We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild, wild west - for as low as USD 64/night - BUT:”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Bogotá
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Wild, wild west - for as low as USD 64/night - BUT:”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had booked a 3 1/2 star hotel on hotwire - and was surprised to get the Holiday Inn (again).

This time, I had to walk a bit from reception to my room - and I had no "pool-view" as last time, but was looking towards the canal at the back side of the building.

The room though was OK with a comfortable bed; good and stable high-speed internet.

Just the bathtub could do with some maintenance - oxidation is not acceptable.
I was also surprised of not having any safety-box in my room.

Talking about safety:
The worst experience - and therefore I give a "poor" rating this time, was "SAFETY":

The wing where my room was located, was extremely noisy - but I felt like in a 1 star motel somewhere in Africa: some neighbours smokeded in their rooms; shouting at each other and some of them had at least one loud argument in the corridor and behind the hotel a day; threatening with arms.

I felt extremely unsafe and could not believe to be in a Holiday Inn in the western world...
It´s annoying that the hotel had no security personnel in place; and very little presence of the hotel staff on the corridors. Police showed up 2 times during my 3 day visit there.

Probably I had bad luck with the timing.... Let´s see, if it´s different again next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    268
    229
    171
    168
See reviews for
320
279
96
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clearwater, fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Nice hotel, great free shuttle. Only non-positive thing happened upon check in. They start check-in at 3, and I had read reviews saying they didn't get the bed size requested, so I got there at 3:20. The first thing they said was that all there king beds were gone. After 20 minutes? After some complaining they did upgrade me to a suite, so no problems there. Nice room, clean and comfortable. The shuttle driver, whose name I never got, was great. Quick ride to BAC, and when the hotels phones were down so i couldn't request the shuttle back to the hotel he was right there after the show anyway. Great hotel, great staff. Can only suggest they need to get more king beds or at least inform people if all of the 2 are booked already.

Room Tip: Get there EARLY if you want a King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopsu8427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in late January and had already pre-booked one night in February upon returning from a cruise. The rooms in both cases were very noisy. The a/c is positioned right beside the bed. I got about 2 hours of sleep with the terrible noise. The a/c control unit did not work. Other people we stayed with said the same thing about their rooms. The staff tended to have a superiority complex and look down on you when asking a question (whatever happened to customer service ?). My wife and I waited for ten minutes to see if fruit displayed at the front of the restaurant was complementary. After 10 minutes of trying to attract the waiters attention, we started to walk away with 2 pieces of druit thinking it must be complementary and within a second were hollered at by the waiter, treating us like criminals much to our embarrasment.
Overall this is the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Don't book at the Sunrise Holday Inn unless you : 1. don't want to sleep 2. you want to be y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The bath towels had stains, one was large and brown. Yuck.
The carpet had burn marks in it
The desk was swarming with small ants
The maid didn’t leave any coffee on the first day, and on the second day they must have broken the coffee pot because it was gone and there was BROKEN GLASS on the bathroom floor.
There was no alarm clock
The sink stopper was missing
The toilet was leaking and refilling every two minutes all night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

the hotel was nice, very easy to get around in a car the only thing is the toilet was not anchored to the floor, it looked like someone tried to cement it before but once you use it you can hear it hit the floor from the room

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmm088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you fortaking the time to share information about your stay at our hotel with the Tripadvisor community. I am glad to see that we delivered your expectations for you to say that the hotel was nice. Th information you shared about the bathroom will be used with our preventative maintenance program as we move forward. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

It was ok but construction was going on around the pool, on different floors..
the room was nothing special.. staff was efficient though.. no shuttle to airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddvacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
On behalf of the staff and management of the Holiday Inn Sawgrass Mills, thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We have been undergoing some renovation that we are now in the final stages of. The work will be completed at the end of next week and is taking place out of sight of our guests. We know that the work that has been completed will help us deliver the experience our guests are looking for.

While we do have a complimentary local area shuttle to provide transportation within five miles of the hotel to locations like the Sawgrass Mills Mall, the Bank Atlantic Center and local restaurants and shops, the Ft. Lauderdale Airport is outside of our shuttle zone and trips to the airport would negatively impact those waiting for the quick local area shuttle run. There are multiple choices of for airport transportation and our staff will gladly make suggestions and assist in arranging it.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to be your home away from home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was a last minute place to stay. We found a good deal on priceline that they matched. The room the gave us first was REALLY smokey and the door was open. But they were really accomodating and upgraded us. The 2nd room was really nice and not smokey at all. Overall it was a really nice stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naudia_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel with the Tripadvisor community. I regret to read that you encountered a problem with the first room that you were assigned to, but I am glad to see that it was the staff members of the hotel who handled it to your expectations. We have all learned that a genuiine caring attitude is one of the building blocks to customer service, and I am glad to see that your interaction with our staff members lead to a Great Customer Service review. Thank you for spending your time with us, and for sharing your experience online - we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunrise
4.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sawgrass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
6.7 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#90 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Grand Hotel

Property: Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Address: 3003 N University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322-1610 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Sunrise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawgrass Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in South Florida's bustling Broward County just minutes from Fort Lauderdale, The SAWGRASS GRAND Hotel and Suites ushers in a new era of modern style in one of the state's premier business and leisure destinations. An anchor in South Florida's mix of high-tech companies and powerhouse retail centers, the service-driven 291-room hotel is a sought-after destination for sports enthusiasts, shoppers and sightseers alike, offering easy access to Sun Life Stadium, BB&T Center and nearby Sawgrass Mills Mall, as well as the Everglades, beaches and popular South Florida attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawgrass Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Sawgrass Mills
Holiday Inn Sunrise
Sunrise Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing