this was a pleasant surprise, especially for the price. The check in experience was excellent - the bonus bag for being a Priority Club member was a great idea, as was the $10 voucher to be used on hotel services. The room was a very good size - and usually I don't like ground floor rooms but this time it was a great choice - room 130 is like having your own window to the swimming pool! On quiet days, it's as if the pool is your own (just a shame you can't easily reach it from your room!!) The room was spacious, very clean and newly redecorated (although the same fixtures and fittings continue to make this a dated property!)
We asked reception about places to eat away from the hotel and were directed downtime - so great eateries and shops; a real European cafe culture feel.
Back at the hotel we had drinks in the bar before bed. Again, a nice atmosphere but the woman behind the bar being efficient and non-intrusive.
Breakfast was also good, although we had to ask for a few basics (bagels and branflakes) but they were quickly brought from the kitchen without any fuss at all.
Overall, this was a great little find as we had a car and could get around fairly easily. If you're expecting to be in the centre of everything then this hotel wouldn't be for you. Otherwise it is a great find and very conveniently situated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h0vetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went to the Jazz on the Gardens Music Fest and stayed the weekend. It was ok nothing to brag about it was clean but needs a little updating. My friend brought her own towel and housekeeping took it when cleaning. They gave me two coupons for breakfast, it was good but the breakfast area needed updating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear TripAdDi,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you like our clean hotel and breakfast. However, we are so sorry to read you found the condition of our property and facilities less than satisfactory. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you soon and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

With many not so great reviews, we were pleasantly surprised with our comfortable and clean stay.
We were four and wanted "separate" spaces, so since they didn't have 1 bedroom suites, we just opted for the King Suite, which was a king bed and pull-out sofa, separated by the restroom and a big closet and kitchenette. The kitchenette was just a microwave and mini fridge, but was just what we needed to cool our drinks for the next day at the beach!
The room was clean, and they promptly brought us extra pillows and a blanket when requested, even though the hotel was fully booked.
The staff was very friendly. The lobby large and spacious. Didn't use the pool.
We did get a $10 voucher for being Priority Club members, but WHOA! the prices at the restaurant were super expensive! A coffee was $3.50, yikes.

Anyways, we enjoyed our stay, it was just what we needed.

Room Tip: We got a room at the end of a hallway (172).... nice and quiet even though it was on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hate-being-cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunrise
4.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sawgrass
6.7 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Grand Hotel

Property: Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Address: 3003 N University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322-1610 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Sunrise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawgrass Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Sawgrass Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Sawgrass Mills
Holiday Inn Sunrise
Sunrise Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing